We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish Fish Fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pigua

La Pigua
Ranked #13 of 718 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fish Fish Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Yes I believe this is the best place in Merida for seafood. After a long day touring a number of art studios this was our reward. We all (5 of us) had a separate item on the menu and we were all very happy with our meal. I had chosen the blue crab claw (stone crab) and was really happy. Would return again soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    124
    30
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you love seafood, you can't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

My fiancé and I went here four times during our week-long stay in Merida. Need I say more?! My aunt and uncle recommended this place, and I'm so glad they did, because we easily could have missed it. It was a good 20 minute walk from our hotel (Hotel Julamis), but very close to Fiesta Americana and hotels in that area.

This restaurant is not very popular in the evenings, and we don't quite know why! However, we hear that there's a line out the door for lunch during the week. When we went, we were practically the only ones in there. That could explain the fantastic service we received. The waiters were very helpful and sweet. On our first night there, they recommended something that wasn't on the menu--pulpo a la brasa. It. Was. So. Good. We also had the camarones al mojo de ajo (garlic shrimp) and that was to die for. We weren't huge fans of the fish in eggplant sauce we had, but that was the only thing we had that we didn't like. Another off-menu item we loved was the fish ceviche.

In short, this is the best food we had in Merida, and some of the best seafood we've ever had--EVER! It's a little pricey for Mexican standards, but again, it's well worth it. Our dinners were around $100 USD plus tip. But we did eat more than we probably should have!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Once again went to La Pigua while in Merida. The original place is in Campeche and seafood is their speciality. Always love to have some good "tostadas de jaiba" (crab tostadas), "camarones al coco" (shrimps with coconut) and "pulpo a las brasas" o "en su tinta" (octopus) as entrees. A "filete relleno" (stuffed fish) plus a wide array of desserts, completes a fantastic dinner. Very good service as you normally get in Mexico and in Merida.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank betomch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seafood lovers' delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had tried to go to La Pigua once earlier, but they close early on some days (early in the week, as I recall), so check their hours schedule - some nights they close at 6pm and others at 10pm. The menu is extensive and creative with almost every kind of seafood prepared virtually any way anyone would like it. I split the seafood salad with a friend, and it was excellent and mildly spicy and loaded with fresh marinated shellfish. The main I had was grouper stuffed with blue crab with a Yucateca mild pepper sauce and it was extremely well prepared and presented. Everything was super fresh and delicious. The wait staff were attentive, friendly, engaging. and unobtrusive. The entire experience was a delight and I will make it a regular place to visit. It is a bit more expensive than the average Merida restaurant, but the quality and service are well worth it. Highly recommended for seafood lovers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breezy seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was one of the better meals I had in Mérida. It was a little hard for us to find La Pigua, but once we did, it was refreshing to walk into the cool blue, breezy atmosphere of the dining room. This is a pretty large restaurant, but it was fairly quiet when we went for lunch.

Our waiter was very professional and attentive, but he spoke no English (why should he; we're in Mexico!). Thankfully, I speak enough Spanish that I was able to manage the menu. We had the blue crab tostadas at his recommendation, and they were tasty, with well-balanced flavors. Then I had one of the specials, a fillet with huitlacoche. It was delicious, perfectly cooked, and flavorful, but enormous. My boyfriend says his fried fillet was just fine, nothing special, so I think you are best off going with the server's suggestions or the chef's specials here.

For dessert, we had the coconut cake. It was SO GOOD. It was moist, light, and fluffy, and the filling was studded with chunks of fresh coconut. I wish I had the recipe, so I could make it and eat it right now.

One thing to improve on--the "espresso" I had with dessert did not really seem to be a proper espresso--it was far too watery. But that was a minor quibble, because I was too busy devouring more than my share of the coconut cake to care.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smallfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pigua also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to La Pigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing