We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
372
162
63
16
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
162
63
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomshared bathroomthe main squarewomen's bathroomhot waterfresh fruitexcellent locationhistoric buildingbreakfast includedspent nightshosteldormcerealmexicoplazapesosfans
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 634 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2016

Great little no frills place in the heart of everything in Merida. Rooms are basically just beds and not much else but the staff and the vibe is great. Breakfast involves helping yourself to cereals and fresh fruit while a member of staff is on hand to make omlettes. Would recommend. Wifi is a bit strange, there are 4 account and one may work great where you are but if you move 10 feet youll need to jump to one of the other ones. A minor annoyance but you'll always get a good signal on one of them.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertparry14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

The entrance is a bit tricky to see, because there is a store at the front door, but just look for the sign above the door. The young couple managing the hostel, made my experience exceptional. Rooms and beds are clean and neat. Lot's of secure baggage space and good Wi-Fi. Really happy all around with my stay and will recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Book in advance during high season, they fill-up quickly.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

The hostel is ideally located in the center next to museums, shops and parks.
Good for meeting travellers, or chill out on the roof top.
If they could change the bathroom, that would be a plus.
Great breakfast

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank jwmarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Other reviewers have discussed the place's prime location, but I'd really like to highlight the quality of the service. The people working here are diligent and helpful but more importantly, they're utterly enthusiastic about their city and Mexican culture. The building itself is unique, and definitely quirky. You enter through a little shop and ascend a gorgeous flight of stone steps, which could present a mobility challenge. The common area is open, but covered, with access to a patio and a rooftop view of the city. The art and furniture are a funky, eclectic mix - very "Mexico."

The breakfast is hands-down the best meal I've ever had in a hostel. They grind their own coffee(!), plus loads of fresh fruit, cereal, and even omelet service is provided at a common table, perfect for socializing with other guests.

A word on the guests: this is a lively but laid-back place. Lively in the sense that people actually hang out in the hostel and visit, but I didn't get a "party people!" vibe from it at all; it felt safe and home-y. There were even a few families there with kids.

Easily the best value for money we came across on our trip!

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Hostal Zocalo in Merida. The location is perfect for exploring the city and it has a beautiful little courtyard and private areas for relaxation. All rooms and amenities were extremely clean.

We had the most beautiful breakfast each morning (in fact the quality of food was better than any other hostel we've stayed at in Mexico) and it was a great atmosphere for meeting other travelers. Thanks from Aussie travelers jaime and mel!

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
Thank MelissaW613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews