We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in our around the world trip!”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A jewel in our around the world trip!”
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed in Casa Sirena in late July for 5 days and loved every minute of it! The owner Steve was just amazing in his urge to make his guests feel good. Although Isla Mujeres was pretty small and seen in few days we could have easily stayed longer just to breathe the warm atmosphere of Casa Sirena. Definitely one of the best (or even the best) stay in our around the world trip! We´ll be back some day!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Julio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
59
536
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conifer, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

Stayed at Casa Sirena from Oct 30 to Nov 4th. All said here is true. Were lucky enough to be guests at the Halloween party where we met many of the locals and local expats. This being our fifth time on the island, it goes down as one of the most fun. The happy hours were really a blast with delicious drinks and snacks and the food at breakfast was excellent. Steve had to leave on the 1st to go to the mainland and his friend Daniel took the helm and did a smashing job of it! He had us laughing and smiling the whole time. The concierge Jose, will take care of any questions for things to arrange on the island. You will not be disappointed! Steve was very accomodating when we requested a room with a balcony. They were all booked but he looked at the schedule and worked it out to let us stay in room 5 for two nights and then room 1 for the rest of our stay. Both rooms very lovely and clean, staff unobtrusive and right on task with everything. If you like being anonymous and aloof maybe this isnt the place for you, but if you want an experience and to meet other people who will quickly become friends, then this is the place. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — The whole experience, happy hour, the food and mostly the people.
  • Disliked — Nada
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tropictripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irving
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

The hotel & staff are perfect. Friendly and extremely helpful.

Steve has thought of everything and the attention to detail is amazing.(funnels for filling water bottles at the water cooler)

All of the other reviews are right on. Trying to think of any negatives and I can not.

Neighborhood seems a bit sketchy at first sight, but it is absolutely safe and any apprehension vanishes instantly.

Halloween Party was off the hook.

Enjoyed meeting Pirates,Hulkette, Cletus & wife, Lipton, Rave Girl,etc etc

A couple tips:

Stop at the fruit stand right next to the square each time you walk by and get a fruit popsicle (7 pesos) or some juice.

Eat lunch at Mininos (sp?) right on the water & watch the fisherman unload their fish

Pizza rock pizza is good and tastes better than it looks.

Go to the grocery store on the square if you need anything.


Thanks for happy hour and all the Halloween fun Steve and gang.

See you soon.

Chris Y Sharon Dallas,TX

Everythings mas grande in TX.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cjlmlml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Kudos to Steve and his staff.

Casa Sirena is adorable, cozy and impeccably clean. The atmosphere that Steve creates is both relaxed and welcoming.

The first night we went out for dinner with Steve and all of the other guests of Casa Sirena. When we all came back, the staff had left a special dessert waiting for all of us....

The complimentary happy hour on the lovely roof deck (views are included....) is a lot of fun.

Attention to detail and great attitude make Casa Sirena a must., especially if you like to socialize and make new friends.

Steve is a great host and provides excellent recommendations both for island activities and for dining.

Can't wait to return!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We were here last year and we simply couldn't stay away. No where else could compare!!!

We celebrated my 50th birthday, my wife's and my 25th anniversary and my Father's 80th. It was a blast!

There is simply no better place to be on the island. Steve has thought of everything to make our stay pleasurable! Everyone from the youngest to the oldest felt like their needs were met and then some.

Steve is genius in his ability to create a hospitable place where anyone will feel at ease and a part. The food, the drink, the warmth of the social happy hour all mix into the perfect vacation.

Do not hesitate, book your room now. You can't get any better then this.

Thanks again to Steve, his staff and his wonderful friends for making our stay more then we could have imagined.

We heard the rumors that Steve actually thought he could make his place even better. The news is that his newest renovations made what was already the best, exceptional. Way to go Steve!

  • Liked — Impeccable service, warmth of the staff / friends and the feeling of belonging.
  • Disliked — The same as last time... although we were here for two weeks, it was too short.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1WebWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2008

First of all, I want to say hello to Marisa and Oliver (the review posted below) :) I hope you two enjoyed the rest of your trip and "dinenr in Tahiti!" :)

We stayed at Casa Sirena early this month, and having never been to Isla before, Casa Sirena was the perfect way to experience the island. It felt like home, and a nice retreat at the end of each day. After coming back to the hotel each night we were greeted by Steve, Daniel and or Jose, among other friends of Casa Sirena! It truly felt like a little family and it was so nice to get to know some "locals" as well as other guests from around the world (like Marisa and Oliver).

Having never stayed in a bed and breakfast before, I will say that it is totally different than a normal hotel experience and may not be for everyone. But if you like good people, quite and relaxing rooms, delicious food, and a feeling that this place is your place, then Casa Sirena is for you. And by the way, all the other reviews about food and happy hour etc. are all true! :)

Brian and Elise

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianandElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I came to Trip Advisor to select a place to stay in Mexico, and I am soooo glad we did! My interest was piqued reading about the funny animal shapes they make with the towels, about the legendary happy hour parties on the roof, and about how hospitable the owner (Steve) is...and all I can say is our expectations were totally met, and then some!

Considering Steve has only been in the 'innkeeper' business (as he calls it) for less than 2 years, it's impressive to see what a pleasure this place is. It's as if he has done it in a past life, or is just a born natural. All the little details that most hotels wouldn't even think of are pre-empted ahead of time. It was SO easy to find his place - he sends maps and directions way ahead of time, which always makes for a good first impression!

The next thing I have to rave about is the food. When most hotels offer free breakfast, it's usually a dry muffin and a tiny glass of juice. Not at Casa Sirena! His staff cook a hearty meal, and a different menu every day - and most pay respect to traditional Spanish dishes (tortilla with egg and tomato salsa). My only regret is that our schedule didn't allow us to take advantage of this every morning we were there.

Although Casa Sirena only has 6 rooms at the moment, I think with all the positive buzz this place is generating, Steve is going to be run off his feet for a while yet. Looks like the golden handcuffs are here to stay Steve! Can't wait to come back again, estabo fantastico :-)

  • Liked — The thoughfulness of the owner
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarisaandOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
711 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who believe that the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of a quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty vegan-based locally-sourced organic breakfast (egg, diary and meat options available). Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" evening cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing