We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Meal”

Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra
Reserve with OpenTable
Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 764 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Destination Meal”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just a short trip to this hacienda from Merida makes the meal even more special. Excellent service and lovely food. Sit outside if the weather permits. After dinner take a stroll around the grounds. We saw a performance of a string quartet in the hacienda's chapel after dinner. Try and see the chapel if you can.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanaSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    57
    22
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Muy Excellente”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A fabulous restaurant hidden away in a tiny town, just 20 minutes from Merida. The drinks, the food all were wonderful and so was all of the staff. Pricey, but generous portions and well worth the money. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank aalexan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had dinner here in March 2013 before going to see the International String Quartet. My husband ordered the Tuna and it was done perfectly but and this is a big but the sides were cold. This is not acceptable in a high end restaurant. I ordered the pasta with shrimp. The smokey sauce, was too over powering. My friend had the duck and said it was great. If you go before String Quartet allow at least two hours for dinner. The grounds are beautiful and the overall evening was special. Will go back, but will advise server, we like our food hot. Will try duck next time.
Dinner with wine was around $100.00 US for two

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chanson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Best of Merida”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant more times than I can count. Whenever we have a special occasion that we want to celebrate or we want a romantic dinner, this is our first choice. Its also great for dinner with friends, Sunday brunch or just a quiet lunch to get away from everything. The restaurant is beautiful... set inside the building that was originally the Casa de Maquinas (machine building) for the original hacienda. The ceilings soar and the architect has made the most of that, with attractive skylights and window shades two stories above you. The inside is air-conditioned; outside there is patio dining... you choose! Both are lovely. Usually we'll sit inside during the day and outside at night, but if the day is cool enough, outside is lovely during the day as well. And the food... the food is regularly and consistently outstanding! Haven't had a bad meal there ever. They do both traditional Yucatecan food and other food equally well. The cochinita in Xcatic chiles is a great appetizer. Desserts are to die for, drinks are generous and well made. Can't complain about anything!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YucatanLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Luxury”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

While visiting the Palacio de Gobierno, we met a couple from Arizona who told us about Hacienda Xcanatún; so we asked our taxi driver to stop there on the way to Progreso from Mérida. He was a delightful young man, a bit nervous about eating in such a luxurious place; so we just had salads and a soft drink. It was far too early in the day for a big meal anyway. The staff were very gracious and welcoming and the meal delicious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leona62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing