We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun atmosphere and good eats too.”
Review of Pancho's

Pancho's
Ranked #36 of 759 Restaurants in Merida
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uno de los mas antiguos y queridos restaurantes en el centro histórico de la ciudad de Mérida, a solo dos cuadras de la plaza principal o plaza grande.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and good eats too.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Get a table at the back near the bar if you like action. Quieter tables are available closer to the front door. Nice way to spend an evening, lively people watching and decent food and service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 10PerfectDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    204
    73
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Fun Place”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Poncho's is definitely a tourist place, but there is nothing wrong with that. It has good food, good service, very nice bartenders, a great location near the main park (the zocalo) and a very pleasant atmosphere. We spend our winters in Merida and while we like to eat where the locals do we also enjoy a restaurant where we can meet others from assorted places. Poncho's has a nice eating area inside and a covered bar as well, but it also has a lovely outdoors, under the stars, eating area and bar. The Mayan coffee is delicious and is also a fun experience. Everyone should try it at least once.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Having Supper at Pancho´s”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

When I have visitors I always like to take them to this restaurant because it is unique. I like to go in the evenings cause part of it is outdoors and all the trees have lights around and they look so pretty. You can choose a separate place if you want to be alone. It can be a romantic place if you want.
The food is great!!!
From the outside it doesn´t look big, but when you go in, you´ll be surprised!
The waiters are dressed like mexicans, with big sombreros. The atmosphere is great.
It is a very nice place. I highly recomend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kikirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food and fun”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A bunch of us went in for a late dinner our first night in Merida. The waiter and the atmosphere were fun, and the food was very good - featuring local specialties, standard fare and large drinks from the well-stocked bar.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank erklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The food is very good, and they have a table side flaming coffee display that is as good a performance as any theatrical display. Also the happy hour is a two for one that seems to last for hours and hours!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's also viewed

 
 

Been to Pancho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing