We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isla Mujeres' special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
WY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Isla Mujeres' special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

This B&B fits in with Mexican art and ambience. A bit like walking into a Mexican painting. Filled with surprises (like a first floor courtyard garden with soaking pool, the roof deck has a bar, deck chairs, another soaking pool and a splendid view) this peaceful place is also lots of fun. The rooms are modern and well ventilated with ceiling fans and AC. If you have any physical limitations you'd want to request a second floor (rather than 3rd floor) room. Breakfasts are prepared by a chef who serves good AND beautiful food. Steven, the host, is available for information about Isle Mujeres, Cancun, and local attractions. He also is a good host at the evening roof bar.
I would return to Casa Sirena again whenever in that area.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Marj1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
520
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

The reviews are true... Casa Sirena is a beautiful B&B with a warm and hospitable owner. No detail went unnoticed, the food, the happy hour, and the gorgeous house were all better than expected. Steve, and his staff, worked hard to make everyone at the house comfortable and happy. He had great recommendations for the island and the day trip and was happy to offer helpful advice when choosing a destination for the day or for dinner. The happy hours were a highlight each day. We had a great time chatting with Steve and other guests over some of the best margaritas I've ever had. Casa Sirena is a must visit, we can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The beautiful and comfortable accomidations
  • Disliked — No complaints, it was perfect.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank triptaker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2007

Our stay at Casa Sirena for our wedding on Isla Mujeres this past May was exceptional. We have been on the island three/four times in the past five years and have stayed at various places - from private home rentals to luxury hotels. A stroll one evening after dinner on our February trip to the island looking for a place to host our wedding, we stumbled across this new B&B. Unfortunately the door was locked and we were unable to check out the place but we managed to jot down the web address posted on the entrance. Boy, what a gem we found! Upon our return to NYC, we typed in sirena.com.mx and immediately without hesitation we found the house we would call home for a week.

We contacted the most gracious host and owner, Steve, via e-mail and explained our intentions in renting out the entire house for our wedding party. Not only was Steve quick to respond and easy to work with, he even blocked off the rooms for us until all our guests confirmed their travel dates. We reserved a week stay in May. The online reservation process was also very simple with all the availabilities listed clearly - you're set with a couple of clicks, a response to an e-mail confirmation and a deposit through paypal! Cancellations and balance payments were also stated clearly. We waited patiently for four months until finally the week arrived!

We arrived on the island via the UltraMar ferry and the house is only a short walk from the ferry dock. Steve greeted us promptly upon our arrival and showed us to our room, sat us down and walked through what we needed to know in the room and also on the island. We found the cell phone he provided in each room very helpful since we had so many guests on the island. The rooms were extremely clean and exactly what's shown online. The decor is exquisite. We really like how all the rooms are different with it's unique charm. Housekeeping came daily and created cute animal display using towels and were placed on the bed. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour were so much fun for us and just a great meeting place for us to connect with everyone.

Steve arranged a buffet style traditional mexican dinner for our families the night before our wedding since it was the first time they were all meeting and it was lovely. There were flowers and candles all over the dining area. The food was amazing, especially the fish the chef prepared. Of course, the margaritas were the best! It gets better...the day after our wedding we had a complimentary dual massage on the rooftop with clear blue sky and seagulls flying around. Needless to say, we felt like we were in heaven! We loved the place so much that we extended our week stay for another three days!!!

All in all we were very fortunate to have found this little place and we can't be more thankful for the way Steve and his staff showed their hospitality. Thanks Casa Sirena for making our special day extra memorable!

-A & G

  • Liked — Location, Friendly staff, Great value, Fun
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

After almost thirty years of promoting Britain to Americans, I know a thing or two about B & Bs and Casa Sirena rates in my personal Top Ten. Steve, the owner, makes all his guests feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, the breakfasts are gourmet. I loved all the little "extras" such as hand made soaps, unlimited Internet access, the fact that it is located steps away from the beach, restaurants and shops yet in a tranquil spot. However, for me, the piece de resistance was the daily Happy Hour up on the roof, sipping margaritas by the pool, watching the sun set over the ocean. Truly, a little slice of heaven.

  • Liked — The bedroom was decorated as I would decorate my own
  • Disliked — Had to go on the balconly to smoke
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

Just back from Isla Mujeres where my daughter and I spent 5 nights at Casa Sirena. Upon arriving, Steve helped carry our bags to our room and a quick tour of the hotel was had - from the downstairs patio to the rooftop. We were provided two maps (downtown and the overall island) with recommendations for restaurants, beaches, cart rental, clubs / spas ... Steve was a wealth of information throughout our stay. The hotel itself was clean and secure. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Each day a fantastic breakfast was served. And each night, the hotel guests met for a Happy Hour on the rooftop to watch the sun set, review the days events and talk/listen to a variety of conversation. The hotel is located at the south of downtown on the quiet end of the area's main drag (Hidalgo). A 5 to 10 minute walk to the ferry, restaurants, shops and beaches. Nothing real fancy. Everything pretty laid back.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Nizwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

The magnificence of this bed and breakfast lies in the hospitality and wonderful accomodations. The minute me and my partner arrived, we were greated by smiles and a great breakfast. The hotel was reminiscent of an old spanish villa. It was wonderful for me as many great memories of my childhood living in Central America resurfaced.

We were incredibly blessed to have spent our honeymoon in Casa Sirena and are already having thoughts of going back on our one year anniversary.

P.S. For those who are looking for clean, secure, confortable accomodations in Isla Mujeres, this is the place for you!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank mikitocosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRo70
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

My wife and I chose Casa Sirena based on the glowing recommendations on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed. It's a tremendous B&B, not only because of its lovely island setting and fine food and facilities but also because its owner is such a great guy. The hotel was refashioned from an old house. The rooms are tastefully decorated and include air conditioning, beds are comfy and bathrooms are clean. Filtered water is available outside each door. Breakfasts are tremendous. And Steve, the owner, holds a fun happy hour every evening on the rooftop deck; guests get several drinks free. Steve pays close attention to detail, replacing towels regularly, for example, because they get scratchy. He's great to talk to, and a font of good information and what to do and see. Casa Sirena is located by the main tourist district, near an excellent Mexican restaurant and a short walk from the beach. We highly recommend Casa Sirena.

  • Liked — The hospitality of the owner and the staff
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JRo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing