We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Botanas”
Review of Eladio's Bar

Eladio's Bar
Ranked #77 of 754 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Botanas”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

So eladios has many locations in Merida and one in Progreso to eat. Here is Mexico places like Eladios are called botaneros where with every drink you purchase you get snacks. Of all the botaneros in Merida and the beach this is the best, we try and make it a point when in Progreso to meet with friends and family here as we can have a few drinks and enjoy the ocean. Also at the beach location they have live music every day. The staff is great and most of them speak broken english which is enough to get a beer and snacks.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mexoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    41
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best choice in Progreso on the Malecon - Consistently Fresh & High Quality”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Eladio's is a chain that is locally owned and operated by Yucateco's. There are several in Merida and they are worth a visit for beer, finger food and tacos which are brought to your table free when you order a round.

If you want the best, most consistent, high quality seafood on the Malecon in Progreso, Eladio's is where you'll find it!

The ceviche mixto has nice big shrimp, chunks of caracol blanco (conch), pulpo (octopus), onion, cilantro and white fish served in a tangy, limey, peppery sauce and crunchy fresh corn chips and crackers. Add virgen olive oil that is usually on the table!

My favorite dish is the filet of Boquinete served Ajillo style. Boquinete is a wonderful white fish with a good texture and great flavor (it's called hogfish in English). The Ajillo chili is smokey with just a tiny little bite - delicious! Squeeze on the fresh lime and dig in! Usually served with rice, sauteed veggies that are crisp and cooked perfectly, tortillas and a little dish of chopped habenero's to really heat it up! If they are already sold out of Boquinete, order the Mero - also an excellent white fish, caught locally.

Ramon had the stuffed filet and it was fabulous! Lucy had the Sopa de Lima and it was also excellent! The kid (DJ) ate a little bit of everything and enjoyed the playground and other kids.

We had also ordered a few beers and michelada's (beer served with lime juicy, worcestershire sauce, etc., over ice in a salt rimmed glass). Warning - michelada'a are addicting and perfect medication for a hangover.

The free plates of food that came and kept coming with the beverages were: 3-types of ceviche, refried beans, tacos de relleno negro, pollo de escabeche, Papadzules, pollo en mole, pickled beets, pickled white potatoes, fresh jicama and tangerines.

We could have easily been satiated with the free plates of food but we'd already ordered and glad we did!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miguelsmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's loud, but the experience is a tourist must!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This chain of restaurants offers 'botana gratis'-- free snack food. Of course, with the purchase of your beverage, and the drink of choice is beer. If you order just one round of drinks, the free snacks are minimal, but if you order a couple more rounds--you get tacos and all sorts of local yucatecan snacks to try. Its probably a good idea to plan a taxi ride home!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ModernYucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good Service - excellent view if you request a drink they give a snack free

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap and great botanas!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We ate at Eladios and loved it. We went in the afternoon and with each round of beer or wine you get botanas (regional food appetizers). We visited two locations the one in Colonia Itzimna (about two to three blocks from the Presidente Hotel, Hyatt, and Fiesta Americana) and the one in Progreso, this one has exceptionally good seafood botanas (great fresh seafood menu). The botanas are served between 11-4 pm according to the waiter for each order of drinks they bring a round of appetizers (4-6 small plates); we were in a small group of 5 and by the time we left our table had been cleared off a couple of times. We had from kibis, turkey, chicken, papazul, tamales, and a variety of regional dishes. You do not order from the menu because by the time you finish tasting all the dishes you are too stuffed to order anything. The Eladios in Progreso is on the waterfront so the breeze gets pretty strong and you may want to select an inside table with a view of the Gulf. Both restaurants were clean, good listening music, great atmosphere and cheap..so make sure you tip the waiter well because they make their living from our tips.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Romtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eladio's Bar also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Eladio's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing