We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centro without the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Angel
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Centro without the noise”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Casa San Angel. The entire Hotel was immaculate. The owner is there all the time. Great breakfast ! Enjoyed 2 singers in the morning during breakfast. You are only a few blocks from Centro which can be noisy. Located at the beginning of Montejo which is a great location. Highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    34
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
125
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is truly beautiful inside, very tranquil, rooms are lovely and clean, beds very comfortable. Owned by a Persian lady, which explains the Iranian restaurant inside. Have never met better hotel staff - Roberto in particular. We had lots of questions about the area and how to take a trip to Uxmal and he spent hours helping us and arranged early morning coffees as we left before breakfast. Within walking distance of a few restaurants and coffee shops, including the highly recommended La Chaya Maya. We were there during the 'day of the dead' which was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissFussyOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place was awesome. from the very clean rooms to the outstanding service from all its staff we highly recomend this hotel. a pleasure to stay. Perfect location. in between the downtown center and at the begining of the Paseo de Montejo. Very quite and safe location.

Room Tip: The whole area is pretty quite so all the rooms looked like great choices to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakusp, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for only one night November 2 as the house we rented in Merida was noisy due to adjacent renovations. We wanted to stay our last two nights but we we unable to get a room due to full occupancy. Our room was nicely furnished and very clean. It even had a hammock for relaxing.The bed was super comfortable thus affording us an excellent sleep. The hotel restaurant served outstanding meals which were reasonably priced. All the baking is done in house. Homa, the lovely owner is always present, circulating and chatting with the hotel guests. Her staff is outstanding from the desk clerks to the waiters in the restaurant. Kudos to Roberto on the front desk who spoke excellent English and he also was very helpful when we posed questions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandB3866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Very nicely renovated with a charming central courtyard. Rooms are quite variable, so ask for one with windows on street rather than on interior. Easy walk to Zocalo or along Paseo Montejo. Restaurant is worth a meal and there is a small shop with beautiful craft items.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CaFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I enjoyed Casa San Angel. The rooms are nicely kitted out with an eclectic mix of Mexican furniture and fixtures. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained with good water pressure in the bathroom (not that common in some of the colonial towns in Mexico!).

The location is great - you can walk to the main town square in about 13 minutes. The staff and manager were welcoming and helpful with the organisation of tours and local information and the restaurants food was totally fine.

So all in all a great stay. I loved the pet parrots that live near the reception desk. You can be mistaken for thinking there is a baby someplace but it's actually the birds! Only minor annoyance was the patchy wifi signal in my room.

Definitely a sound, value for money hotel in Merida.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel / home... gives you a feeling of stepping back in time. The days of the henequen wealth. Great service and lots of antiques. Very comfortable rooms and even a hammock in the room. Great location, right at the start of stately Paseo de Montejo. Nicce on site property and cool stores selling beautiful items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#20 of 103 in Merida
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Angel

Property: Hotel Casa San Angel
Address: Montejo #1 x 49 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#14 Family Hotel in Merida
#20 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Angel is an intimate, independent, family-owned small boutique hotel. With an excellent location in the heart of Merida at the beginning of the Paseo de Montejo, it is the perfect base for your travels in the Yucatan. With a personalized service, modern comforts in a beautiful setting and direct attention from the owners, you will always feel at home in our house of angels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Angel Merida
Casa San Angel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing