We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Jardin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 79 Merida B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at a private room and it was really nice, the place is simple and nothing fancy but very clean and located very close to historical district, once you get there you get a warm welcome by the staff and useful advice for tours and restaurants. i would stay there again

Room Tip: Depending on your budget but private rooms are quite cheap instead of the dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tecate, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

First of all it doesn't have a sign so it can be confusing to get there! The service is ok, it is clean. Very quite place, no one bothers you at all! The give you an entrance and room key so you can go in and out at any time without bothering anyone! Had a nice stay! Good A/C...had to pay 70 pesos more but it was worth it! It's near ADO bus station and you have to take like a 15 block walto to go to the main plaza (El Zocalo)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YepRom-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is my favourite place I've stayed so far on my trip through Mexico. We arrived late at night but owner Elsie let us in and was very accommodating and helpful. Our room was lovely, had a tv, air con (which is an optional extra 70 pesos per day but it can get so hot it's definitely worth it). We were downstairs on the courtyard, a really nice room, they cleaned it everyday, we had hot water in the shower - really good.

And the free breakfast is amazing - fruit, ham and cheese quesadilla or toasted sandwich and toast and coffee and lemon water - having this included in the price is a total bargain!

Merida itself is a really lovely town, El Jardin is a short walk from the main square with restaurants, galleries, museums, etc. we felt totally safe wandering around at night - I read some other reviews that said people thought it felt unsafe wandering around, but we didn't get that at all - it's easy to walk from the bus station but we arrived late at night and were tired so got a 40 peso taxi to the hotel instead.

You must definitely visit Park Santiago if you stay here - great restaurants and food stalls in the plaza there. There's a restaurant on the outside of the square called Flor de Santiago which I swear does the best frapuccino I have ever tasted in my life. Incredible.

For the price you would be a fool to stay anywhere but here. We loved our room and our time here was relaxed. Thank you Elsie!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 which was downstairs in the courtyard and stayed pretty cool at night and durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Located 5 minutes from the Zocalo and 2 1/2 blocks from the main bus stations. Breakfast is nonthing special but ok and is served at the hour you agree on. Feels like being at home. Much privacy, nobody bothers you, you get your own key and can come and go as you please. Don't count on getting a lot of tourist information. You'll have to get that at the tourist office downtown. I would stay here again. Rooms are clean and hot water is no problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitaInJocotepec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The owner, Elsie, is an absolute sweetheart. That makes all the difference! You can tell that Elsie takes pride in El Jardin, as it feels much like you are walking into someone's home. The garden has a few places to sit and read, and the air conditioners in the room blast cold air. A huge perk was the breakfast - both mornings, we had fresh coffee, sandwiches, sweet rolls, and fresh fruit. The room (private) we stayed in was spotless, and the bed was so comfortable. We had a TV, and the shower had hot water (it had been a while since we'd had that!) The walled compound is also very secure - along with your room key, you will be given a key to the very sturdy, very locked front gate. And, most importantly, it is SO quiet there.

The only downfall is that it's quite a walk (at least 10 mins) from the central square where all the nightlife, museums, and restaurants are, but there is actually a little square just a few blocks away that has some necessities - like the overabundant Oxxo - as well as a movie theater and a few lunch hot spots. The location is good too, though, as it is near the ADO station - I would say just about a 5-8 minute walk directly down the road.

Wish we could do it again - and if we ever find ourselves in Merida once more, we definitely will stop by!

***Tip: When we first arrived at El Jardin, we had to ring the doorbell several times. It was about ten minutes before someone came out to open up the gate, so we actually almost left. Be patient! The hostel stretches back a bit, and if someone is cleaning or cooking, I can imagine that they would not hear the ring. This is definitely not a reflection of how they treat you there, so do not worry! They are very attentive, but just a small group of quite busy people :) On the flip side, the office is right there in front, so if someone is in the office, they should see you walk up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashevillehappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alken, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a nice and cozy hostel. The owners are very friendly and give you a lot of touristic information about Merida. It’s located directly by the bus station and it’s a 5 – 10 minutes’ walk to the Zocalo. It’s a very quit place and the rooms are very big. You have a hot shower, tv, terrace, a nice garden and airco/fan. The airco at or room didn’t work, but the fan did. It’s very clean. Every morning you have a typical Mexican breakfast. There’s also a kitchen and fridge in the garden that you can use. On Tuesday evenings there’s a great big band playing on a square, only two blocks away from the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DagdaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Positive: very nice owners, free parking, delicious breakfast, information on the area, a 5-minute walk to Merida's historic district, and relatively quick access to the highway.

Negatives: there was a lounge right outside our room, which we thought would be great until the guests from a neighbouring room used it at 5am, shining a light directly into our room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quebermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Tio Rafa
La Casa del Tio Rafa
#13 of 71 in Merida
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 79 in Merida
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#5 of 79 in Merida
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Jardin Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 70 N. 509, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Merida´s historical center, El Jardin is located just 3 short blocks from the main Zocalo. The ambiance of El Jardin, as described by our many repeat guests, is like an oasis, a peaceful refuge where one feels far from the excitement and activity of the city center although conveniently that´s exactly where we are! "Behind the walls", you can refresh and rejuvenate while passing time relaxing and enjoying. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Jardin Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing