We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most incredible margueritas ever!”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2007

I've never stayed anywhere else where there is such attention to detail. all the rooms are beautiful and as there are only 8 or so rooms in the hotel there's a real intimate feeling. complimentary cocktails are provided on the roof during happy hour and this soon became the favourite part of all of our day!

the breakfasts were also amazing

Steve, the hotel owner is brilliant, welcoming and has thought of everything, from towels to take to the beach, free drinking water, bathrobes in the bathroom, free internet access, maps of the local area etc. etc.

can't recommend this hotel enough. absolutely great

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank babysjBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 876 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2007

Isla Mujeres has it's character, it is set apart from the rest of the Yucatan not only geographically, but as an experience. Among its unique charms is Casa Sirena.

Casa Sirena is a beautifully renovated house, now a B&B, in the heart of the north portion of the Island. This means you are on the main square and have a miniscule walk to the best beaches.

Proprietor Steve Broin is a rare soul. At once attentive and detail oriented, he was also relaxed. He greeted my partner and I upon arrival and very clearly gave us a quick orientation. This was just the beginning as over the course of our week long stay Steve often gave us advice on where to go, what to see, and how to do it. He also told us pitfalls to avoid.

The house is beautiful. I would call it a renovation, but from what I heard from the locals and regulars we met on the beach the house was practically rebuilt. Our room (and we we got to see several others, all as nice) featured traditional Mexican tiled floors, modern bathrooms with great water pressure, toiletries, and lovely towels and bedding.

Breakfast each morning included a fruit plate and was too much for me to eat, but was always good. The staff at Casa Sirena is clean and efficient and always smiling. We often heard them laughing as they carried out their duties.

No reviewer of Casa Sirena would be worth his salt if he didn't mention the nightly happy hours! Happy hour is held on the rooftop overlooking the North part of the Island. You will never forget sipping your drink, watching the birds glide along the coastal current, listening to the waves crash, and always watching the sunset over the lighthouse right on schedule. Not to mention meeting the other house guests and enjoying Steve's music and conversation.

Casa Sirena is the kind of carribean get away you always dream of when you get stressed out during the winter. It exceeded our expectations and it was a bargain for the comfort and service we received. I consider Steve a friend and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on the Island.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Topher_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We spent a wonderful honeymoon vacation at Casa Sirena, and loved every minute of it!

The island is laid back, dialed-down several notches from the touristy bustle of Cancun, but still provided excellent beaches, great restaurants, and plenty to see and do. We ventured off the island to see Chichen Itza and Isla Contoy, but you could easily just spend a week puttering around the island in a rented golf cart (or zipping around on a moped).

We also went to Chichen Itza. We did the bus tour thing, which I don't think I would recommend. The ruins were very impressive, but if we had it to do over again we would have rented a car for the day and avoided the crowds and hassles of the tour bus scene. And whatever you do, don't let the guys at the airport and the kiosks around Cancun and the island sell you a discounted tour (for Chichen Itza or any other area attraction) - they are just trying to lure you into a time-share pitch.

Finally, about Casa Sirena - it was wonderful! The evening cocktail hours were a highlight every day. The hotel owner, Steven, and his merry brand of locals, ex-pats, and other guests gather every evening at sunset to enjoy margaritas and goodies prepared by the resident chef, Jose. Advice on where to go and what to see is generously dispensed and the conversation is great.

Jose prepares a wonderful breakfast each morning except Sunday, with fres fruits and typical Mayan-style dishes. Jose also has a restaurant on the island, so make sure you ask Steven or Jose where it is and check it out -- it's fabulous and cheap!

The hotel itself is immaculate and very nice. The staff does a wonderful job of keeping everything nice and the air-conditioned rooms are a welcome escape when it's just a little too humid outside (which might be most of the time for most American tourists).

All in all, we can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mhiccup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We had a very nice stay at Casa Sirena. We enjoyed meeting and socializing with all the other guests as well Steve and Daniel. Daniel (Steve's friend and substitute host), had a lot of great suggestions for all the "to die for" places/restaurants on the island. Steve (the owner and host) was really warm and made us feel very much at home and we thank them both for making our trip truly memorable. It was also special in that we got to meet some truly, wondeful people. All the other reviews are accurate, read them for more details.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nansea101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We had a fabulous honeymoon and birthday stay at Casa Sirena. From the moment we arrived, Steve made us feel welcome and part of his extended family.

Every day Jose' started our morning with a wonderful new breakfast. Our air conditioned room was on the third floor with a great king size bed, ample closet and clothes space, tile floor, ceiling fan and balcony (which we enjoyed overlooking the ocean and distant Cancun). Every morning while we were at breakfast, our room was made up perfectly with very special flowers adorning our bed.

Both pools were used by us. When we came in from shopping, or a tour in our rented golf cart, or from a few hours on one of the fabulous beaches a short walk from the front door, or a lunch at Miguel's (our favorite restauant ), we went to the rooftop pool and cooled off in the late afternoon. Later in the early evening, the rooftop pool and bar area became the highlight of the day with Steve, his friends, and the interesting guests, enjoying each other's conversations while loving the best complimentary Margarita's we ever had!

Steve and Daniel went out of their way with their special warmth, humor, and kindess to make sure our 7 day stay was unforgetable. We are making arrangements to return to our new friends in Isla Mujeres in September. We hope Steve will have a room for us.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yorobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

The best place we stayed on our honeymoon was lovely Casa Sirena. Innkeeper Steve has made a modern, cozy, friendly oasis where we met laid-back and friendly travelers from around the world. The best part was nightly happy hours on the roof, complete with music, dancing, and delicious cocktails with rum from certain countries that are...um... not allowed in the U.S. Steve took us out to dinner our first night there, then showed off his mean salsero moves at the bar next door. He also set us up with a great snorkel tour with Captain Tony to Contoy Island, as well as romantic dinner on our last night. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AmieeandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Almost missed Casa Sirena as it was tucked away in B&Bs and not in hotels, which would have been a tragedy of immense proportions. A wonderful property, tucked away down a side street, furnished to a very high standard.

The real asset though, was the staff. From the moment we arrived and supped our first margharita on the lovely terrace, we couldn't have felt more at home. Happy hour was a nice opportunity to meet other guests. Breakfast was fantastic.

I could go on all day, but everything has been said in other reviews. The bottom line, stay here- look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JtotheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.4 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
770 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $164 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who believe that the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of a quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty vegan-based locally-sourced organic breakfast (egg, diary and meat options available). Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" evening cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing