We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, but one big problem”
Review of Hostal Zocalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Zocalo
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous, but one big problem”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I really loved this hostel. Great people, great location, great vibe.. BUT, I cut my stay short because there were bed bugs in my private room. I chatted with people staying in the dorm and they had no problem, so maybe this issue is limited to the one room. I know bedbugs can happen anywhere and it's not a reflection on the cleanliness of the hostel, but still, it's disgusting!

My advice--check the bedding carefully before you stay. If you have any doubts (spots on sheets, strange bites after your first night) ask to be moved to a different room. Definitely don't set luggage on the bed, you don't want to carry the bugs with you!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmonkeyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    154
    57
    15
    20
See reviews for
31
186
176
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hostel Zocalo on a recent visit to Merida. This is, without a doubt, THE best located hostel (or even hotel) in Merida. It's directly on the Zocalo which comes alive with festivities every weekend, all year long.

The breakfast alone was, quite literally, worth more than the room cost. Eat all you want of fresh papaya, pineapple, cantaloupe and bananas, as well as cereal, fresh breads and eggs made to order. They even have soy milk.

Claudia and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We've been in hostels throughout Mexico and Europe and feel that Hostel Zocalo is among the finest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkirk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed in this hostel for 3 nights in December 2010 and my experience was a little bit disappointing.

I had booked a private room in advance and had been in touch with the hostel the day before arrival to make sure they knew I was arriving late, and was told this would be no problem.

Arriving at the hostel after travelling for close to 20 hours me and my partner were told by the two young lads on reception that they didn’t have a reservation from us and there were no private rooms.
We were given a room without bath instead but weren’t showed were the communal bathrooms were. This was really disappointing.
Also, when I enquired about a discount (one night had already been paid for in advance) this was flat out refused, even though we had paid for a higher standard room.
The next day we were able to change to a private room with bathroom. However, it didn’t have hot water due to problems with the boiler.

Also, all the rooms have incredibly thin walls, so bring earplugs.

On the plus side, the breakfast served at this place is truly great. You help yourself to as much coffee, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, bread and jam as you like and you also get a choice of omelettes (with your choice of fillings) or pancakes made for you and brought to your table. A brilliant start to the day!

Also, we liked the WiFi and free drinking water.

In my opinion this is a lovely hostel with a perfect location, but we felt we were let down by the people on reception who gave our room away, which meant our holiday was off to a bad start.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shoegazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This hostel is located in the center of the main plaza in Merida... This location can't be beat. We had a private room which was clean and had Internet. However the set up of some of the dorms are not that great as the beds are located in an area that serve as the passageway to the bathrooms that everyone uses.... Without a door to this room. Free breakfast included cereals, fruit, good bread, omelets and crepes made to order.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sipis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Pros: location, room
Cons: noise

I really liked this hostel. It is directly on the main square in Merida thus cannot be any more central. The people staying there are quite friendly and the set up allows for socializing both at breakfast as well as during the day.

The room had a balcony overlooking the main square which was awesome. The bed was one of the best I slept in in a long time. The rooms were shared bath and the guys bath was on the other side of the hostel which was a negative. On my first night a group of drunks were staying in the room next door and with the walls paper thin, at 2am in the morning listening to them socialize along with the staff, it was not a good situation. When I finally said something the guy at the desk said he could move ME to another room downstairs in the middle of nowhere. I asked him if he could move the ones who just rented the room instead which he did.

Overall I liked the fell of this hostel. The young guy who was also the young guy that wanted to move me instead of the drunks was quite brusque and rude most of my dealings with him but other than that it was a good find.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

This was the best hostel we found during our trip around Mexico: clean, big rooms in a bright colonial building bang in the centre of Merida. We had the best breakfast ever: you get choices of omelettes or crepes.
The owner is very nice and friendly, and all staff is very helpful. His girlfriend is lovely. You fill like at home there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anto_Seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2010

amazing location, very nice and helpfull staff, friendly people and an awesome breakfast, if you gonna stay in Merida here is a great place!
they provide also good tours and information about sights and activities
mucho gusto y suerte!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco000_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 103 in Merida
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#19 of 103 in Merida
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zocalo

Property: Hostal Zocalo
Address: Calle 63 #508 Planta Alta x 60 y 62 | Off he central square of Merida City, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old residence of the famous yucatecan artist Jose Peon Contreras, located in the heart of Merida, with a spectacular view of The Plaza Grande on 63rd Street in the ancient Mayan City of Tho' founded, whatever it was rigth in the palace of warriors. Here is your home! We ensure that your rest is pleasant, with hot water, comfortable beds and clean cotton sheets. The kitchen is the heart of this space, where you can meet people from all over the world, that tell fantastic historis about great travelers... In a creative and free environment. And to be sure you will to the march whit a firm step through these lands of the Mayab, we offer the best breakfast you can find, rich, healthy, varied, plentiful and quality; whit all The fruit you could want, eggs, cereal, bread, milk, coffee, tea, jams, caramel milk, peanut butter, honey, brown sugar, yogurt and more.... YOUR ARE WELCOM! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Zocalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Zocalo Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing