We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JULY 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia

Olivia
Ranked #6 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“JULY 2013”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This still one favorite places for dinner. We usually start the night next door at BoBo's for cocktails to wait for our 8:30 reservation . Make sure you make a reservation when you go here! Great date night place, a bottle of their house wine and here we go. We went here three times this trip. We like the pizza (not on the menu) as a great starter. Also the Focaccia bread w/onions & olives is another great starter! Our favorite entrees are the Moussaka served with fresh chunks of tomato and onion. Pastilla, phyllo layers with beef, onion, tomatoes, feta, zaafran, also served with fresh tomato and onion. The spanakopita is also wonderful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    240
    68
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had dinner with friends and the entire experience was great. Food was good as was the service, but the open aired tree canopy is what makes the restaurant very enjoyable. Our waiter Umberto was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylandDarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ambiance that can't be beat and fabulous food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Four of us enjoyed the wonderful garden of eating at Olivia. I say garden because you feel like you are actually in a garden. The trees around you help keep it cool and quiet, which is different than most other el centro restaurants. What is also different is the the Mediterranean food, which is indeed fabulous. After tasting four dishes, the moussaka was voted the best followed by the chicken with olives. We thought that the beef kabobs were not so tender and lacking in flavor. The service was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced, mediocre food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We tried this place because it had good reviews, but I was a bit disappointed. When we tried to order our meals, we were told on two separate occasions "Sorry we don't have that." OK fine, so we ordered on the recommendation of the owner. It seems she thinks the food tastes better than it actually does because she charged way more than other restaurants. It was an awkward experience. I wouldn't go back

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Olgie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaMujeresLilo, Owner at Olivia, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
hello!
this is the first time i feel that i need to answer a review.
i am sorry for your bad experience at Olivia.

i assure you that we hardly ever miss anything on the menu,
ant we try to keep a high level of professionalism.

we make sure everything on the menu is made freshly everyday and i rather not have a dish that have finished during the evening than serve not fresh food.

a situation like that would happen only towards the end of the night,
we start every day with a full menu ready to be served!

i am sorry you were upset about the value of your dinner.
we make everything from scratch with the absolutely best ingredients mexico can offer,
my chefs are working very to make sure everything is made to perfection
with no short cuts.

i hope you will come back and let us fix your experience.
but than again Olivia is not for everyone

thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
381 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“PERFECTO!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

And three meals in 8 days to prove it! (Not that I needed that). At the risk of repeating myself; Olivia remains at the very top of my list for ALL the "ingredients" I've come to expect:

Stunning atmosphere (ambiance)
Great service (friendly)
Very reasonably priced (especially considering the quality of everything served here)
Attentive, thoughtful (and, yes, attractive) owners
An outstanding chef (Cesar) and his trusted right-hand man (Fato)

and last but not least

DELICIOUS FOOD!

Any questions?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivia also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing