We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, oasis of tranquility in middle of Merida, perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Merida Santiago
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
anywhere
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, oasis of tranquility in middle of Merida, perfect stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This fairly new B&B is run by the very engaged and sympatic Mexican / Dutch couple Rita & Jan. Stayed here for 2 days and it was the perfect place to stay for me. The B&B is situated in a quiet street in the Santiago barrio at a 2 min walk from the plaza Santiago. Rooms are nicely decorated and have all you can wish for: airco, fan, king size bed, TV, Wifi. They have 3 rooms, 4th one on the way situated at a tastefully designed patio with pool. The breakfast is very good, in quantity and quality. Owners are glad to help you out with any question you may have. Place a definitely would return! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
280
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My thanks go out to Jan, Rita, and Gio for letting us stay at their wonderful B&B. We don't forget Dona-Ana either, as she was a wonderful hostess too. The neighborhood of Santiago is a great place to base your stay. I got in the habit of grabbing a cup of coffee before breakfast then walking down to Parque Santiago to enjoy the friendly people in the parque and to people watch. The church sits adjacent to the parque and for me I enjoyed the link to history and the spiritual nature of the neighborhood. It was easy to get transportation from the B&B anytime as Jan went out of his way to help us and to suggest the best places to visit and what to expect. In a way it was like being in a Discovery Channel adventure as Jan explained the history and culture of the city he obviously loves. The evenings were also a nice time for me as I would explore the neighborhood while my wife finished her siesta in the room. Families sit out on the front sidewalks in the evening to cool off and enjoy the evening breeze. If you listen carefully you could hear the 'bread guy' pedaling his bicycle through the streets honking his horn in rhythm to let folks know that he was making his rounds so that you could get some bread for your next days meals. It all just added to the calming experience of the hotel and the area that it was located. Do yourself a favor and visit this special place in Merida. The culture in this part of Mexico is special and for me was different from Europe which I liked. I also like how less expensive every thing was. If you've ever been to Europe you know what I mean! If you have a chance, visit the Antropologia Museum on Paseo de Montejo. If offered have one of the personal guides take you through the museum. The cost is inexpensive and you get a personal explanation of every part of the Yucatan culture which helps you understand why Merida is the type of city it is.

Room Tip: All the rooms were top notch for Mexico type travel; no worries
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We found B&B Merida Santiago on tripadvisor, and we loooooved it. The rooms are big, spotless and stylish!
Breakfast is very very very good. Rita and Jan are very interested, welcoming and helpfull hosts. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrijn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We arrived in Merida without any hotel reservations figuring we could get a room since it was not the busy season. We found B&B Merida Santiago on Tripadvisor, so headed straight here. Unknowingly, we woke Jan from his siesta, but he graciously welcomed us in.

The B&B is very unassuming from the outside, except for the huge wooden door. But step inside and you are welcomed into paradise. Jan and Rita were wonderful hosts, catering to our every need. The breakfast each morning was fantastic, and Jan would often bring up complimentary drink while we were louging in the pool. The rooms and pool are first rate, with the construction personally overseen by Jan.

The combination of the beautiful rooms, refreshing pool, great food and wonderful hosts made our five night stay in Merida unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickclark73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den bosch
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

You couldn't wish more from a B&B/small hotel in the heart of Merida, owned by Jan (Dutch) and Rita (Mexican). The hotel is completely renovated in Hacienda-style. The rooms are spacious, spotless and offer true comfort. Jan is also a walking "Lonely Planet" and excited to inform all about Merida and the rest of Yucatan. Their breakfast is a little feast. For a small price housekeeping will also do your laundry. The kids loved it, they still miss Gio. Thanks for a really pleasant stay.
Kradolfer Family (Rosmalen, Netherlands)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viceniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppel, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

B&B with hotel airs. Small (max. 4 rooms), familiar, quiet, nice pool and magnificent breakfast. Warm and very hospitable (Jan and Rita). We loved it!
We stayed 3 days, there is enough to see in and around Merida. Visit Merida is the weekend! Parents with two teenagers. Meer info: paultijdeman@home.nl

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Ok, so many 5 star-reviews asks for a visit. We stayed at Merida Santiago for three nights and it was well worth it. We stayed in the smallest room, but it was in-fact the biggest room we stayed in during our trip within central-america.

The room was spacious, new, clean and had a big bathroom with excellent walk-in shower. Great king-size bed, lcd-tv with American channels and free wi-fi. The place is brand-new and beatifully decorated.

The breakfast every morning was great with fresh fruit-juice, fresh fruit, coffee with pan-dulce and a mexican dish. For 6 usd this is a bargain.

Jan and Rita, and the dog Gio, are putting a lot of effort in to make this place a great place. And they succeed. Jan is full of tips and can make any type of arrangement for you and he and his charming wife Rita are great people just to have a chat with over a glass of beer.

Also Dona-Ana, the housekeeper, is an excellent cook and cleans up very neatly.

Also the rates (we've paid 72 usd a night) is very reasonable for a brand-new place with these kind of amenities and service. Also, a fitness-room will be added very soon.

Get yourself to Santiagio-Merida if you are in Merida, can't think of a better experience...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merida Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merida Santiago

Property: Hotel Merida Santiago
Address: Calle 74-a barrio Santiago - Centro 499 | x 57 y 59-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Merida Santiago)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merida Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Merida Santiago is a relaxed Yucateca colonial style hotel located in the historic center of Merida. It's walking distance from Merida's main attractions: the central market square (990 m), the zoo (800 m), Palacio del Gobierno (990 m), the old market Lucas Galvez, Paseo de Montejo and much more. Hotel Merida Santiago has six luxurious and spacious suites, each with its own character. Five suites offer comfortable king sized beds and the sixth suite has two queen size beds. All come with refrigerators and valuables safe. Large en suite bathrooms feature double sinks and walk-in rain showers. Two suites have Jacuzzi tubs with hydro jet massage. Massage is available on request. The central courtyard offers guests a place to relax, eat, drink and swim. It's an excellent place to escape Merida's tropical heat. The bar is fully stocked and the pool is open 24 hours a day. We serve a full Yucatecan style breakfast and a vegetarian version is available as well. At night there is a social time in which guests are encouraged to try free local drinks and botanas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Merida Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing