We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - bit of a trek from the centre which is over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa de las Columnas
Ranked #43 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Long way out but handy for ring road, park, zoo, big supermarket. Buses to centre $9. V friendly staff. Breakfasts a bit sweet. Lovely decoration and small pool. Free wifi but a long way (15 min walk) to nearest internet café.

Merida centre ruined by traffic noise and fumes.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

When we first arrived at this hotel I was amazed at how gorgeous it is! So intricately done, quite spectacular. The man at reception was very welcoming and helpful and answered lots of questions for us. Our room was comfortable, the only thing mising was a mini fridge. It is a fair hike into Centro (especially in the heat) but Collectivos run past the front door all the time and cost next to nothing, or you can flag down a metered taxi. Having said that, it's partly due to the fact that it's not in the middle of town that it's so tranquil and peaceful, and that's a welcome thing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay again or recommend it to others.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
Thank max-albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Thankfully I did my research to stay in Merida especially in Casa de Las Columnas! About a 15-20 minutes walk from central lies a places that exhibits tranquility, simplicity, beauty, culture, family, and authenticity! I traveled with my dad and stayed here for 4 days/3 nights. This small establishment is family-run, and we instantly bonded with the owners. Everyone was very kind and hospitable which made it feel like home. The hotel is built and decorated with antique pieces literally from floor to ceiling. I couldn't get enough of it! The walk from the hotel to central benefited us since it gave us the opportunity to see the character of this historic town on foot. There is also a grocery store called AKI just around he corner where we had bought our snacks, fruit, and water. It's a town that feels like we've always lived there. Next time I'm in Merida, I would definitely stay there again! If you want to experience culture right up front, well my friend, this place is it!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

After driving all day from Tulum, our B&B was a welcome site! It is about 8-10 blocks outside of the city center, but it worked out perfect. They have off street parking for your car at night, and street parking in front during the day. The courtyard is absolutely charming, the rooms large and nicely decorated. The staff is very friendly - the language barrier was a bit of the challenge with some of the staff but we all managed quite well. There is a supermarket a short walk across the street in case you need anything. We ended up parking the car and hailing a cab - they come by every few minutes - to get into town (about 30 pesos - $3 each way). Easy decision to let the locals do the driving as Merida can be super busy. Since the B&B is located on the outskirts of town, it was easy to get on the main roads to see the flamingos, which are about 2.5 hours away. Free internet was available as well. Would definately return!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issylhSeattle_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Incredibly beautiful and sympathetically renovated colonial house with attentive and helpful staff. It was a delight to wake every morning and open the door of my bedroom, beautifully furnished with elegant antiques, and step out into the columned courtyard with the pool, waterfall and palm trees.

The owners of the hotel (Jose and Nidia) treat every guest like a member of the family, with a wide smile and offers of lifts to various places, advice on where to get the best meals, what events are on and where in the town, help with booking flights, trips, anything you need. NOTHING is too much trouble and you really feel welcome. In fact, I extended my stay by another week, I liked it so much!

Drinks and snacks of various kinds can be purchased for a small fee all day long, and the continental breakfast actually consists of Mexican pan dulce (sweet breads), mixed fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee, and is served on the beautiful covered patio, overlooking the pool.

Quite centrally located, it is only four blocks from Plaza Santiago, two from the zoo (worth seeing!), and nine from the very centre of town: so easy walking distance to most places you will want to see.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to wake up in the morning and KNOW they are in colonial Merida!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motovun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

A beautifully decorated, comfortable, family-run hotel outside the main tourist district – about 20 minutes walk into the main plaza. Each of the large double rooms is furnished according to a theme and is an absolute visual delight. However, the same things that make it so visually attractive also contribute to its drawbacks. The lovely ceramic tiling and layout around a central courtyard mean that all conversation in the courtyard area is audible from every room, and the management is not fussy about asking the guests for a bit of consideration for other guests after a certain hour. Breakfast is adequate, and the fruit and juice are fresh and very yummy. Our laundry was not returned when promised, but the management sent it on to us the following day at their expense. The family members really do go out of their way to make one welcome and to ensure a pleasant stay. Highly recommended, if you don’t mind the walk into the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#34 of 105 in Merida
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#15 of 105 in Merida
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
62 St. Guest House
62 St. Guest House
#19 of 86 in Merida
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Carmita
Hotel Casa Carmita
#8 of 86 in Merida
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ochenta Y Dos [an urban bed & breakfast]
5.1 mi away
Casa de Camposampiero Hotel Boutique de Autor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Columnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Columnas

Address: Calle 59 No 636 Entre 80 Y 82, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: $41 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Columnas 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boutique, estilo Mexicano decoradas con hermosos muebles antiguos restaurados, lo que les da un toque de elegancia muy particular. En cada habitación del Hotel Boutique Casa de las Columnas encontrará excelentes amenidades y comodidades que le harán sentir como en casa, incluyendo televisión por cable e internet inalámbrico gratis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de las Columnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing