We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Angel
Ranked #32 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

After 8 days at this charming spot we are sorry to be leaving. It is truly a gem, a first class experience at a very reasonable price. The open courtyard entryway is lovely, with its fountain and gardens, comfortable couches and convenient tables. The rooms are on the upper floor and overlook the courtyard, with more tables and couches and places to gather, chat, read and nap. Everything is spotless and perfectly tended by the warm, friendly staff. The people at the desk, Juan and Sara, helped us in every way. The elegant and gracious owner is on hand, accessible and attentive and ready to advise and assist. The food in the restaurant is great, and appears to be a destination among Merida diners, not just the hotel clientele. The shops are the best in Merida, with quality one-of-a kind items at reasonable prices. After long days at the Mayan historical sites, at the beaches, or just walking around town sightseeing and shopping, coming back to Casa San Angel was like coming home. The location is perfect--a manageable walk if you are heading downtown, but also the entryway to the beautiful Paseo Montejo, Merida's tree-lined boulevard of historic mansions and monuments, hotels and restaurants. We truly could not be more pleased.

Room Tip: We booked a standard which was more than adequate for the two of us--quiet, comfortable, beautifull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alishec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 232 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

All the wonderful things people have said in earlier reviews - the location, the comfort, the beauty, the two cats, the staff, etc. - are true, and then some! We picked this hotel because of some reviews in tripadvisor, but only after we carefully compared the hotel, its price, location, etc. with several others identified on this website, on other sites, and in our favorite travel books.

My partner and I are not novices in international travel. But we never expected to be so pleasantly surprised by what we ended up experiencing at Hotel Casa San Angel. Perhaps the most fascinating quality of this lovely casa is the lady who owns and runs it and all the heart she has put into creating it.

At our arrival, I was just commenting on the beautiful courtyard and the fundamentally colonial, yet unique way the place was decorated. The reception desk manager smiled and pointed toward a rather tall, slender, and elegant lady who was busy placing a house plant in a beautiful hand-painted vase and said: " That is the owner; this is all her work. Her name is Homa."

I was actually more surprised by the affectionate way he talked about her than anything else. I whispered to my partner, "this guy really likes his boss!" I quickly walked up to Homa and congratulated her on the beauty of the courtyard and the location of the hotel. She flashed a coy, but regal smile and warmly greeted me and my partner. Then we were showed to our beautiful, immaculate room, which had been cooled down for us.

Homa knows the magic of absolute delight and hospitality! What she does cannot be copied through a business formula. We managed to have breakfast with her one day. We asked her and she told us her life story. We learned how she has put the fruites of her fascinating life journey into this place. With no background in hospitality, she had purchased and transformed the ruins of two abandoned buildings into this lovely hotel, in the heart of the most historically significant part of Merida. She kept stressing that she did all this with the loving encouragement and support of her adult daughter and son. She lives on the premises and carefully oversees every detail. All of the delicious confectionaries baked in the restaurant are Homa's own recipes. No wonder why her restaurant has become a favorite gathering spot for many of the local families!

Mexico has always rewarded us with well-priced luxuries that are not easily affordable elsewhere. But our 5-day trip to Merida stood way out, mainly because of our special experience in Hotel Casa San Angel. Our time here has been magical. I full-heartedly recommend this hotel, particularly to those discriminating travelers who are looking for a very special treat at a very reasonable price for a truly memorable time.

HH

Room Tip: We liked a front room on the top floor, because of the nice view out into the street. We had absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We just returned from 5 days in Merida staying at the Casa San Angel. We found the hotel excellant. It is located about 1 block from the Paseo Montejo and about 6 blocks from the Plaza Major, about a 15 minute walk. The hotel is in a quiet location. We had a large, spacious room on the ground floor that had a very high ceiling and was artfully decorated with tiles and other furnishings. It had a king size bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and shower was great. The room had air conditioning and a fan that was also nice. The front dest staff spoke English and were very helpful. We would stay here again.
Doug

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We arrived on a Saturday night and stayed for two nights, and then returned for 3 more after some travel outlying area. Nice secure free parking about a block from the hotel. We enjoyed the music on Saturday night and as promised it was over by 11:30 pm. Problem the first night with a leaky toilet, but we were moved to a different room in minutes. One morning the hot water failed, but restored in 30 minutes. Staff was very gracious and welcoming. The gift shops are two of the best in the city. The hotel is centrally located. Easy walking distance to the center and an easy walk to museums and restaurants on Paseo de Montejo.

Room Tip: If your sensitive to noise and are there on a Saturday night, ask for a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Very nice atmosphere and well decorated, clean rooms. Location of the hotel is perfect, between passeo montejo and the historic center. Prices are excluding breakfast, very tasty cappuchino!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjakie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were met by a gracious team who delivered us to our luxurious room and,moments later, served a refreshing jamaica punch. Staff is very courteous and food excellent. We missed early morning coffee since the restaurant is not open until 7:00 a.m. but, otherwise, all very pleasant!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusiQ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

A wonderful place to stay and I would strongly recommend it to anyone visting the city.The rooms were beautifully furnished with some clever design touches,very clean and tidy. The public areas were wonderfully relaxing and you could easily find yourself sharing a sofia with one of the two resident cats and admiring the lush foliage of the courtyard garden.

The staff were great from the minute we arrived (a little rattled from the difficult drive round the city centre),spoke excellent English and always showed an interest in where we were going, chipping in helpful suggestions that would add to our exploring.The simple menu in the restaurant was excellent,served some interesting Mexican beers and the service very good.

The shops have a great selection of quality Mexican handicrafts - perhaps not the cheapest, but well worth a browse.

Close to the city centre and the very elegant Paseo de Montejo, this stay was far removed from your average hotel - more like visiting wealthy friends with a posh town house !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearair52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 105 in Merida
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 105 in Merida
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#28 of 105 in Merida
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Angel

Address: Montejo #1 x 49 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#20 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $86 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Angel is an intimate, independent, family-owned small boutique hotel. With an excellent location in the heart of Merida at the beginning of the Paseo de Montejo, it is the perfect base for your travels in the Yucatan. With a personalized service, modern comforts in a beautiful setting and direct attention from the owners, you will always feel at home in our house of angels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Angel Merida
Casa San Angel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing