We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful at night”
Review of Merida Cathedral

Merida Cathedral
Ranked #7 of 113 things to do in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
315 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful at night”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A beautiful cathedral and the focal point of centro - it is pretty awe inspiring at night with the beautiful lighting. We sit on the stone wall in front sometimes to watch the world go by and have met interesting locals - they informed us that tourists don't usually sit there so we were mistaken for Expats, I guess. It was pretty funny when a local asked us how we felt about the Patriots losing that afternoon when we said we were from Boston. The Meridanos (?) seem to genuinely like Americans and sports - we once had a person marching in a parade yell Go Red Sox after asking where we're from.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cottonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    438
    154
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“incredible history”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is the one place you have to check out and the streets are so alive around this place. This is one of the oldest buildings in North America and right around the corner is the oldest house in North America.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eldudarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

It is a very fine structure located on the main city square, illuminated at night it is a superb view

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Inspiring!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This cathedral has an immense cross that draws your eye upward and seems to fill the immense space. I am not sure of the opening hours but it was closed all afternoon and I had to go back the next morning to see inside.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice architecture - worth popping in to check out”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a pretty large church right off of the centre town square.
It is worth it to check out the architecture and history of the church if you are in the area.
I would nit suggest planning your destination around it though - it is not that significant and good for maybe 30mins or so of your time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TantheManBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merida Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Merida Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing