We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Personal Touch”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Personal Touch”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My family stayed at this wonderful inn for my aunt's wedding. It's a lovely little gem with delish breakfasts, comfortable rooms, rooftop drinks at sunset, and a great, attentive staff. The owner went above and beyond to provide a personal touch, particularly with the small reception and dinner we had there following the wedding. The inn itself is a very short walk away from beautiful beaches, shopping, and restaurants, located on an island that's less "touristy" but still with plenty to explore. My family had been before and will definitely be going again when a laid back Cancun vacation is calling!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgirl1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
59
536
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Casa Sirena is everything one could ever want from a b&b/boutique hotel. The location -- steps from the ferry dock, with ocean views out the front and back windows; on a quiet block yet only a block from shopping, restaurants, entertainment and neighborhood life (nightly basketball games on the plaza!). The decor -- classic Mexican influences in contemporary quality furnishings and finishings. The breakfasts every am were terrific, and each evening's Happy Hour was a highlight! The 1st floor patio with dipping pool, and roof deck(s) with bar and dipping pool were a favorite spot, day and night. But it was really the attention to detail in every respect that made our vacation -- from the water coolers on each floor, to the daily towel sculptures, to the handmade tortillas and pico de gallo or salsa with cocktails, the entire team is dedicated to creating delight. Steve is a wonderful host, and we can't wait to go back to visit him and Casa Sirena.

Room Tip: Each room is a little different, and has something special to recommend it. We especially enjoyed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Path215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Casa Sirena was absolutely unforgettable and wonderfully un-Cancun-y. What a find! We occupied all six rooms for a few days on either side of our brother's beach wedding; Steve even arranged to have the wedding dinner catered in the Casa's atrium. It was the perfect setting to connect with our newly acquired family, and have a great vacation at the same time. Thanks for making it so, Steve. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhythmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Adult family members took over Casa Sirena for a week to attend a wedding. The rooms were comfortable and beautifully appointed, as was the entire hotel. The attention to detail in every regard - from the decor to the rather astounding towel art -- was perfection itself, but never got in the way of comfort or having a good time. Steve is an extraordinary host and felt like a dear friend by the time the week was over. Jose and the rest of the staff we're accommodating and efficient. The beach was an easy walk from the hotel and the most beautiful we have ever seen. The hotel was also very near the ferry and a great variety of restaurants. The breakfasts were great and the Happy Hour an event we all looked forward to. We recommend the Casa Sirena wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Isla Mujeres is a beautiful island and Casa Sirena is very close (10+ minute walk) to beautiful beaches with white sand and clear water. It's also a very short walk away from the local vendors and restaurants.

We stayed in room 3 which has an extra bed and would have been perfect to split with another couple. It also happens to be the room with access to wifi which was nice for us.

Steve is great host (and I would say entertainer during happy hour). The building was very clean and the staff was hospitable.

Some of my favorite things about this place:
- Gourmet breakfasts were delicious
- Happy hour was always fun and Steve never lets your glass go empty :)
- Bottled waters provided that you can refill during your stay from a big jug of filtered water. Also there are other drinks to help yourself to including beer and glass bottles of Coke.
- You can borrow their floats and use sunscreen that others have left behind. This was really nice.
- Rooms are kept nice and cool with AC. There is a small refrigerator and safe in each room.
- The 2 pools were very nice. Rooftop one offered beautiful views and common area one was more shaded.

Things you should know before you book:
- You can't flush toilet paper. Apparently this is typical for other buildings on the island, too. This could be uncomfortable for some people.
- Wifi doesn't reach most rooms. You can always go down to the common area for access though.
- It gets VERY bright in those rooms early in the morning. We have two small children so we are used to getting up early so not a problem for us.
- This place is definitely geared around being social; from the community table breakfast to the happy hours. If you are looking for a place to be alone, you should probably keep searching.
- Showers were mostly cold for us during our stay... even during odd hours.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience for us and a relaxing time away from the kids. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I recently spent three nights at Casa Sirena based on the great reviews we had read on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Steve made sure to be there to greet us on arrival, with a cold beer and wet towel. Even though the walk from the ferry terminal is very short, we were pretty tired after a morning of travel.

We enjoyed the happy hours and breakfasts even more than we thought we would. Actually, it is difficult to describe how relaxing the happy hours are, but they were a highlight of the day. The other guests were an interesting group of Americans, Brits, Canadians and a native. Steve has some great local friends who really add to the charm. Thanks, David and Bev.

Steve made great recommendations for meals. We really liked Olivia's, but everything was wonderful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATCsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Happy hour is the highlight of my day too, and I love introducing hotel guests to my island friends over a couple of margaritas. Our philosophy can be summed up in the phrase "The best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

For accommodations, if going to Isla Mujeres, must be Casa Sirena. Not a family hotel and not large by any means, but the setting and the care as experienced by those wise enough to stay fro a few nights will be a highlight of your stay in Mexico. Best I can say, is just do it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
With only six rooms (and only 12 seats in our private rooftop bar), Casa Sirena strives to provide exceptional hospitality in an intimate setting. Thanks for taking time to write you review and contribute to the Trip Advisor community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who believe that the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of a quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty vegan-based locally-sourced organic breakfast (egg, diary and meat options available). Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" evening cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing