We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in Merida!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rescoldos Mediterranean Bistro - CLOSED

Rescoldos Mediterranean Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Merida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My brother and his partner took me to Rescoldos twice during my recent visit to Merida, and both times it was absolutely delicious. We sat in the courtyard which is very pleasant. Service is excellent, and the pizzas, which are cooked in the wood fired oven, are truly the best. I enjoyed every bite and can not wait until my next visit. The desserts are delicious and decadent. You must eat at Rescoldos!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    63
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food in lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The courtyard was quiet and intimate with a lovely fountain. The waitstaff was friendly. The food was excellent. The ingredients were fresh. The pasta was perfectly prepared. The pizza and calzone had the perfect balance of soft dough surrounded by a crispy crust that comes from their wood burning oven. We would have returned a second time in our 4 day visit to Merida, but it was closed on Mondays.

Helpful?
Thank 60004Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great courtyard, lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Interesting menu, a little bit of everything. Nice wood fired pizza. Highlight was patio at night. Use your imagination and communication tower becomes Tour Eiffel! Wine list disappointing, but great for beer. Lavender gelato!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank juleskTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid two visits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our first visit here was based on the proximity to the house where we were staying during our week visit to Merida; our second visit was by choice.

Both times, we ate on the patio which, despite being a bit on the dark side to read the menu without the assistance of the table's candle, was a perfect quiet and relaxing setting despite its stone-throw distance to Calle 62 and the never-ceasing onslaught of buses racing down the road.

The waiters were beyond polite and quite eager to be of assistance. We enjoyed the Greek Salad on both visits (warning, no lettuce), and devoured the lasagne (which was more like a wrap with the pasta enveloping the lasagne ingredients) which thankfully lacked the over-abundance of cheese which can overwhelm most restaurant's versions of it. The ravioli of the day was out of this world, and the perfect portion size. We also tried the Blanco pizza, and found the crust/cheese/onion balance perfect. Being from Chicago, we are fairly particular about our pizza, so we would love to see it recreated here if we could.

I highly recommend the lemon rosemary sorbet, as well the coconut gelato if it is available. We had sorbet at the big Dulceria and Sorbeteria on the Paseo, and the two scoops that we had didn't come close to the the Rescoldos' selections.

Will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Selima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This restaurant has the most lovely patio for dining. Covered with greenery and the sounds of a bubbling fountain mixed with the smell of the woodburning stove it is a little bit of heaven. We shared two appetizers. The spanikopita with tsaziki sauce was fabulous. The artichoke, mushroom cheese dip with pitas was so wonderfully flavored and perfectly balanced. Our entree was the pesto pizza with chicken. It was very good, but the appetizers were our favorites. We took home some of the dip and pita for lunch the next day. I wish I had room for the three combo dessert. Their gelatos sounded yummy and who wouldn't love tiramisu cheesecake, plus baklava. We definitely will return.
This restaurant has been in Merida for almost six years. It is owned by a married couple and hopefully will have many more years of success.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rescoldos Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing