We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Angel
Ranked #32 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

WOW! My husband and I traveled to Merida for the first time and arrived on Christmas evening. I had been corresponding via e-mail with Roberto, and he came out to the taxi to welcome us to Casa San Angel. The courtyard that greets you upon your entrance was beautiful, and we instantly fell in love with it! We were shown to our room, #201, and were delighted with what we saw, including the hammock, which we put to use every day to relax and read. Roberto quickly became a dear "friend", and he was one of the wonderful people we met that made our stay so wonderful! If you have any questions, need a tour scheduled, or whatever, he is the man that will make sure things are taken care of! Miss him!


After a good night's sleep, we went down to their restaurant - that quickly became our "spot" for breakfast every morning, and also a couple of dinners. The food was excellent! And the wait staff, particularly Felipe, were just as nice as could be. They have a wonderful coffee machine, and every cup of coffee that we had was prepared individually - and the sweet breads that they had (made at a bakery attached to the hotel) were super! I believe their bakery uses organic flour, too!

The location of the hotel is excellent - we walked everywhere!! The center of old town was a 10 minute walk, and if you walked in the opposite direction you were instantly on Avenida Montejo, a beautiful avenue with magnificent homes and museums. We felt safe walking during the day and night, which was terrific! It was always wonderful to come back "home", which is truly what Casa San Angel became to us.

There is so much to see and do in Merida - wonderful parks (many with evening activities such as music and dance), excellent restaurants (we loved "Amaro"), fun markets, excellent shopping, (especially for regional clothing), great museums, churches and theaters!

One very special spot is right in Casa San Angel - their wonderful, high-end gift shop! And the most special part for us was meeting Virgilio, one of the people that worked in the shop. He, too, became a "friend" of ours that we hope to see again some day!

There is a small "park" in front of the hotel, and on Friday night's they close the street down to traffic, and it converts into a fun place to listened to local talent, see local dancing, and visit the stands set up by vendors. The music does go on until 12:00 I believe, so be prepared for the noise! We had the staff at the restaurant save a table for us outside, right by the stage, and we ate dinner there and watched the show!

We would go back to Casa San Angel in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: Because the hotel is on a street with traffic (on one side), there can be noise. We were in 201, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 232 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great place, so beautiful.......We stayed here for 2 nights, such wonderful decoration and lovely clean and high quality rooms. Good location between old and newer parts of Merida. The service was excellent and their own cafe where you can get breakfast has a very long list of breakfast options I had never heard of...Divorced Eggs anyone? Listen and watch out for the 2 parrots and 2 cats! Great place to stay in Merida.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Casa San Angel for 4 nights during our trip to Merida. The building has colonial charm, but with modern conveniences due to the recent extensive renovations. Our room was beautiful, with stone lighting and fixtures, lovely tiles, fine workworking and a large tub - opening out to a plant-filled courtyard. This hotel has paid attention to every detail to make it your home away from home.

We lost a backpack on a day trip to a village, and when we returned, Roberto at the desk wasted no time in finding the tourism director of the village to help with the search.

Our trip ended with the resident kitty coming out to say goodbye.

I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler to Merida.

Room Tip: Walkability to the markets, restaurants, and museums is very good from this hotel. The room with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selina_Gasolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This small but elegant hotel is right in the midst of downtown Merida - close to shops, restaurants, museums and galleries. Only a short walk to the old historic center. Rooms are clean and neat. Helpful staff with lots of local knowledge and suggestions. Has its own car park too. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TudorCityMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Casa San Angel. The entire Hotel was immaculate. The owner is there all the time. Great breakfast ! Enjoyed 2 singers in the morning during breakfast. You are only a few blocks from Centro which can be noisy. Located at the beginning of Montejo which is a great location. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is truly beautiful inside, very tranquil, rooms are lovely and clean, beds very comfortable. Owned by a Persian lady, which explains the Iranian restaurant inside. Have never met better hotel staff - Roberto in particular. We had lots of questions about the area and how to take a trip to Uxmal and he spent hours helping us and arranged early morning coffees as we left before breakfast. Within walking distance of a few restaurants and coffee shops, including the highly recommended La Chaya Maya. We were there during the 'day of the dead' which was awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissFussyOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place was awesome. from the very clean rooms to the outstanding service from all its staff we highly recomend this hotel. a pleasure to stay. Perfect location. in between the downtown center and at the begining of the Paseo de Montejo. Very quite and safe location.

Room Tip: The whole area is pretty quite so all the rooms looked like great choices to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 105 in Merida
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 105 in Merida
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 105 in Merida
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#28 of 105 in Merida
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Angel

Address: Montejo #1 x 49 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#20 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $86 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Angel is an intimate, independent, family-owned small boutique hotel. With an excellent location in the heart of Merida at the beginning of the Paseo de Montejo, it is the perfect base for your travels in the Yucatan. With a personalized service, modern comforts in a beautiful setting and direct attention from the owners, you will always feel at home in our house of angels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Angel Merida
Casa San Angel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing