We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Our Stay Mightily” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay Mightily”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our Casa Sirena experience so very much. Here's why:
- Comfortable room free of TV
- Every Day a different towel animal friend greeted us from its bed-top perch
- Mexican speciality or American standard breakfast was served to us every morning
- Concierge helped us book ground transportation from the Cancun airport to the Isla Mujeres ferry landing
- Concierge also helped us book ground transportation form the Isla Mujeres ferry landing to Playa del Carmen for the second leg our our vacation
- Steve, the proprietor, hosted a great Happy Hour every night. He mixed great tropical drinks, snacks and witty banter
- Steve recommended places to visit that we would never have found were we not guests of the Casa Sirena

Bottom Line: Casa Sirena and Isla Mujeres provided an enjoyable respite from the crowded resort areas along the Mexican Riveria.

PS: to the reviewer. We stayed in January, 2013. I know I am two weeks late but please forgive my tardiness and post this review with a date of Jan 2013. Thanks! Alan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amwMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
521
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I attended several events here due to the welcoming and generous nature of Steve, the proprietor. I would stay here in a heartbeat during another trip to paradise. The inn is a welcoming environment, from the base floor garden area all the way to the rooftop bar and top level dance floor! The food was great, the margaritas were better, and the festivities were top notch. I was there over holidays, so while I do not think it is a "party every night" it sure was fun. Just read the other reviews to confirm that this place is truly outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattySamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I just stayed at Casa Sirena for the ninth time. I can't say enough about the staff of the the hotel, they are awesome. I went to celebrate the new year with friends,It was my second New Years at Casa Sirena. I was not disappointed,as Steve, the innkeeper, arranged a great night. New Year's Eve started with happy hour followed by dinner at Mamma Rosas. We then went back to Casa Sirena to ring in the new year with a rooftop party. It was blast. The night didn't end there we all went to the town square to celebrate with the band till the wee hours of the morning. I stayed at the hotel for seven day and as always the room was immaculate and the food authentic and delicious. I can't wait till my return to Isla and Casa Sirena hasta mayo. Keep up the good work Steve.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nitzy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our best stay at the island. The hotel in itself is nice and spotlessly clean. All the details are there, from lighter and candles in the room to beer coasters for the beach trip. I really appreciated this extra attention, but most of all I loved the feeling of being in a hostel but yet in a hotel! We meet lots of new and interesting people through the communal breakfast and the happy hours. This is something I have been longing for ever since I grew older and started requiring higher standards (like a private bathroom).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freshestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Top 10 reasons to stay at Casa Sirens
10. Comfy cotton waffle-weave robes
9. Elegantly appointed rooms that were impeccably clean
8. Daily towel origami
7. Delicius breakfast featuring Mexican favourites or traditional western fare fresh squeezed OJ and huge fruit plate!
6. Happy hour where we met our fellow travellers and our host Steve's friends and family
5. Dennis and Simon (cause it was Christmas)
4. The rooftop patio with 360 views complete with dipping pool
3. Onsite laundry service that left our clothes smelling divine.
2. Steve's stories and his tips and knowledge about all that is good on Isla
1. The incredible generosity of spirit that imbues this lovely 6-room hotel.

Thank you Steve. You and your staff worked so hard to make our stay wonderful -- and it was fabulous. Madeleine and Suzanne

Room Tip: Given the top 10 list, any room would be fine…. but if you can book 3 or 6. Ocean views and breezes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneandMadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
It was delightful to have you and your mother here with me and my mother for the holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Casa Sirena is a six-room B&B located a block from the Zocalo in Isla Mujeres. The first floor is the entry, office, dining area and garden; rooms are located on the next two floors; and on the top floors are a bar/get-together area plus a small pool. The host, Steve, is friendly and professional, as are the four staff persons. Breakfast, served six days out of seven, is delicious, consisting of fruit and a hot dish, plus juice and coffee. Happy hour takes place every day between 6:00 and 8:00 pm and is the perfect opportunity to meet and get to know people from all over the world. Rooms are spotless and guests are welcome to use all kinds of beach paraphernalia, from umbrellas through floating mats to beach towels. There is someone around every morning to help guests make all kinds of arrangements, including transfers to/from the Cancun airport, tours of the island, and even golf outings. Clientele can best be described as sophisticated bohemian. Best of all - washing of clothing is done on the premises for a very reasonable fee. There are a few "good conduct" rules and these are for the benefit of everyone staying there since the hotel is so small and compact.

Room Tip: Isla Mujeres is a quite place, without any of the revved-up chaos of Cancun. But when we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanoSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was our 4th stay at Casa Sirena in 3 years. It truly feels like coming home. The perfect ratio of fun to relaxation. Steve and his staff go above and beyond to make sure your stay is enjoyable. A shout out to Luca! Steve's guest innkeeper in Steve's absence. He was terrific!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d75angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing