We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything good apart from an uncomfy bed...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jardin Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Jardin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 83 Merida B&B and Inns
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything good apart from an uncomfy bed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Great value, quite central,lovely owner. Peaceful garden to relax in (a few mozzys though). We had initially booked 5nights but only stayed 2 as one of the beds in our room was extremely soft.The owner was goodabout it and gave us a refund. The breakfast is nothing to write home about but still good to start your day with some food. We wouldve stayed had it not been for the bed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Clean place with a simple but nice breakfast. Very friendly owner, the place feels like visiting someone's home without the feeling of trespassing. It's quite central and definitely excellent value for your money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jossan_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
163 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Simple, clean and pleasant place to hang for a night or two. Reasonable breakfast, actually amazing that it's included in pricing. Just a few blocks from bus and centro. Very modest pricing so don't expect the Ritz...but would happily return. Elsie was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at a private room and it was really nice, the place is simple and nothing fancy but very clean and located very close to historical district, once you get there you get a warm welcome by the staff and useful advice for tours and restaurants. i would stay there again

Room Tip: Depending on your budget but private rooms are quite cheap instead of the dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecate, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

First of all it doesn't have a sign so it can be confusing to get there! The service is ok, it is clean. Very quite place, no one bothers you at all! The give you an entrance and room key so you can go in and out at any time without bothering anyone! Had a nice stay! Good A/C...had to pay 70 pesos more but it was worth it! It's near ADO bus station and you have to take like a 15 block walto to go to the main plaza (El Zocalo)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YepRom-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is my favourite place I've stayed so far on my trip through Mexico. We arrived late at night but owner Elsie let us in and was very accommodating and helpful. Our room was lovely, had a tv, air con (which is an optional extra 70 pesos per day but it can get so hot it's definitely worth it). We were downstairs on the courtyard, a really nice room, they cleaned it everyday, we had hot water in the shower - really good.

And the free breakfast is amazing - fruit, ham and cheese quesadilla or toasted sandwich and toast and coffee and lemon water - having this included in the price is a total bargain!

Merida itself is a really lovely town, El Jardin is a short walk from the main square with restaurants, galleries, museums, etc. we felt totally safe wandering around at night - I read some other reviews that said people thought it felt unsafe wandering around, but we didn't get that at all - it's easy to walk from the bus station but we arrived late at night and were tired so got a 40 peso taxi to the hotel instead.

You must definitely visit Park Santiago if you stay here - great restaurants and food stalls in the plaza there. There's a restaurant on the outside of the square called Flor de Santiago which I swear does the best frapuccino I have ever tasted in my life. Incredible.

For the price you would be a fool to stay anywhere but here. We loved our room and our time here was relaxed. Thank you Elsie!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 which was downstairs in the courtyard and stayed pretty cool at night and durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Located 5 minutes from the Zocalo and 2 1/2 blocks from the main bus stations. Breakfast is nonthing special but ok and is served at the hour you agree on. Feels like being at home. Much privacy, nobody bothers you, you get your own key and can come and go as you please. Don't count on getting a lot of tourist information. You'll have to get that at the tourist office downtown. I would stay here again. Rooms are clean and hot water is no problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitaInJocotepec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Nico
Hostal Casa Nico
#40 of 83 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Zocalo
Hostal Zocalo
#1 of 68 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Las Escaleras Guest House
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 83 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Jardin Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 70 N. 509, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Merida´s historical center, El Jardin is located just 3 short blocks from the main Zocalo. The ambiance of El Jardin, as described by our many repeat guests, is like an oasis, a peaceful refuge where one feels far from the excitement and activity of the city center although conveniently that´s exactly where we are! "Behind the walls", you can refresh and rejuvenate while passing time relaxing and enjoying. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Jardin Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing