We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hostal Zocalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Zocalo
Ranked #1 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hostel is located on the main square, we stayed in a basic double which was only 290 pasos a night, small room with a fan and comfy bed. Breakfasts are good! Women's showers and toilets are ok, men's not as good (no door on the toilet) worth the money!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtunnicliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Zocalo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 600 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Good location but when we got there they tried to charge us for breakfast even though it says it's included, so it doesn't work out good value. Showers were cold, people smoke inside.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjreddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Nice hostel in a fantastic location with helpful & pleasant staff.

The rooms overlooking the Zocalo have awesome balconies, and a great place to sit in the evenings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipspipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Easily the best breakfast I have had included at a hostel, with loads of fruit, cereals, bread and pancakes on offer!! The staff are friendly, if a little disorganised (missing bookings are not unusual) and the building itself is beautiful (an old colonial mansion on the square), also the location is perfect. Rooms are fine, some smaller than others, those with balconies overlooking the square are lovely but a little bit noisy (bring your earplugs) - worth it for the view though!!! There is a bit of a shortage of bathrooms but they are clean. It would be great if they provided some more information about the city, things to do and restaurants etc. WiFi (which works!) & laundry service available.

I would definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlook the square which is stunning at night.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Beautiful old colonial house on the main plaza. If you get a room at the front you have a balcony that overlooks the main square, which is really pretty, and the price is really cheap. Jonathan, one of the managers, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Like others say, the reason we chose Zocalo was because the breakfast was included, we weren't disappointed, it's the best breakfast we've had by far in any hostel.

It's a family business and we got talking to Moises who is now renovating a colonial house in Progresso and decided to go there. The ground floor is renovated but they're working on the second floor, but the price is very cheap to take this into consideration and we barely noticed the work going on. So glad we did go there, Moises and Trina met us at the bus station and made us feel so welcome it felt like a home. They cooked for all their guests on the Sunday and we had a fantastic meal. Only thing about there was the young boy who worked there, one morning he didn't seem that keen to cook breakfast and it seemed used the language barrier excuse to slope out of the kitchen. Was fine as Trina came in and cooked for us, and if this happens you can just speak to Trina or Moises and they'll make sure you get what you want. We definitely hope to go back there one day to see it fully renovated.

Room Tip: In Zocalo you forgo a bathroom for the view of the square but for us it was worth it. All the rooms...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzaDramaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hostel is within the square of Zocalo itself. It's a beautiful old house that's just magnificent! Spacious loungy areas, good wifi, friendly managers, phone & travel agent service downstairs. The best thing about this place has got to be the huge breakfast that comes with the price! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zabrina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

....I arrived 5 AM in this hostel and the lovely man ( I forgot his name I'm afraid, he was also the cook) who received me was very helpful and considerate. I booked for two nights in a dorm room but decided to upgrade to a private room so as not to disturb the other occupants in the room and myself also when I crashed and everyone het up in a couple of hours!

The owner was very considerate in giving me a private room at a bargain price + they didn't charge me for the missed night! Awesome. The rooms and facilities were basic but clean.
The atmosphere in the place was great specially at breakfast....never experienced that in any hostel I've stayed in the last five years I've been travellin.

I enjoyed my stay in Merida and in this friendly hostel. My thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,004 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#21 of 106 in Merida
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 106 in Merida
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#17 of 106 in Merida
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zocalo

Address: Calle 63 #508 Planta Alta x 60 y 62 | Off he central square of Merida City, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Merida
Price Range: $17 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old residence of the famous yucatecan artist Jose Peon Contreras, located in the heart of Merida, with a spectacular view of The Plaza Grande on 63rd Street in the ancient Mayan City of Tho' founded, whatever it was rigth in the palace of warriors. Here is your home! We ensure that your rest is pleasant, with hot water, comfortable beds and clean cotton sheets. The kitchen is the heart of this space, where you can meet people from all over the world, that tell fantastic historis about great travelers... In a creative and free environment. And to be sure you will to the march whit a firm step through these lands of the Mayab, we offer the best breakfast you can find, rich, healthy, varied, plentiful and quality; whit all The fruit you could want, eggs, cereal, bread, milk, coffee, tea, jams, caramel milk, peanut butter, honey, brown sugar, yogurt and more.... YOUR ARE WELCOM! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Zocalo Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing