We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Beautiful!”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Casa Sirena is wonderful. It is clean, comfortable and beautiful. Steve, the owner, is wonderful. The breakfast is amazing, happy hour is fun, and the desks and plunge pools are perfect. I would recommend going back - I certainly will!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
529
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
alamander
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I, and eldest adult son, have just returned from a great vacation at Casa Sirena. It was really relaxing for us all -- which was our hope for the vacation. The house is beautiful -- and, if you are interested in that sort of thing, ask Steve (owner) to describe how he had it built. Fascinating; I would say that he made many, many good design decisions. Plus, it is meticulously maintained. The staff is great, and the location is perfect -- within walking distance of many great restaurants, for example.

As you can tell, we did get to meet Steve, the owner -- although he was there for only 1 day or so of during the middle of our stay. However, we were welcomed upon our arrival by Steve (a different Steve), Dennis, and Jean, who are part of Steve (the owner's) guest innkeeper program; and they were GREAT. They basically made sure that our every need was met, and provided company and intelligent, interesting conversation.

Happy hour was terrific, as all the other reviews attest. It makes this B&B different, and better. But wait until you are actually there, with beautiful water on either side...

Room Tip: Room 1 has a nice terrace with a sitting area and overhead fan with light. Room 5 has a nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am proud of my "Associate Innkeepers" like Steve, Dennis, and Jean who come to care for the hotel guests and allow me time to take my own vacations!

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Austin, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I really love going to Casa Sirena, The house is beautiful. There are books in every room so if you forget yours - no worries. Steve, is such a wonderful host. He is helpful but not in your space and everyone in our group always looked forward to time with Steve at the rooftop bar for daily happy hour. The staff at Casa Sirena is so sweet and I am amazed at how much cleaning goes down during the day. The only down side I can think of is for those of you that really like to sleep in - There is one side of the hotel that is on the sun-rising side and you have no option but to wake up b/c the sun gets through the shades. So if this bothers you, just remember to ask when you book a room that you are put on the side that isn't as sunny first thing in the morning.
I highly reccommend renting out the whole place. Oh and breakfast is amazing. I really have nothing but wonderful things to say about Casa Sirena.

Room Tip: See above - One side of the hotel is sunnier than the other depending on the time of year that you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choniebradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our second visit to Isla Mujeres, having stayed both times at Casa Sirena. My earlier review (2009) is here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g150810-d627660-r26466695-Casa_Sirena-Isla_Mujeres_Yucatan_Peninsula.html.

The only substantial difference was the temporary transfer of authority from Steve, the owner of Casa Sirena, to associate innkeepers Becky and Jean, part way through our visit. Just as we had with Steve in '09, by the end of our eight-day stay we felt like old friends. We also spent a day in Cancun this time, shopping for ceramics at the Mercado 23 (and the touristy Mercado 28, which we would not recommend or consider returning to). Otherwise, both the island and the inn were everything we'd hoped and expected.

Casa Sirena is one of the few establishments we’ve ever returned to a second time. The fact that we would unhesitatingly do so again, for a third and fourth visit, is the greatest compliment I can give to the place, its wonderful location, and the people who’ve made the experience so pleasurable. Thank you, Casa Sirena, for a wonderful, restful vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Casa Sirena was a carefree retreat for my husband and me during our recent three night stay in Isla Mujeres. Becky and Jean were standing in as associate innkeepers, Steve could not have found more gracious hostesses! We really enjoyed getting to know them and they were enthusiastic to meet our every need. The rooms and other spaces were beautiful, attention to detail was obvious in so many ways. Breakfasts were delicious and happy hours were lots of fun. All suggested restaurants and things to do were spot on. When we return, there is no other place we would consider staying!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Megan and John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our family and friends rented the whole hotel for an incredibly reasonable rate! The owner, Steve thought of every detail when renovating this hotel. The decor is beautiful and serene. I have never stayed at a more charming spot than Casa Sirena in Isla Mujeres. The food was excellent (full breakfast every morning) and Happy Hour was a blast (free margaritas served Steve)! The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the towel arrangements in the AM are very artistic! The location is also excellent: Convenient to town/shops/restaurants and also close to beautiful beaches. Jose, the Concierge can help you with any trips/tours/transportation and hooked us up with a great snorkeling boat trip that ended with a excellent lunch of grilled Mayan-style fish!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Casa Sirena FAR surpassed what we hoped for after arriving on Isla Mujeres. Wonderful room, amenities, staff, food and price! Steve was an absolutely wonderful host and informed us with a mini compendium of what the island had to offer. (Who needs Fodor's!) He arranged several tours and activities for us. Diving was excellent! Visibility great and excellent marine life. For those who don't care to dangle multiple feet under water only connected by an oxygen hose for life, Snorkeling is also fantastic! Crystal aquamarine blue waters surrounded by tame large friendly fish (maybe induced to be more docile by the tortillas we fed to them by hand!) At the end of the day at the hotel for a fantastic meal coupled with perfectly paired wine, we were satiated. But.... Steve was not done yet! The rooftop bar sprinkled with excellent Tequila tasting under the stars with the waves crashing in the mild din of some of our other "new friends" . This definitely topped our experience at Casa Sirena as exemplary! We can hardly wait to come back!

Ask to look at several rooms if available, you would be surprised what you might find more inviting than you think! The setting is great for a well worth vacation for any grouping. Even Families can enjoy the ample space and yes, there is a lot to do on the island provided one is not expecting "Disney-esqe" themes and cookie-cutter experiences!

This is an oasis of Bliss in the REAL Mexico! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask to look at several rooms if available, you would be surprised what you might find more inviting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing