We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
372
162
63
16
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
162
63
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomshared bathroomthe main squarewomen's bathroomhot waterfresh fruitexcellent locationhistoric buildingbreakfast includedspent nightshosteldormcerealmexicoplazapesosfans
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 634 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

The hostel is ideally located in the center next to museums, shops and parks.
Good for meeting travellers, or chill out on the roof top.
If they could change the bathroom, that would be a plus.
Great breakfast

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank jwmarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Other reviewers have discussed the place's prime location, but I'd really like to highlight the quality of the service. The people working here are diligent and helpful but more importantly, they're utterly enthusiastic about their city and Mexican culture. The building itself is unique, and definitely quirky. You enter through a little shop and ascend a gorgeous flight of stone steps, which could present a mobility challenge. The common area is open, but covered, with access to a patio and a rooftop view of the city. The art and furniture are a funky, eclectic mix - very "Mexico."

The breakfast is hands-down the best meal I've ever had in a hostel. They grind their own coffee(!), plus loads of fresh fruit, cereal, and even omelet service is provided at a common table, perfect for socializing with other guests.

A word on the guests: this is a lively but laid-back place. Lively in the sense that people actually hang out in the hostel and visit, but I didn't get a "party people!" vibe from it at all; it felt safe and home-y. There were even a few families there with kids.

Easily the best value for money we came across on our trip!

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Hostal Zocalo in Merida. The location is perfect for exploring the city and it has a beautiful little courtyard and private areas for relaxation. All rooms and amenities were extremely clean.

We had the most beautiful breakfast each morning (in fact the quality of food was better than any other hostel we've stayed at in Mexico) and it was a great atmosphere for meeting other travelers. Thanks from Aussie travelers jaime and mel!

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
Thank MelissaW613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile

This place could definitely use some improvements. It's a little rough around the edges. Faded paint and a lot of unnecessary stuff laying around. One of the sitting areas is where they store the garbage. The whole place needs some love. The photos make it look much nicer than it is. Our private room had one small window which drew air in from the courtyard yet provided privacy. Some rooms have balcony doors facing the central square. Dorms had a lot of beds in them. The listing I used to book the room made it sound like our room had a kitchenette and a refrigerator. The reality was sharing a kitchen with staff, the people that live there and 30-40 other guests. I'd recommend a room with a private bath. Yes the breakfast is good but it gets only two stars. If your room is near the kitchen you get woken up at 6am when the chopping begins. The fruit was overripe which is why there was so much of it. Omelettes, cereal and good bread were a plus. The staff apparently think this makes up for the other problems. Same comments as others. The men's bathroom was bad and unusable for most of our stay. Apparently this is normal. The place overall could have been a bit cleaner. Friendly staff. Lots of people milling around. The women's bathroom which ended up being everyone's bathroom was ok but not real clean. I'd recommend a room with a private bath. We stayed here for 5 nights and found it friendly enough and safe. Location gets five stars. There are plenty of other inexpensive places to stay in Merida.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2016

This place is nice for the cost. Comfortable bed, cool at night, great breakfast. I would go back there no worries. Staff nice enough, wifi in room and communal areas, hot water in morning and evening but not always at other times,

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews