We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is our third trip to Casa Sirena, and it feels like our home away from home now.
From the moment we arrive, greeted by our dear friend Steven, cool towels, and a cold beer, it's all just fantastic.
As previous reviews have noted, the fantastic breakfasts and Happy Hour on the rooftop are standouts every time. The entire place is super clean, the staff make everything feel effortless.

As we continue to visit Casa Sirena, we realize that it's the people that make so much of the experience. Of course there's Steven, the charming innkeeper, who makes everyone feel special. And the staff, keeping us well fed at breakfast, prepped for happy hour, and adding smiles to our faces every time we return to our spotlessly clean room with the day's artwork of towel animals.

But it's also our fellow travelers, locals, and friends of Steven's that we get to interact with at breakfast and happy hour. With the comings and goings of travelers and friends, you never know who you'll get to trade stories with - but it's always good. We walked away from this trip with new friends from Canada who I highly suspect we'll see again soon. We reconnected with old friends from previous visits. We met amazing people from around the globe - such as a fascinating woman from France who now lives in Merida and owns a place in Senegal. Those are the kinds of people that add to the experience of travel - and they seek out the type of hotel experience that you get at Casa Sirena.

Already thinking about planning our next trip - and no doubt we'll be staying at Casa Sirena. Our home away from home on Isla.

Room Tip: We prefer room #1, with the large balcony and daybed - great for sitting outside, relaxing, reading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
There is no higher compliment for an innkeeper than the title of your review; it is a joy to provide hospitality to weary travelers from around the world :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
529
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just off the ferry, trailing our luggage behind us, "only another half block to go" Paul says. Sure enough one short block and the turn around the corner sports a small huddle of people looking our way with the sound of luggage rollers on the cobbley street a huge cheer erupts,"they're here, now the happy hour can begin. Up to the roof!! That's where everyone goes at the end of the day and the start of the evening, before dinner, wherever that might be. (You can't go wrong with really any of the 100+restaurants on the island.) Wonderful staff (Beverly & David), accommodation and everything in its' place as you need it. Steve, our host wasn't there but the wow factor came through with Bev and David at the helm. Authentic Mexican breakfast, surroundings and hospitality abound. Knowledge shared from these two about the island made it easy to make choices for dining and how to get around (although so much was just in short distance from our beautiful temporary home). We look forward to returning to Isla Mujeres and reuniting with our new found friends. Take the time to spend a few days in paradise with these folks

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nicely appointed. I had the opportunity to view them as they were open foll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It is always with mixed emotions that I leave Casa Sirena for my own vacation or to visit family in the USA. I am blessed with wonderful friends who step in as "Associate Innkeepers" and keep the hotel hopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point, WI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 3rd visit in 4 years, and my husband and I never tire of Casa Sirena. It is the perfect 5 day getaway to cure the winter blues. Fun, laughs, sunshine and great food = heaven! Looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Another great trip - this time I brought my friends and filled the hotel for my birthday! The happy hours and breakfasts continue to be the best part of the experience and Steve hired a mariachi band for to serenade me for my birthday! He also took us to a few local restaurants we would have never found on our own and they were amazing! It's top rated for a reason!

Room Tip: 3 is a suite with 2 rooms and both 3 and and 6 have ocean views. Room 1 has the largest outside spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halpey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It was the first time we have ever had Mariachi's serenading us at breakfast, but for your birthday we couldn't resist!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We choose Isla Mujeres, Mexico and this hotel all based off of reviews from this site...and we were both so happy we did. Although the owner was not there during our stay, Beverly made our stay one to remember. Besides seeing that we were comfortable and well taken care of she was just so much fun to be around. Some of our fondest memories were just kicking back with her. The happy hour was great like everyone says... The guac is out of this world and the rooms are spotless and inviting. Every last person working at CS was warm, inviting and friendly. Just can't say enough. Like everyone else I found the location perfect....and have commented to plenty of people what a great experience it was to share the street with Mexico families (and a great taco cart).
There isn't much to say that hasn't been said already...so what are you waiting for? BOOK IT!

(PS- Loved us some David too)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolesays0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I returned to Isla Mujeres and Casa Sirena for the third time in 2 1/2 years. The first time I traveled solo in July, the second time I brought family in August and the third I roomed with a friend in March. All three times were different experiences, but all times were consistent with sunny island weather, and amazing service at Casa Sirena. I no longer feel like a guest. I feel like I'm part of a family of friends where I always meet new, interesting people. I will go back!

Room Tip: This time I stayed in room 3 which was an excellent choice with a new friend/roommate. This was our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KissedbyMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a great time on Isla Mujeres, especially due to Steve and his partner Dennis’ incredible hospitality. The rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff made super cute figures using the towels. Breakfast was fresh and delicious every morning and we were offered a choice between an American (eggs + bacon) and a traditional Mexican breakfast.

Casa Sirena hosts a Happy Hour every day which was less relevant to us as neither of us drinks. However, it’s nice to meet fellow travelers and Steve made sure we were supplied plentifully with fruit drinks. Being in our mid-twenties, we were definitely quite a bit younger than the rest of the crowd.

Room Tip: We had number 4 which had a decent west facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank follkommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing