We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine class - beautiful surroundings”
Review of Olivia

Olivia
Ranked #6 of 202 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine class - beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Olivia is a must to visit if you want to share a lovely evening together or with friends. Try the garden area as this is atmospheric and a lovely ambience. The menu and wines are excellent - we opted for moussaka and it was deliciously light and the best tasting moussaka we have eaten! The wine, although a little on the expensive side, was also lovely, complimenting the lovely food. A special restaurant for a special evening. We saved this venue for our last night and it was most fitting. No hustle and bustle of the restaurants around - just quiet, atmospheric and a very very good alternative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    245
    69
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Got my Moroccan Fish Fix!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've loved this restaurant since they opened. The Moroccan Fish is one of my favorite meals on the island. Friends had a reservation for dinner, and luckily they were able to add one more person so I could join them.

The ambiance is fantastic at Oliva. I enjoy dinners away from the hustle and bustle of Hidalgo. They play quiet music, there is lots of vegetation, and the lighting is dim. You can talk with your tablemates without yelling, and enjoy dinner without getting a headache from hearing so many competing sounds like on the main pedestrian dinner drag.

The food is always good. I have a hard time passing up the tapas, but if I order them, I never have room for my main course. If you go with a group do not pass up the tapas! Both Greek and Mediterranean are wonderful. My dinner mates had Moussaka and Spanakopita and both really liked their meals too. All of us had trouble finishing because the portions are huge. When my husband goes with me, he loves the Mixed Plate which is a plate of one chicken skewer (Shisklik) and one ground beef skewer (Kafta). The sides that come with each meal are great too and range from hummus to tahini, carrot salad and more. The Moroccan Fish is a wonderful blend of flavors with lime and a Moroccan red sauce over fish with couscous and potatoes and chickpeas, served with a side of carrot salad. YUMMY!

We had wonderful service, from being greeted promptly on arrival and good wait staff. Now that I've had my Moroccan Fish fix again, I'm reminded of just how good it is and I need to go back again sooner!

Tip - this is a VERY busy restaurant and you really do need reservations - even on a Monday night. They have two seatings, 6:30 and 8:30.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn_in_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chadds ford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unusual for the island”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely evening here and the food is delicious. It is a Medeteranian type restuarant and the flavors were lovely. A very cute restuarant especially if you reserve a seat in the garden.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillbo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Olivia's appealed to me before I'd even been in there, the decor looked lovely, the menu sounded interesting and my friend who can be hard to pleased had thoroughly enjoyed her previous meal there. So we booked a table, I really wasn't too sure what to have as they had loads of lovely sounding dishes on the menu which subsequently made it a tricky one. I decided on the famous Greek dish - moussaka which was the best moussaka I've had, perfectly seasoned and just the right amount which was served with some tomatoes an onions along side. my friend had a veggie dish which had feta and spinach in it. The service was really good, we were looked after by a blonde lady who I think might have been the owner/manager? I would have loved to try the chocolate mousse for dessert but was full up. If I'm ever back on Isla I will be returning .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seriously the BEST food on the island!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Olivia's is owned by a lovely Israeli couple and has two dinner services a night. One at 6:30 and one at 8:30. They only take reservations, and both nights we ate there we booked in advance and were able to get a table, and they were literally turning people away left and right if they didn't have a reservation. The food is unreal, clean and delicious. We had the Shephard's Salad both times with a Shishlik (grilled chicken) on top. For dessert we had the homemade cherry ice cream...YUM! Can't wait to go back and eat:-)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laloo831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivia also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing