We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a definite repeat”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a definite repeat”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Casa Sirena is a wonderful B&B. The house is beautiful, the rooms are light, comfortable and inviting, the breakfasts excellent and the happy hour is great fun. Casa Sirena within walking distance to the north beach and all the restaurants and shops along the way, but it is just off the beaten path to be a quiet haven in which to relax. Steve was a great host and worked hard to make us feel at home. This place definitely exceeded our expectations and we look forward to a return trip in the near future. We now understand why most of the guests we met at Casa Sirena were repeat customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
532
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I hesitate to write this review because I worry that I may not be able to get a reservation in the future. I recently went to Isla with my bff for a week and spent 3 nights at this little slice of paradise. I will start by saying that it exceeded my expectations, and I already knew that I was in for a treat from reading past reviews. From the minute that I saw the little peep hole in the entrance door, I knew that I was going to love the place. Steve, the owner has put so much care into this little gem and every inch of it shows. It has so much charm and there was something unique everywhere you looked. The authentic Mexican breakfasts are delicious and it was so nice to sit with Steve and the other guests to enjoy it. I could write an entire book on the rooftop and happy hour alone. The best view of the Island is up there and it was so wonderful to chat with Steve and all of the colorful characters that we met. So many great laughs and a pretty good margarita as well. One night Steve even treated us to a tequila tasting and I'm still kicking myself in the butt for not bringing home a bottle of Don Julio Anejo 70. We even had the pleasure of being invited back from happy hour one evening after we had checked into our other hotel. Such a fun night piling 11 of us into 2 golf carts and heading to mid-island for dinner. Steve, thanks for making it another special night. I even went out and purchased a tortilla press so that I can make my own Salbutes. Casa Sirena is one of those special places that will always remain in my heart and I hope to visit again and again. Estebandito, Nacho Libre, or however you say it, thank you again for such a wonderful experience at your little casa.
Heather & (Michelle)

Room Tip: We loved #2 because of the beautiful tile on the floor and the quaint view overlooking the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doglover75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
I love sharing my passion for great tequila by pouring little shots of the very best... from bottles contributed to the bar by generous guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first visit and we had a fantastic time! All of our expectations were not only met, but exceeded. We counted on Steve to provide information about our travel around island and he did not disappoint. Steve is the ultimate host and the staff is wonderful with tremendous attention to detail. From the yummy breakfasts to the towel animals each day in our room, we felt spoiled. The rooftop bar where Happy Hour takes place is the icing on the cake. Marvelous views and great company made this nightly ritual all the more fun! A vacation of laughter, sunshine, and relaxation - we could not have asked for more. We are already trying to find a way back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is our third trip to Casa Sirena, and it feels like our home away from home now.
From the moment we arrive, greeted by our dear friend Steven, cool towels, and a cold beer, it's all just fantastic.
As previous reviews have noted, the fantastic breakfasts and Happy Hour on the rooftop are standouts every time. The entire place is super clean, the staff make everything feel effortless.

As we continue to visit Casa Sirena, we realize that it's the people that make so much of the experience. Of course there's Steven, the charming innkeeper, who makes everyone feel special. And the staff, keeping us well fed at breakfast, prepped for happy hour, and adding smiles to our faces every time we return to our spotlessly clean room with the day's artwork of towel animals.

But it's also our fellow travelers, locals, and friends of Steven's that we get to interact with at breakfast and happy hour. With the comings and goings of travelers and friends, you never know who you'll get to trade stories with - but it's always good. We walked away from this trip with new friends from Canada who I highly suspect we'll see again soon. We reconnected with old friends from previous visits. We met amazing people from around the globe - such as a fascinating woman from France who now lives in Merida and owns a place in Senegal. Those are the kinds of people that add to the experience of travel - and they seek out the type of hotel experience that you get at Casa Sirena.

Already thinking about planning our next trip - and no doubt we'll be staying at Casa Sirena. Our home away from home on Isla.

Room Tip: We prefer room #1, with the large balcony and daybed - great for sitting outside, relaxing, reading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
There is no higher compliment for an innkeeper than the title of your review; it is a joy to provide hospitality to weary travelers from around the world :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just off the ferry, trailing our luggage behind us, "only another half block to go" Paul says. Sure enough one short block and the turn around the corner sports a small huddle of people looking our way with the sound of luggage rollers on the cobbley street a huge cheer erupts,"they're here, now the happy hour can begin. Up to the roof!! That's where everyone goes at the end of the day and the start of the evening, before dinner, wherever that might be. (You can't go wrong with really any of the 100+restaurants on the island.) Wonderful staff (Beverly & David), accommodation and everything in its' place as you need it. Steve, our host wasn't there but the wow factor came through with Bev and David at the helm. Authentic Mexican breakfast, surroundings and hospitality abound. Knowledge shared from these two about the island made it easy to make choices for dining and how to get around (although so much was just in short distance from our beautiful temporary home). We look forward to returning to Isla Mujeres and reuniting with our new found friends. Take the time to spend a few days in paradise with these folks

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nicely appointed. I had the opportunity to view them as they were open foll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It is always with mixed emotions that I leave Casa Sirena for my own vacation or to visit family in the USA. I am blessed with wonderful friends who step in as "Associate Innkeepers" and keep the hotel hopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point, WI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 3rd visit in 4 years, and my husband and I never tire of Casa Sirena. It is the perfect 5 day getaway to cure the winter blues. Fun, laughs, sunshine and great food = heaven! Looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Another great trip - this time I brought my friends and filled the hotel for my birthday! The happy hours and breakfasts continue to be the best part of the experience and Steve hired a mariachi band for to serenade me for my birthday! He also took us to a few local restaurants we would have never found on our own and they were amazing! It's top rated for a reason!

Room Tip: 3 is a suite with 2 rooms and both 3 and and 6 have ocean views. Room 1 has the largest outside spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halpey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It was the first time we have ever had Mariachi's serenading us at breakfast, but for your birthday we couldn't resist!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,099 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing