We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hostal Zocalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Zocalo
Ranked #1 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in a private room one night because our usual hotel in Merida was full. We usually prefer a private room and bathroom, although we've stayed in hostals before and it's worked out fine. This one exceeded our expectations! We had a private room with a balcony overlooking the zocalo, which was fantastic. Of course it was noisy due to street noise, but we expected that. Breakfast was good, staff was friendly, and it had the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in in Mexico! We found the bathrooms to be adequate. We would stay here again, but we'd be careful about the room we chose. Some of the dorm beds are right next to the bathroom so everyone has to walk right by sleeping people to use the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square have great balconies, but if noise bothers you, it might not be the loc...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrairieTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Zocalo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 599 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

You can't beat this for location. Only 6-7 blocks from the ADO bus station. I had a private room as opposed to a dorm and the bed was very comfortable although the room lacked a decent window. I fail to see why previous reviews absolutely rave about the breakfast. Yes there is a decent selection but it's hardly fine dining. Other hostels in Mexico have given just as good if not better breakfasts.
I personally had a big problem with the bathroom. There seemed to be only one for a couple of dozen beds and the toilets have shower curtains on them instead of doors - a bit of an issue if you have problems performing in front of an audience - even with the curtain pulled. Previous reviews going back to October (Hostelworld) have commented on the same thing but have said that the management have stated that doors will be fitted soon. Unless they do fairly major work on the bathroom, that can't happen as the cubicles would not be big enough to just put doors on. Obviously an excuse given to people who are easily fobbed off.
The staff were friendly and helpful with any questions put to them.
The big bonus about this place is the location though.

Room Tip: Ask to see them first. Some don't have "windows" but might have an open piece of wall...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProdigitalSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this place after a 6 hour bus ride at 8pm expecting that our booking at this place would be upheld without issue upon paying a deposit.

How wrong we could be. An "oversight" meant that they had overbooked on our booking. These things happen but the attitude of the staff indicated that this was more than a rare occurrence. A very light on apology followed by contemptuous attempts to re-locate us to an affiliate location with higher prices.

Whilst trying to find alternative accomodation the "hosts" spent 10-15 mins trying to find the cash to return our deposit, attempted to get us on a discounted tour as compensation and turned up the music so loud we could hardly interact with them.

Needless to say we were rather aggrieved.

Avoid!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Possum1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just to confirm what was mentioned in the previous reviews already - the breakfast was by far the best one we have ever had in any hostel. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom and we find it to be great value for money. The location of the hostel is amazing, right at Zocalo, which is one of the most vibrant ones we have so far seen in Mexico. There was hot water too at all times we needed it during the weekend. We really liked the vibe in the common room in this stylish colonial house. Overally, I can't imagine a better option in Merida.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AventureroPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in zocalo over new years with my boyfriend and we booked a private room with shared bathroom. We arrived after overnight bus ride and had to wait until 2pm for our room but were able to have breakfast and sat on couches. Room wasn't great, had two beds both okay not so comfortable. It was a room overlooking main street so it had a door to open with a small balcony with two chairs. The problem is the doors didnt close properly and were rotting bad (they were wooden) so it was always drafty in the room and slightly open making it noisy and also not safe because people in room next to you could go to their balcony and walk into your room (the balconies are all attached). Had little ants crawling on floor and was quite dirty.
Showers were ok, a bit of a walk and hot water was more lukewarm. The wifi didnt reach our room but was strong in communal area.
Breakfast was lovely sitting around with everyone with a good selection of food. Great location if you want to stay in the area!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank iliaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located and well-priced, Hostal Zocalo had great vibes and very helpful people, in addition to a bountiful breakfast. The lack of hot water at all times of the day might get a bit annoying, though.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank djsven24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hostel is located right on the main square, which is really convenient. Despite being so close to the action (there were performances on the square every night), the dorm and common areas were very quiet. Staff was pleasant, hostel was clean enough. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of choices including eggs and 5 different types of fruit! I was a little concerned about the security as the stairs lead directly into the common area from outside with no door closing it off from the street. I do believe they have a night guard, however. Flamingo tour was so-so...I wouldn't recommend it as a must-do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,003 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#20 of 106 in Merida
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#31 of 106 in Merida
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 106 in Merida
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomadas Hostel
Nomadas Hostel
#2 of 73 in Merida
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zocalo

Address: Calle 63 #508 Planta Alta x 60 y 62 | Off he central square of Merida City, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Merida
Price Range: $17 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old residence of the famous yucatecan artist Jose Peon Contreras, located in the heart of Merida, with a spectacular view of The Plaza Grande on 63rd Street in the ancient Mayan City of Tho' founded, whatever it was rigth in the palace of warriors. Here is your home! We ensure that your rest is pleasant, with hot water, comfortable beds and clean cotton sheets. The kitchen is the heart of this space, where you can meet people from all over the world, that tell fantastic historis about great travelers... In a creative and free environment. And to be sure you will to the march whit a firm step through these lands of the Mayab, we offer the best breakfast you can find, rich, healthy, varied, plentiful and quality; whit all The fruit you could want, eggs, cereal, bread, milk, coffee, tea, jams, caramel milk, peanut butter, honey, brown sugar, yogurt and more.... YOUR ARE WELCOM! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Zocalo Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing