We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second timers!”
Review of Casa Flamboyan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Flamboyan
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second time to Isla Mujeres and second time staying at Casa Flamboyan. Our first visit was just so perfect that we returned again, and it was just as wonderful as we remembered. We actually spent more time at Casa Flamboyan this time. it is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy the sunrises and sunsets, soak up some sun and lay in a hammock and read a book. There are so many spaces to enjoy at different times of the day from the roof top, great for some yoga in the morning, nap in the afternoon and star gazing in the evening, the back porch for eating breakfast and watching the sunset, the porch off the bedroom for watching the sunrise and reading in the afternoon, and the pool for sun, a dip to cool off or just hang over the edge of the infinity pool watching the ocean. The bedroom was clean, neat, good lighting and a comfortable bed for a peaceful nights rest. We did get to snorkel with the whale sharks this year, which was amazing! A truly memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Casa Flamboyan is the only place I have ever returned for a holiday. In 2011, I stayed a week. This year, I stayed two.
It was everything I needed. Quiet, close, comfortable and complete.
With a rented bike and a blender, a large collection of decent reading material and hammocks everywhere, I refreshed myself completely - the very purpose of vacations.
Well done Lowes and Lupe!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celeste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

From the second I saw the ocean, I was in love. The ferry took us straight to the island. The crystal blue of the water is mind blowing. The island is a little slice of humble pie. The people are kind and helpful. The house is amazing. From the rooftop swings to the infinity pool. I couldn't have asked for a better place. Plenty of room to spread out. Being able to watch the sun set from the roof was a one of a kind experience. Everything was clean and really made me feel like I was at my own home on the island. Im not sure how many hours i spent on the back porch watching the waves hit the beach. Such a perfect view of your very own beach for shell hunting. We rented a golf cart for the week we were there. That's the way to go! We drove around the entire island at our own pace and went a quite a few mini adventures to little coves and private beaches. I can't wait to go back!!! The Lowe's really know how one should spend their vacation time.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlette217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I needed to get a little vacay in and I REALLY wanted to do a Mexican trip. She didn't care where we went, as long as there was a beach. Somehow, I have no idea how, we lucked put and stumbled upon this place, Casa Flamboyan! This place was mind blowing.

For starters, the view behind this place is absolutely breathtaking. It is hands down one of the best views on the island. Sunsets are great. It's just fantastic. The second we walked in, saw the view, we knew immediately that we made the right choice.

Next best thing about this spot is the locale... It's very close to the north end, touristy thing, if that's what you're into. You can walk right up to it all. Personally I like staying out of the touristy zone, and fortunately I could walk just as far south and be right in the middle of authentic Mexico, tacos al pastor till 2 in the morning, and stumble home safely! It's so close to WHATEVER you want to do!

The place was so clean, and so well put together, anything you need, it's all right there. And the house keeper, lupe, was very helpful.

All in all, this place is fantastic. We absolutely loved it! This is where we are coming every year, and Casa Flamboyan is where we will be staying!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikelasage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Every holiday should have a sunrise. And a sunset. Isle Mujeres has both! And Casa Flamboyan makes the most of them. If lying in bed watching the sun rise is your idea of heaven, this laid back and spacious location, where you fall asleep to the sound of the waves is your idea of a perfect, relaxed holiday, CF is a great option. With loads of outdoor areas to relax in your hammock in the sun or shade, it's an easy place to spend time simply gazing out at the sea. We hadn't been to Mexico and were unsure about logistics and practicalities of where to go but Harriet, the owner instantly made us right at ease with loads of local knowledge and sound advice. The house is a 10 mins walk from local restaurants where you can have the freshest seafood with your toes buried in the sand sipping ice cold beer. Again, loads of really useful information from Harriet on where to go. All in all a lovely, laid back and relaxing experience with great outdoor and indoor space and a quiet but convenient location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiiledout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We just returned from a 10 day vacation to Isla Mujeres. We have visited the island many times, staying at an upscale boutique hotel several times and a bed and breakfast. We have had great luck with homes we have found on VRBO and thought we'd give it a try on IM. Having traveled here before we knew exactly where Casa Flamboyan is located. I am a road noise freak and was a little concerned about the road being right in front, but also know the island and realized that there are many, many places on that road. Yes, it's on the road, but really, not a problem at all! We would have our breakfast on the front "shared" porch watching the Mexican Navy go through their morning paces...actually very entertaining. We would then settle in on the back deck to do a little reading, watch the waves and relax. Noon time is cerveca time on vaca...walk into town, take a swim, talk with some others on the beach then lunch of yummy ceviche or grilled fish. Walk home, siesta time, wake up and watch the sunset...tough life! Off to dinner in town. We love the restaurants along the beach near the ferry crossing. They are all good, casual and fresh. We also like Ballyhoo (behind the gas station) and El Patio on Hidalgo. We went to Olivia's because that seemed to be what everyone does...it was good, but really, it did not live up to the reviews in our opinion. The best thing was that it had french wine in a real wine glass :-)

Casa FLamboyan itself is nicely laid out. We had most of our breakfasts there with the exception of going to Cafe Mango, and yes the coconut french toast is awesome. It has everything you would need in the kitchen, although we cooked very little and ate all dinners out. It was nice having a full size fridge for making ice etc. Bottled water is supplied, a really nice touch and so handy. Lupe came to clean twice and was around the house most days if we needed anything. The view from your private deck is awesome and the apt. is laid out so that you can see the water from every room. We stayed in Real and loved the open shower! But a word of warning...if you are a very private person this would not be for you. The bed was a little hard for us, but nice sheets. Towels are changed every 3 days (bath and beach) and that was great. It is very damp since you are so close to the water so things get a little sticky. The price you pay for being so close to the ocean, and well worth it!

We did not spend much time with Harriett and Richard, but they were welcoming and very nice.

Enjoy your stay at Casa Flamboyan. We loved it and we have stayed near North beach and mid-island and this location is great. ( we walked to and from town because we liked it, but taxis are easy to get if you want one) Have fun and stay here!

Room Tip: We loved Real. It's a little bigger and has a little bigger private deck, but really, they are b...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank SusieQ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just returned home from ten days at Casa Flamboyan. We have been to Isla many times over the years and knew that this was the area that we wanted to be. It is a comfortable walk into town or to the colonia - and we love to visit both! We stayed in Azul and could not have been more comfortable. The studio is outfitted with everything that you will need during your stay and it is clear that great love and attention went into the construction and decorating of this home. It is bright, cheerful, and fitted with a fantastic shower, comfortable bed and pillows, wonderful working AC (that you probably won't need if you leave the door open the the ocean breeze), a very functional kitchen, and lots of great outdoor sitting - from your own private deck to the shared ones at the front and up on the rooftop. Lots of hammocks too which is a must for me! The house is situated so that you can see both the sunrise and the sunset which is amazing! You will find a book in each apartment that outlines beautifully things to see and do, restaurants, and other useful tips. Harriet and Richard were wonderful hosts and we were pleased to spend some time with them during our stay. If you are looking for the perfect place to rest and relax then Isla and Casa Flamboyan are for you!

Room Tip: If you would like to enjoy the pool - it is nice and sunny in the morning and shady in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildegeNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Flamboyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Flamboyan

Address: Carreterra Aeropuerto por el mar Caribe | Lote 11, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $105 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spectacular, colorful, oceanfront suites take complete advantage of their perfect location; from every vantage point in each suite you can see the Bay of Mujeres, sunsets with sailboats anchored and Cancun in the distance, and the Caribbean Ocean sunrises with incredible shades of turquoise, green, and blue. Real and Azul at Casa Flamboyan are two suites on the second story of a stunning, contemporary Mexican retreat. Casa Flamboyan is within easy walking distance of the downtown shops and restaurants, the ferry pier, and North Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing