We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner”
Review of Cafe Lucia

Cafe Lucia
Ranked #416 of 759 Restaurants in Merida
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My daughter and I ate here and very much enjoyed it. The service was inconsistent at times, the waiter would disappear, but the food was good. Be aware though your bill will add up, it was pricey at the end. Would we go back, yes probably but it can get pricey especially with wine added into te mix.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ES727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Food was ok but he tried to rip us off on the bill and got caught...”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The food was good but nothing really special. Service was fine until the bill came. It was a hand written bill. I started adding it up and kept coming up with a different total than him. He noticed me looking at the bill and asked if everything is ok. I said give us a minute. He stood too close and kept eyeing us. After the third time of asking us if everything was ok he gave us a calculator. Sure enough he had overcharged by about 65 pesos. So after all this I said the numbers don't add up. He then informs me that the tip is included. Fine- but why does it not say that on the hand written bill and also why would the tip be 11.2%? Odd number. The whole thing was uncomfortable and obvious. Funny part is we would have left a larger tip. He was just hoping for us to tip on top of the extra 65 pesos he had already put in the bill.
Beware of your bill. Cheers and happy eats.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere, a little pricy”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Had the sopa de lima and the fish ceviche. Both were very good, especially the sopa.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlebird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Almost superb . . . but not quite.”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Food was very good. I had beef kebabs which came w/ guac & refried black beans & tortillas. I added rice because I didn't know what side dishes were included. Pet peeve. This meal was made very unhealthy because everything was seasoned with / fried in lard. The rice was more of a risotto so again super rich--but very delicious. So after the lard feast I figured I'd just order the apple pie! What did I have to lose? It was the best apple pie I've ever had (without nuts). The ice cream that accompanied it was very average but it really didn't matter. Also had white wine. The atmosphere was pleasant but way too warm. Carlos was a great mesero.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy to overlook but some of the best food in Merida”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

It is quite hard to find really good food in Merida, this is our 7th trip - we always stay at El Luz en Yucatan around the corner - and this was our first try out of this place.

From the outside we have always thought it looked just like the many other touristy restuarants in merida, but this time we decided to give it a go. The room is small but the tables are well spaced, there is a small bar. There are some very attractive paintings and the temperature is nice, not too cold.

We had simple dishes, steak in a sherry sauce with fresh peas, carrots and courgettes, and Fettucini Lucia, cream, cheese and mushrooms. Both were delicious and the steak was totally tender. Service was prompt and unobtrusive. If you go there on Thursday night, you can here the live concert from the square across the road.

Having eaten a lot of very average meals in Merida, we have now found our favourite spot and it will take a lot to tear us away. Next visit is October and we will certainly eat there again. Price was medium - well worth it. I feel hungry just writing this!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Belizequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lucia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing