We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb surroundings, good food”
Review of Alberto's Continental - CLOSED

Alberto's Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Superb surroundings, good food”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Once the shining star of Merida's gastronomy, Alberto's Continental is these days visited by people who enjoy beautiful surroundings and good Lebanese food. The menu is vast, most of the food good, but the hummus is home-made and really delicious, the babaganash great, the cabbage rolls very nice, the Lebanese flatbread fresh, and most evenings there is gentle music piped throughout the patio. Open evenings only from 6pm and closed on Sundays, the owner, now 80, is a font of information about Merida, the people who once lived there and those who still do, the history of the Lebanese community in the Yucatan, and anything else you want to ask about. He tells a fascinating story and will keep you company if you go alone. If you go as a couple, he will be discreet and leave you to gaze into each other's eyes in one of the most beautiful old house courtyards in Merida.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Motovun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Anyone who doesn't eat here is crazy!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the prettyest places in Merida. The food was over the top great and the price was reasonable for everything that you get. The owner, Alberto, was entertaining and could have talked forever if we would let him. I had the Yucatan combination dinner. The soup was a fresh cream soup and the appetizer was a fresh cerviche. Vegatables were all frsh and there was a fish filet that was spiced perfectly. Dessert was a slice of coconut pie and a Turkish coffee later was perfect. Oh, don't forget the perfect margaritas. My wife had the Lebanese combination dinner and she could barely walk out. I peronally can't wait to back again. His will be the go to place for guests!

Helpful?
Thank fcotlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
320 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Incredible setting”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

beautiful courtyeard setting, interesting and different menu and nice quality service and enjoyable chat with Alberto almost always at the restaurnat to be sure things go well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kwdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance and Food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went to Alberto's Continental for a very special occasion. The restaurant was recommended by the Merida Tourist Bureau as one of the best in town. It was!!! They specialize and serve Lebanese Food as there was a Lebanese influence in the Yucatan Peninsula during the the time when Sisal was being processed to make and sell sisal products. We sat in the garden area all by ourselves, were delighted by some very different great Lebanese food we had never tasted before. To say the least everything was to perfection. The restaurant is located a couple of blocks north from the Main Plaza. A little on the pricey side, but well worth it, if you want something a little different from the norm.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marito326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, mediocre food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I don't know about this place. It looks wonderful. It feels wonderful. I have been there twice and the food has been expensive and underwhelming. I suppose it is resting in its laurels of being the popular place to go to in the 60's but not anymore. Both times we were there in the middle of the dinner hour we were the only ones. They love to use the micro wave to heat up the pita bread (wrong!) and their food, as I said was mediocre at best AND expensive. May I recommend you check it out by having a beer and an appetizer (ask them to put your pita in the oven, not in the micro onda!) and enjoy the decor. Then take yourself for dinner to another restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardSchillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Continental also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing