We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent value for budget traveller.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Punto Checo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Merida, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
buddymain...
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you could say it in one sentence, what would you say? JUST STAY AWAY!! Don't believe that a picture does not lie!”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Located in the Garcia Gineras neighborhood of Centro Merida. I moved to Merida on August 1, 2017 and rented this place for a month while I was looking for a permanent place to live. I thought is was a great price, but you get what you pay for (in this case, you don't get much for what you paid for). That is when I found out that he owner had gone back to Eastern Europe for the month and was not available. His temporary manager and I missed each other at the airport, so I took a taxi and waited outside in the patio area until she arrived. She let me in my "studio", set my bags down and turned on the AC which did not work. Now August isn't the hottest month but coming from Maine, it was HOT! She immediately called someone to fix he AC but he could not come until the next day. I decided to take a shower. There was no more than a tickle coming out of the shower head. The towel holders and toilet paper holders were broken off the walls. The manager took me to WalMart to pick up some things to get settled, I bought some food and drinks and a new shower head and toilet seat, as the one there was cracked in half. There was absolutely NO counter space to do anything. One ""hose-like" faucet that only had cold water, hard to wash dishes with cold water. The refrigerator kept freezing everything. The room was filthy, with black mold growing on the walls, floor tiles so dirty that no matter how many times a day you washed them, they never looked clean and the mattress was about 6 inches thick, felt like it was filled with straw and the foundation was partially broken.I went to the patio to talk with the other "inhabitants". The "SPA" was a cesspool with about a foot of water in it, dark brown in color and was a breading ground for mosquitos! And, by the way, there was no patio table and chairs! One evening I was sitting at the desk working on my laptop and all of a sudden all 4 legs of the chair came out from under me.Talking with other tenants, they had the same or WORSE conditions as me, Trash bags piled up for almost 2 weeks before anything was done making it a great place for mice and rats to nest and move in. We were constantly emailing him in Europe to do something. Yes, the TV is flat screen but OLD. Those of us that were there for a long period of time, were never told how to get bottles of water delivered, so one of the ladies sat outside all afternoon in the car park to try and wave down the Crystal Water truck. Thank GOD I found a permanent place to live because I could not have stayed there one more day. Many long-term residents had finally had enough and left. Others came and left within a day or 2 because it was so bad.
If you value your vacation, stay as far away from this place as possible. It has taken me6 1/2 months to write this review, hoping I could say something better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not the best and owner not friendly”
Reviewed March 19, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

I get it's not the Hyatt, but it's by far not the best place for the money. when we arrived, no towels were made available, the room had mold and when taking the sheets off to take to wash, we discovered urine stains on the bed. The toliet was repeatly breaking and so was the refrigerator. When a mouse was discovered, Jaro~ the owner~ could have care less and said "well you have a pet mouse now." He had an empty room that he didn't want to put us in for some reason. He finally had us move after we kept insisting on changing rooms. He also made snide remarks about my weight as well as questioned my intelligence. We we booked, he adverted an outside table and chairs, which there wasnt any and a splash pool, which was broken. When asked about it he said he didn't want it because it created a party scene. He finally got a table and chairs because enough people complained about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merida hotels

Stefanie...
1 review
“Disgusting and with cockroaches!”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in this appartmend and would never recommend it! Its really disgusting, ALL! And we had 1 towel for 2 poeple and no toilet paper. Ok its cheap you can't expect a luxury hotel but we didn't wanted to sleep in this bed, because it was also so dirty, so we took our sleeping bags and slept inside.
There were also a horrible stench in this room with a lot of cockroaches!!

Then we send the owner a textmassage, that the appartment is so dirty and we got the answer: "don't worry about that". !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenScholt...
Merida, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for budget traveller.”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for five weeks. All in the best value with no hidden costs. The owner, who is part of the Yucatan symphony orchestra, is an amazing host, provides lots of information and can help you plan visits to tourist sites. Close to Parque de las Americas and bus stops in a very nice neighbourhood. Pet friendly and has parking on street but under cover. Other residents are mostly long term and very quiet. You can sit under the trees in the courtyard and read on those days when you just want to relax, which remains quite cool no matter what the outside temperature.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
:) merci Laura, vous êtes vraiment les bienvenus ici. Vous êtes les meilleurs locataires de l'année !!

Thanks Laura, you are really very welcome here. You are the best renters of the year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing