We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GORGEOUS HOTEL ON A BEAUTIFUL ISLAND”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“A GORGEOUS HOTEL ON A BEAUTIFUL ISLAND”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My boyfriend and I just returned home to SF from a fabulous getaway at Casa Sirena on Isla Mujeres. We stayed 3 nights, and wish we could've spent the rest of our summer on that Mexican slice of paradise. Casa Sirena is a beautiful B&B, just blocks from the ferry and a picture perfect beach (Playa Norte). The rooms are beautifully designed, have wonderful furniture, comfortable beds, and air conditioning. This B&B is super relaxing and quiet on an island that is equally tranquil. Casa Sirena has an amazing rooftop deck with stunning 360 views of the island. Steve, the owner of the hotel holds a nightly happy hour on the rooftop deck - make sure you try his margarita, it's truly delectable! This B&B is truly unique, and has a super inviting, friendly, and social atmosphere. Steve was extremely helpful, always giving us restaurant, bar, and activity recommendations. Also, the snorkeling off Isla Mujeres was superb! We can't wait to go back!
PS: Casa Sirena has the best breakfast ever! Menu changes daily with a delicious 'of the day' meal accompanied by an amazing fruit plate, fresh juice and coffee!
PPS: If you like coconut shrimp, make sure you go to Brisas!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariyWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
529
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Austin, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I planned my wedding on Isla Mujeres (which if you haven't been to you will love love love). We rented out Casa Serena for myself, my fiance, and 8 other friends. Every room was clean, staff was friendly as could be, and I can't say enough about my crush on the owner Steve. He was so extremely accomodating and threw me the most wonderful reception. He decorates his house wonderfully, its nice but not soo nice that you are afraid to touch anything - There were different centerpieces put on the main foyer table every day - the house is oozing with character, including art from all around Mexico. I was so relaxed every day and Steve even took lunch with us all at the Soggy Peso (awesome ribs on Sundays- and were all from Texas so the standard is high!) and directed us to different island resources. My husband and I even forgot our passports and he finangled through 6 other very friendly ppl on the island to get them to us to Cancun (where we stayed on the last night of our trip). We stayed at the JW Marriott on our last night and I must say that as nice as it was we wish we had been at Casa Serena - The WIFI works great- he has a computer for everyone to use downstairs, the breakfasts are large and very yummy, and while the pools are smaller they are the perfect size for a couple or two.
Any bride considering a place for a reception for 20-30 ppl should definetly consider this spot. The food was amaazzzing! Best shrimp I've ever had - Steve also went the extra mile to decorate his house in a way that was special and coordinated with the theme of our ceremony which we had at La Mirada. I would also like to take this moment to give a shout out to Katie with Sunhorse Weddings- She is on top of things and can totally play out your vision. Steve even saved our wedding with a DJ as ours cancelled last minute- If you put your trip in Steve's and his concierge's Jose's hands then you will really be able to enjoy your vacation, worry free, the way it should be.
AND one last thing- Steve does this amazing thing where every day he has cold towels that smell so nice and are the most refreshing thing ever - the little details make it awesome at Serena.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choniebradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The six days we spent at Casa Sirena in Isla Murjeres was nothing short of Pure Paradise! It was absolutely the most relaxing vacation we have ever had and exactly what I needed. The owner's design expertise and attention to every detail is definitely evident in every square inch of this magnificent property. He has successfully transformed this intimate 6 room mexican colonial hacienda with all the modern conveniences without loosing the old world charm of the original structure. From the exquisite mexican tile floors in the lobby and throughout rooms 1, 2 & 3 to the completely updated bathrooms adjoining each room. Oh, yes and who could forget the 3rd floor open air bar, and two sided deck with that incredible 360 degree view of the turqoise carribean. This is where you will want to be every evening at 6:45 for Happy Hour to enjoy a few of your favorite cocktail's or perhaps a pitcher of Steve's famous Margarita's. However, the best part is the great company and conversation. Last, but certainly not least is the 4th floor roof where in the cool of the early evening you can relax in a hammock and enjoy the splendor of the sky transforming into brilliant pinks, purples and blues as the sun disappears into sea. You are in walking distance, on cobblestone streets no less, to the quaint city square, great restaurants, shopping and the beach. If all the above is not enough, golf cart and moped rentals are available so that you can explore this beautiful island from one end to the other. Don't forget to try one of my favorite activities, the 1/2 day snorkeling excursion. You will absolutely feel like you are in an aquariam swimming with schools of vibrant yellow, blue, purple and green fish and enjoy a lunch of fabulous fresh grilled fish; and all for about twenty bucks!

Will definitely be back to Isla Mujueres and Casa Sirena.

Glinda Tagle

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glindakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We recently stayed for 3 nights on a 1 week trip to Isla Mujeres. Although I knew from the website it would be nice, it certainly exceeded expectations. Steve is a great host, and a special thanks goes to Jose who is AMAZING at helping you out with anything you need, especially the things you didn't expect to need! Casa Sirena is unique, especially in the downtown area, and blows away any of the other accommodations I am aware of in value and quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loosygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Going back to Isla Mujeres and staying at Casa Sirena was an easy decision to make. We enjoyed our first visit immensely and couldn't wait to return. We upgraded to a room with a balcony this time and it was so worth it! Once again, we made great friends at happy hour and breakfast. Steve did a great job of making us feel at home again.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RainEscapeSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We've recently returned from a week at Casa Sirena on Isla Muheres, and are happy to report that there is ample reason for it's being rated No. 1 on Trip Advisor. Although a relatively inexpensive Boutique Hotel, it has many of the amenities of a 5 star at a fraction of the cost. From the warm greeting at check in (complete with a fresh cool towel), to the comfortable robes in the beautifully appointed rooms (not the mold filled, poor plumbing, old furniture you often find at this price point), nothing has been left to chance. Breakfast each morning was UNBELIEVABLE. Not the usual "breakfast included" that you usually find (coffee, juice, stale pastry), but a daily changing gourmet breakfast. One day Bacon, Eggs, Pancakes, fresh fruit and juice, the next HUGE fresh fruit crepes. Arrangements for any activity you care to partake in are handled and ready for you at your door. But without a doubt, what puts Casa Sirena heads, hands and feet above any other hotel in it's price range or for that matter much, much higher prices, is owner/hotelier Steve. He (or his well trained, professional staff) are there for you at all times and have anticipated your every need. But at 6:30pm, when Steve hosts and entertains at "happy hour" you find yourself at Isla Muheres' best party. Effortlessly Steve creates an atmosphere in which you and all the guests become fast friends, and feel you are in a VIP Room, high atop the hotel's terrace over looking the Caribbean at sunset. Would we return and recommend Casa Sirena to others? Without a single doubt. Except maybe in some misguided attempt to keep this luxurious jewel your own secret getaway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We had a most memorable stay here! We have Steve, Robert and Jose to thank, as well as the wonderful staff that makes up Casa Sirena. We were three girls (Mom, Aunt and myself) that came to Isla Mujeres on a trip to celebrate a 65th birthday (Mom's), and we really hit the nail on the head with staying here. From the moment he opened the door to his gorgeous little place on Hidalgo, Steve made us feel most welcome: he brings new guests into the fold effortlessly. Shortly after checking in, we were introduced to everyone at the famous Casa Sirena rooftop happy hour, and we all were soon fast friends. Believe me, you won't wish to be anywhere else, because this place is it! The second night, Steve invited everyone at the hotel to have dinner together prepared by a local French chef, Lolo of Lololorena. It was a magical night sharing beautiful food with new friends in a sweet garden setting. As desserts were plated and served, a special one came out for my mom as everyone began to sing Happy Birthday to her. It was perfect. To top it off, Steve had a little gift for my mom too:) This was a trip we will always remember and my mom will always cherish. I couldn't have made it half this special without everyone at Casa Sirena. The breakfasts are wonderful....fresh fruit and juice and a special daily menu. Jose has all your needs sorted out; from renting a golf cart to hooking up a pedicure. I really can't wait to come back, next time I'm bringing my boyfriend!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drawon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing