We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time! We will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Mujeres Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are Palace members and visited Isla Palace January 2012 for a day trip and decided to spend the week there this January! We had a GREAT TIME! Since there are only about 70 rooms there, you have ample opportunities to get to know other guests (if you want). We met some great folks from Scotland, Norway and North Carolina! Snorkled two days and went diving with Mundaca Divers (Carlos Vasquez is the BEST and his side kick Lung rocked)----great variety of coral, fish, eels, and even a Ray and TWO TORTUGAS!!!! The Hotel Staff is very accommodating, good food, and drink. Take time to visit Garrafon a quick taxi ride from the hotel, but easily walkable in 20 minutes, swing into "The Joint" for great guac, beers and wonderful fish! Rent a golf cart for a day and cruise the Island.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JLoparella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff at this resort are amazing. They love their jobs and it shows. Whether you tip or not you get the same excellent service. But, please tip...they so deserve it. If you want to lay by the fabulous pool, or on the beach, eat when you want, 5 star dinners, on the beach, sleep when you want, go to the spa (the massages out side are amazing), relax and read, drink anything you want (try the banana monkeys - to die for), or enjoy the security of going anywhere on the island and be totally safe, by taxi or scooter or golf cart, or do any and all the activities the hotel provides (snorkeling - best in the world, swim with the dolphins etc.) Then, you have to go here! It is a 60 room hotel, totally for being spoiled. If you are high maintenance and need to be busy all the time or demand a night life then try one of the other Palace resorts.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, there is pool views, ocean views and front of the resort views. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FuXian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Another GREAT vacation at the Palace Resort...we returned 2 weeks ago from our 4th trip (in 2 years). Love this place!!!
First is a huge THANK YOU to Mario, who happened to be at the pier at Pto. Juarez when our ferry arrived late and we missed our connection to the airport. He took care of the situation. Muchísimas gracias, Mario. The praise of the staff doesn't stop with Mario. He is truly representative of the service and attention that the entire staff give you at the resort.
We love our time in Isla Mujeres at the Palace because we don't have to go anywhere or do anything. We're not big into night life and lots of action, so this laid back atmosphere is perfect for us. It is total relaxation!!!!
Back to the staff (which is a very large part of why we continue to return to the Palace)...WOW!!! We begin with Daniel, who manages this great resort, and then want to acknowledge Mario. (No Way) José. Daniel, Bernardino,Lourdes, Dalia, Rosa, José Luis,, Wilma, Edy, Jesús, Dario, Enrique, Antonio (el mejor guardavidas en el mundo), Leo, y Karen. We did see Ulises, Mahway, Cristián, and Juan briefly. I´m sure that I left a few names out, but know that they are all top notch. I didn't get the names of the chefs, but they were very accommodating and more than willing to prepare whatever we wanted.
it was fun to run in to a couple that we met at the resort last Christmas and then we met couples from Finland and Minneapolis. We also ran in to a small group of people, to watch the Bengals' game, that live right up the street from us - that was quite a surprise!
The staff and location make this a wonderful vacation spot!!! We're hoping to return in the Spring!
Please check this place out - it's great!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OhioCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a small and quiet resort a taxi ride away from the 'main' town. A wonderful place for rest and relaxation in a quality hotel. For boating excursions, the dock in front allows for boats to pick you up directly from the hotel. It has a lovely white sand beach, great view, but too shallow for swimming.
Isle Mujeres is a safe, clean island and it's residents seem very happy and proud to share their community. It's an easy, enjoyable and short ferry ride from Cancun.

Room Tip: Request or reserve a beach or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MSMHBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

You can't go wrong with this choice and I have zero negative to say about it. Beautiful resort, great food and staff! My two suggestions, (1)rent a golf cart and explore the island, it is a must! (2)the only night that got loud from a nearby club was Saturday night and it wasn't too bad, just FYI.

Room Tip: Upgrade to concierge!!! Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were looking for a small, charming beach hotel with nice grounds, nice beach and a nice pool to spend 10 days over the holidays. We expected good food, preferably local, and decent service at a fair price. My wife found “Isla Mujeres Palace” and booked it. After reading the rave reviews in “Trip advisor” of the “Isla Mujeres Palace” I was a little suspicious on their accuracy. The last 10 years we spent 10 days over the holidays in similar “all inclusive” hotels and spent between $500 and $1000 per night. In all these years we never had a full 4 star experience. There was always something amiss, a pool too small, flooded rooms, little choice in food, poor beach etc etc. What we found at “Isla Mujeres Palace” was, as feared, no 4 star but a 3 star property in a 2 star area.
-After Booking: I sent two e-mails to the hotel to find out if there was an organized transfer from Cancun airport to the hotel or how to proceed. I received no answer. Then I called the USA 800 number and after 58 Minutes on hold I finally received the answer I needed. For the amount I paid per night at the hotel I would have expected to be picked up at the port in Isla Mujeres or even, at extra costs, transferred from the port in Cancun to the hotel directly. Deserves 0 stars.
-The arrival at the hotel is about as unspectacular as possible. The road from the entrance gate to the arrival hall was once painted white and is now dirty grey-white, not very inviting. At the entrance of hotel building on the left is the industrial looking loading dock of the hotel and on the right the blank wall of the back of a utility building, about as inviting as the entrance to a factory. Hardly any flowers and greenery are visible. Aren’t we in the tropics? Deserves 1 star.
-The arrival hall, huge, airport style, with a dinky little reception counter doesn’t make much sense. It is also where the elevator is located, a 100 yards away from where most rooms are located, at the other end of the building. I wonder in general of what the architect was thinking when he laid out the building. Rooms 10-14 (on both floors!) are overlooking the loading docks at the entrance. Rooms 15-17 gives a canyon view of walls and the pool, not very desirable. Rooms 21-31 are backrooms overlooking a pond, some greenery and some utility part of the hotel. If the rate is low enough, these rooms are not too bad. Deserves 2 stars.
-The rooms are nice. Not too much drawers and closet space and no sitting area, since the Jacuzzi takes up much space. Good mattresses and pillows. Deserves 4 stars.
-On each balcony are 2 very bright wall lamps that can’t be turned off by the guests. In other words, one has to endure bothering bright light in the room unless one blocks the view with the curtains. Deserves 1 star.
-The fitness room is well equipped and maintained. Deserves 4 stars.
-The great sandy beach area is well-maintained. Beautiful palms and umbrellas provide shade. Deserves 4 stars.
-The 50 yards beach of the 100-yard ocean front is hardly usable. Uneven, very irregular, shallow sea ground, overgrown with seaweed. It may be just good enough for snorkeling. Deserves 1 star.
-On the left and on the right of the hotel area are some noisy entertainment areas for day-trippers visiting from Cancún; Hundreds of visitors arriving day and night by motor vessel or crowded sailboats with music blaring. Deserves 0 stars.
-Great palms shade the hotel grounds, but where are the flowers? There are no colors except green and no reminder of the lushness of the tropics. Deserves 2 stars.
-The pool is fairly big, well maintained but not exactly laid out for swimming; on the narrowest point is a pool bar and steps to enter the pool, cutting the swimming area in half! Deserves 3 stars.
-Breakfast and dinner are served in one restaurant, lunch is available in two restaurants. There was ample food at all meals, but the choice was always limited, American food at the pool bar (2slice Pastrami sandwich!), cafeteria type food for lunch at the other restaurant and a little fancier food for dinner. The highlight of the week was the “chefs dinner”, really a notch above the usual food. The let down were the “Romantic dinner” we had at the beach. This dinner is listed at US$300 for two but worth not more than $100. The food for this dinner was ok, the service spotty and they run out of the wine we were drinking. Deserves 3 stars.
-The service in general was very efficient and friendly. The entire staff was always very helpful. Deserves 4 stars.
-What I expect from a “4” star property: Refilling the refrigerator without having to call, availability of golf cart rentals at the hotel instead of downtown, not having to ask nightly for real coffee (instead of decaf!) for the drip-coffee machine, real espresso at the restaurant, having extended spa services (not just massages), a little more entertainment and, at least once in a while, the promised newspapers.
For the amount I paid per night at the “Isla Mujeres Palace” hotel I simply expected better and more. The price-value relationship is not very good. By paying half, for the same services, as some other guests did, it is understandable they considered the offerings of the hotel at a higher star rating. The “Palace” organization rewards their members and frequent guests with extra services and values, which is normal. Why is this reward system not hidden rather than making the first time visitors feel like second-class guests (plastic cups vs real glasses etc)?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank UbErich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPWGR, Gerente at Isla Mujeres Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear CafeDuPort.

Thank you very much for your comments and observations. We strive to provide you with the best possible service and facilities as expressed by so many in previous reviews and when you feel that we did not meet your expectations, it is important for us to know. There is always room for improvement, therefore we will take your feedback into consideration. We hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Respectfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the best resorts that we have stayed in! Booked the all exclusive package which literally includes everything! We booked the standard room, but when we checked in we were able to use our resort credits to upgrade to the concierge room to include the premium alcohol. The room was serviced every day with the minibar restocked daily. The giant spa bath in the middle of the room was excellent! We also sampled a couple of pillows from the pillow menu!

Room service is ok, however there were a couple of times were we ordered 2 of the same thing and they didn't understand and only brought us one of it but that wasn't a big issue because we could have just gone down stairs and got it ourselves - we were just being lazy.

We also used our resort credits to book a snorkel tour and a romantic dinner on the beach. The snorkel tour was good but they expect to be tipped afterwards so make sure you take some money with you. The romantic dinner was set for the beach but since it started raining they quickly cornered off a section of the restaurant for us to move there instead. The 3 course meal wasn't anything special compared to what was already available to order and eat in the restaurant.

There was a gym but we didn't use it on this trip.

We spent most of the time in the pool which was great and there is a swim up pool bar which we loved and used hourly! There were plenty of pool lounges and hammocks around the pool and on the beach so you never had to fight for one.

The staff were friendly and accommodating especially the activities director Leo. He tried hard to get people to participate and made sure everyone was having a great time. I highly recommend the tour of the turtle farm. We won a few bottles of tequila which we found a little weird because we already had unlimited access to tequila in our room. So we didn't open these bottles and brought them back to Australia. The bar staff were also excellent they were willing to mix up any cocktail we requested, so if its not on their menu don't be afraid to explain to them what it is and they will make it.

The location of the resort isn't close to the ferry terminal (a 10 min taxi ride) but it didn't bother us at all because it was secluded and we only left the resort once to try a restaurant back in the main part of town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LeanneB_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.3 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
3.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,445 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
465 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Izla Hotel
Izla Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Mujeres Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Mujeres Palace

Address: Carretera Garrafon Vista Alegre Mz 63 | Lte 1, Smz 007, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $404 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Mujeres Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better location for this small haven than at a small island once a sanctuary to Ixchel, the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine? Isla Mujeres (Island of Women) with its scenic views, tranquil beaches, marine parks, and sculptured cliffs, is nature at its best. Small and luxurious, this all-inclusive couples only resort is sure to guarantee a private and relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isla Mujeres Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Isla Mujeres
Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing