We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merida Cathedral

Merida Cathedral
Ranked #6 of 113 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Mims, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Originally built because of an error, this the second oldest Cathedral in the Americas was to show the locals how awesome God really was. Well, it still works today as our gazes are drawn toward heaven. I get a touch of vertigo just imagining that cavernous ceiling above. A must see if you're in Merida.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    425
    151
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I have been to Merida three times and have just booked our fourth return trip! Merida Cathedral is simply beautiful. The security guard inside is very helpful and informative. I did ask permission as to whether or not I could photograph the interior. He kindly gave us permission. The surrounding area is alive with people and color!! Many quaint shops etc to investigate. Enjoy the area!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“BREATH TAKING CATHEDRAL”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

One of the most spiritual places I have ever seen. Mass is held several times a day. The architecture is completely breath taking. My favorite element is the hand-carved crucifix, made out of a single piece of wood.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Architecture”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is an amzing building, you feel quite humble and reverent whilst inside the cathedral, there was a wedding just finishing as we arrived. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You must visit this Cathedral and take in the history surrounding it. Located centrally, try to go on a Sunday when there is a mass taking place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ActionVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merida Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Merida Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing