We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A taste of old Merida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa San Angel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Angel
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A taste of old Merida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel / home... gives you a feeling of stepping back in time. The days of the henequen wealth. Great service and lots of antiques. Very comfortable rooms and even a hammock in the room. Great location, right at the start of stately Paseo de Montejo. Nicce on site property and cool stores selling beautiful items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    28
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
110
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just stepping into the central patio of this architectural jewel located in the very start of the Elysean-like Paseo de Montejo, is an invitation to travel in time. The owners have respected the atmosphere of the 19th Century glamour and every room is unique in ammenities and decor. We stayed in a second floor suite with a balcony overlooking the Remate park, where on saturday night´s trouvadors stroll by ready to offer a serenata to any couple in love. The romantic trio music is soothing and melodious, filling the archways of the large main patio of this beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranciscoW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
326 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

All the reviews were accurate! This is a wonderful hotel centrally located in Merida. Outstanding service rendered by Roberts and his team. The small restaurant serves very good food along with professional service. Beautifullyddecorated and very comfortable. An elevator is being installed to make access to upper floor even easier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playadelcarmen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was Location Location Location!! We were centered between the Centro Plaza and the famous Paseo de Montejo. They provide parking and we never had to use our vehicle until the last day when we drove out to the Gran Museo del Mundo Mayan. The restaurant was also excellent. Especially the coffee. We thought the menu was a little small but everything we ordered was absolutely wonderful!! I cant wait to return. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful when we arrived. The gift shop is also a must see. A wonderful selection of items from different parts of Mexico with high quality material. The seating area of the lobby was peaceful and beautiful and the rooms were very clean. My favorite was the hammock hanging inside the room. I slept all night and felt very rested in the morning! This was an extra sleeping accommodation. There were also the two beds in our double room. I cant tell you how comfortable the beds are because I only slept in the hammock, but my room mate said she slept well too. I look forward to returning soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galeria5ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Casa San Angel for 2 weeks while in Merida on business. My colleague and I were both very happy with our rooms, the service, the restaurant, and the hotel staff. The rooms were comfortable and so relaxing. Bathroom is spacious and the walkin shower was wonderful.

The food at the restaurant was great--I loved the lemonade, chicken salad, and cucumber soup. Breakfast is the best around.

We really enjoyed the parrots and the cats were pretty cool too.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXDeb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just got back from another great breakfast. The staff, the food and the service are the best in town. Treat yourself to a great breakfast and head to Casa San Angel, The huevos Motulenios, they are the best in town...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meridahombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hotel Casa San Angel was fabulous from the moment we walked in the door. From the open courtyard, and the two adorable housecats, to the great King sized bed, it was a delightful experience.The hammock in the room was a nice touch as well! The entire staff did everything to make our time comfortable and memorable, with a special shoutout out to Roberto, who was a gem in helping us with our car issues through his great translating. Air conditioner and fans worked perfectly and were greatly appreciated in the 100+ degree weather. If you're looking for the perfect Yucatan experience in your hotel, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalexan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#24 of 98 in Merida
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 98 in Merida
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 98 in Merida
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#19 of 98 in Merida
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Angel

Property: Hotel Casa San Angel
Address: Montejo #1 x 49 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#14 Family Hotel in Merida
#19 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Angel is an intimate, independent, family-owned small boutique hotel. With an excellent location in the heart of Merida at the beginning of the Paseo de Montejo, it is the perfect base for your travels in the Yucatan. With a personalized service, modern comforts in a beautiful setting and direct attention from the owners, you will always feel at home in our house of angels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Casa San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Angel Merida
Casa San Angel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing