We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diving with Carey Dive”
Review of Carey Dive Center

Carey Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carey Dive Center PADI Dive Resort #23814 is one of the most well-established and experienced dive shops on the island. We specialize in PADI diving courses, families, groups and private trips. We not only offer diving, but also snorkeling, fishing, whale shark tours and cenote excursions. Gilberto Pat Hoil is the PADI scuba dive instructor and owner at Carey Dive Center. He has been awarded by PADI for 20 years of outstanding service. He is one of the most experienced scuba dive instructors in Isla Mujeres.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Peculiar, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Diving with Carey Dive”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came back to Isla Mujeres and used Carey Dive for our dive trip in August of 2013. We have used them for several years. Always had fun! Gilberto and the guys are great. We have been there enough times they seem like old friends. The dives are varied between shallow dives on the Cancun side, great for begineers, lots of fish, and deeper dives on the north and the east side, nice bottom structure. No current to speak of, except at Punta Sur, it makes a great drift dive! Wrecks dives are availabe, several different type of wrecks and differnt depths. The night dives are great, lots of turtles, octopus and eels. We enjoy the dives and the people. People are what makes it special! We keep coming back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mhillpecmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyMoPink, Public Relations Manager at Carey Dive Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks for your review! We are really glad you had another enjoyable trip to Isla Mujeres and fun with Carey Dive Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    13
    4
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much fun and a great team”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

After spending sometime in Cancun for a certification (Advanced Open Water or Open Water II) last June (see another review I posted on the subject), I headed to the small island of Isla Mujeres just across.

I must confess, it was not my 1st time diving with Carey Dive Center. I had discovered this shop and his very cool team on previous trips, just did not have the opportunity to review before.

Nevertheless, it was great to see them again and made some very fun dives. One of several things to consider about them : the personalized and friendly service, which is amongst what most divers look for. At Carey's, Gilberto (the owner) makes sure that his clients enjoy their adventure and that everything is taken care of. It's a smaller shop compared to some big ones in Cancun or Cozumel, but there are 2 other guides Rodolfo and "Beto", which are also competent and friendly. So you have far better chances to be able to go out every day, wheather permitting of course...They know the area very well and can bring you to some exciting dive sites. Night dive was lots of fun too, it's a different experience that I recommend to the qualified fellow divers out there.

Gilberto and team are very attentive, passionate about their sport and safety minded, all for your best comfort and enjoyment. They don't just "take you out for the good of their business" (Know what I mean ?). Much much fun to dive with them. For those not certified, the whale shark snorkeling tour is really worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyMoPink, Public Relations Manager at Carey Dive Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for your review! It's good to hear you had a great experience with Carey Dive Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Gilberto and gang rocks!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were refered to Carey Dive Center by our diving friends who used their services with great satisfaction couple years ago. I have recently converted to side mount diving setup and was a bit sceptical about how accommodating local shops on the island might be. I was really pleasantly surprised. It might sound cliche, but our wishes became their command! Gilberto upgraded four of his tanks with new valves just to accommodate my rig. His crew was very helpful on the boat, as getting on and off with two tanks might be challenging, especially on rocking seas.

My wife is not a diver, not even very good snorkler, and accompanied us on couple trips. Ramon, a boat captain for the trip, took her into the water and pretty much held her hand while she could try snorkeling. These guys work hard to make sure everybody involved has fun. Thanks again Gilberto, Ramon, Alberto, Rudolfo and last, but not least Antonio for all your help to make our trip very enjoyable.

Anyway, I highly recommend this shops for all your diving needs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank robulko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyMoPink, Public Relations Manager at Carey Dive Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us some great feedback! Really glad you had a good time with Carey Dive Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Staff PADI Open Water Certification”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I wanted to become PADI certified since long time ago. We picked Cancun as travel destination for our recent anniversary vacation just to visit one of the new Seven Wonders of the World (Chichen-Itza). We weren't planning to experience scuba diving for this trip; but we then changed our minds and flipped our trip plans at last minute. 2-3 days prior our departure to Cancun, we did some research and found out about Carey Dive Center through trip advisor and decided to contact them.
Gilberto immediately responded to our queries with detailed info. He didn't hesitate to accommodate his schedule so we could complete the full open water certification without conflicting with our trip itinerary. Gilberto is very knowledgeable, highly competent and very considerate; he emphasizes strongly on safety making us feel very comfortable and safe all the time during our confined and open water dives.
If you are looking for safe and fun diving experience or PADI open water certification school, I highly recommend you go to Isla Mujeres and visit Gilberto and his great staff (Antonio, Ramon and the boat capt whose name I don't remember). They will ensure you have an unforgettable, wonderful experience. We are planning to go back soon for another diving adventure with Gilberto!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor-Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyMoPink, Public Relations Manager at Carey Dive Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are really pleased you had a good time diving with Carey Dive Center. We try to make sure all our divers have a great time while in Isla Mujeres. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Carey Dive Center is excellent!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband, two kids and I went on a whale shark tour with Carey dive center and had a great time. My husband did a lot of research contacting several dive center's on Isla Mujeres and Gilberto, the owner, was prompt in his responses and really knowledgeable so we decided to go with Carey! We rented a private tour for the four of us and we were so glad we did! On the first day, we went out to where the whale sharks were with Captain Alberto and First Mate Rodolpho. Because of the government regulations regarding the whale sharks, we found them to be extremely respectful of the whale sharks, while giving us the best experience in the water and most amount of time with them. Rodolpho was excellent as a guide, positioning us in the water to be able to get great pictures and get the full experience! In addition to seeing 20-30 whale sharks we also saw even more manta rays! Because we had a private boat, we were able to maximize our water time and were able to stay as long as we wanted. After, they took us to a beautiful place for snorkeling and made fresh ceviche on the boat, which we ate after snorkeling - delicious!! The next day, my husband and kids went out with Gilberto (the owner) so the kids could finish their open water scuba certification. My husband, who is certified, said Gilberto gave the kids all his attention and went through all the steps with them slowly so they could finish their certifications! Then, they went on a second dive through a beautiful reef with tunnels and lots of coral (I saw pictures)! Highly recommend Carey Dive Center when you are Isla Mujeres!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyMoPink, Public Relations Manager at Carey Dive Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted you had such a good time with Carey Dive Center and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Isla Mujeres!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carey Dive Center also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Carey Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing