We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every hour should be happy hour!”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Every hour should be happy hour!”
Reviewed January 26, 2008

We recently returned from a fabulous vacation in Isla Mujeres where we stayed at the equally fabulous Casa Sirena. A co-worker of my boyfriend recommended we stay at the quaint B&B, and since she claimed
she'd go back again and again, we decided to give it whirl! From the minute I received our reservation confirmation, I felt at ease-Steve, the owner, made sure we had all the information we needed to stay on the island before we even arrived (including transportation suggestion
to and from the airport and a map of the island). He provided us with many useful resources before we even met him!

Upon arrival at Casa Sirena, Steve was a picture perfect host-he took care of business quickly, knowing we were tired from traveling. He then directed us to a place to grab a bite and a beer before returning
for the infamous roof top happy hour.

Not knowing what to expect from happy hour-we walked up to the roof top and were greeted with smiling faces, conversation and of course amazing margaritas! I believe we were fortunate to have the most amazing guests staying with us as well as a terific host since most of the happy hours we attended went well into the night and ended with
group dinners in downtown Isla. I think Steve put it best when he said
that the group of guestsstaying this particular week were "uniquely cohesive!" Happy hour truly brought friends together whose paths may never have crossed.

Aside from the Happy Hours, another highlight of Casa was the delicious breakfasts-all so beautiful that you weren't sure whether to
eat it or take a picture of it! Our personal favorite was the freshly squeezed orange juice that accompanied every breakfast. The staff was so attentive to each guest-bringing food out promptly and clearing it away as soon as we cleaned our plates (and we did every morning!) so we could begin our day on the island. Breakfast (along Happy hour) was
another great time to chat with Steve and other guests about things to
take in on the island.

The rooms and lobby of the hotel were beautiful and always sparkling clean-you can tell the Steve and his staff take great pride in Casa Sirena. I particularly like all the towel creation that we'd find around the room after the maids cleaned-another fun element of Casa. The amenities were ample-including a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, fridge, safe, robes, shampoo, soap, bug spray(for mosquito season), water jug on each floor, and wireless internet access in some
rooms (and community computer on main level).

As any working man needs-Steve went away for a few days, but made sure
everyone was well taken care of-Robert wore the many hats of Steve and
made sure we had everything we needed, including having breakfast a little bit early so we could catch our ferry our final day.

To sum it up, staying at Casa Sirena was an experience we'll never forget. There was no stress involved with reservations, checking in or out. Steve is a great businessman, host and friend to all that stay
in his 'home.' For us it was the happy hours that made the trip even more memorable (not for the drinks) but for the atmosphere Steve provides that allows everyone to have fun, socialize and for us make life-long friends!

  • Liked — comfortable, fun atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving :(
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mineesnowtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
529
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2008

We just returned from Isla Mujeres on Tuesday, and cannot say enough good things about Casa Sirena.
A friend of ours planned a destination wedding on Isla Mujeres and invited a large group of family and friends to attend. Around 40 of us were able to go, so the scramble began to find a place to stay. After looking at several other options on the Island, from all inclusive to guest houses, nothing jumped out at us as being authentic and friendly, which were attributes we were looking for. Another friend who had recently returned from Isla Mujeres told us about Casa Sirena and what a wonderful time she had there. After looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor, we were convinced it was the right place for us.
The bride and groom went on a preliminary wedding planning trip in November and stopped by the Sirena to check it out. As we had nearly every room booked out for the wedding party, Steve Broin, the owner, was kind enough to offer to hold the rehearsal dinner for the entire wedding party on his fabulous rooftop patio. What a wonderful party we had, and Steve and his friends and staff are to thank. The food was out of this world, the service was impeccable and the decoration very charming.
Our stay at the Sirena gave our trip many of the warm memories we brought home with us. The pictures of the rooms on the website do not do them justice. The tile floors are stunning, the woodwork is beautifully preserved and the antiques and art are obviously lovingly cared for.
Complimentary breakfast is a choice between an authentic 5 Star Mexican feast or a traditional American breakfast of eggs and bacon, but although I am not the most adventurous eater, I highly recommend the authentic breakfast. The chef is very talented in merging flavors and textures you would not normally consider into a tasty and satisfying feast. Breakfast is served in a beautiful setting, on the main floor patio.
Happy Hour is the perfect start to a fun evening out on Isla, and Steve is very generous with both food and drink. Happy Hour may be served on the rooftop patio or the main floor patio, depending on weather, but nothing beats sipping a delicious margarita on the roof while watching the spectacular Isla sunset over the sparkling turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea!
The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job and kept the place sparkling the whole time we were there. We have no idea how they kept up with all of the sand we kept dragging into the place, but we never saw a speck of dirt anywhere. The house felt so safe and comfortable that we accidentally forgot to lock our door one of the nights we were there.
If you are looking for something other than a run-of-the-mill hotel stay, and would like to enhance your vacation by staying in a beautiful and reasonably priced location filled with authentic Mexican warmth and hospitality, then Casa Sirena is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sandankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Casa Sirena is the type of place that stands out as uniquely special, a place unmatched in our many travels. This place has personality, yet is immediately relaxing--every piece of art, handmade furniture, and even the landscaping is lovingly and perfectly placed. The soft music playing in the background seems to parallel your mood, whether you're awakening, coming back from the beach, or enjoying the lively happy hours.

This being said, the truly memorable part of our whole trip in January was how this setting brought together all of us who were staying there. Within a few minutes of arriving to a frosty cold beverage and an orietation, both provided by Steven (having missed our scheduled arrival by hours due to a delayed flight), we were greeted by 4 of our fellow guests, returning from their evening's revelry. Their welcoming smiles and warmth swept us up as we left Casa Sirena to do our own exploration of Isla's delicious and nearby dinner offerings.

That was just the start! At the mouthwatering breakfast the next morning the greetings continued and conversations and laughter flowed for hours (as did the coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice). This was the beginning of our adventures with this varied and colorful cast of characters. We won't go into details, as these wonderful friends have reputations to uphold back home! What a magical place Steve has created that allows the type of friendships to form in a few days that would otherwise occur over months or years, if these diverse people had met at all!

Besides being the type of place that encourages as much social interaction, or as much privacy, as you want, Casa Sirena offers so many ammenities that you can enjoy the simplicity of packing lightly. Handmade soaps and shampoos are provided, as are hairdryers, bathrobes, beach towels, purified water, a mini-fridge, a safe, and generous storage within the room. Even the beds have been dressed amply with pillows to make reading in bed luxurious.

Thanks to all of you who joined in the fun! Steven, "Tio Bobby" and our new/old fiends created such a memorable stay for us at Casa Sirena that we may have to take an unanticipated "reunion" trip back to visit them later this summer!

  • Liked — Close to everything--very convenient
  • Disliked — Having to leave it
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCurrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, oh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We just came back from Isla Mujeres, an island offshore Cancun in the Mexican Carribean and stayed 10 days at Casa Sirena. Where to start? The owner, Steve Broin has created an incredible boutique hotel where all your needs and wants are satisfied! From the smallest detail such as his staff arranging towels on our bed in the shape of flowers or birds, to specialy made breakfasts for us (as we are vegetarian), to the top-deck happy hours which expose you to the charms of slow sipping tequila amidst the Isla Mujeres sunset to all the amenities one could imagine to make one's stay incredible. If you are a fan of down tempo holiday on Isla's majestic North Beach and need a place to unwind and decompress then Casa Sirena on Avenue Hidalgo on the north end of Isla is for you!

  • Liked — The intimacy and the overall feel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank croatiandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Our initial response to our experience at Casa Sirena is to jealously guard its location; however, if you are reading this we are already too late. While Isla Mujeres is an incredibly beautiful vacation spot, the experience at Casa Sirena pushes it over the top. Steve has created a one of a kind hotel that attracts a wonderful clientele! In this relaxing and fun atmosphere we made quick friends of the other guests at Casa Sirena and shared many memorable conversations, Happy Hours and an adventure or two.
The rooms of Casa Sirena are beautiful, comfortable and impeccably decorated. The stone in the bathrooms, mined in the Yucatan penninsula, adds a warm, luxurious feel. Steve and the staff go out of their way to make your stay a delight. Morning breakfast is top notch and Happy Hour a highlight of the day.
We are grateful to Steve, the staff, and the guests (we now call you our friends) for making our stay a wonderful and memorable one! We hope we can return soon. - David and Jeremy, Denver, Colorado

  • Liked — Happy Hour!
  • Disliked — Leaving it...
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocosLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

For my February 14, 2007 anniversary, my darling Robert surprised me with a week long stay at Casa Sirena --you can read my enthusiastic review complete with pictures from last year. We planned our stay for our 2008 anniversary before we left!
We've always had a quiet New Year's celebration together at home, so imagine my surprise when Robert handed me tickets to Mexico for a week at Sirena for New Years! It was fabulous! Steven has the most fascinating assortment of guests - we always meet several couples we keep in touch with. For New Years, Casa Sirena was THE private party to be invited to on the island! It was a wonderful cross section of old friends, guests, and locals - never a dull moment, and always a classy affair at Sirena! (Dennis in his holiday attire really lit up the night!!!)
The week was filled with great conversation, LOTS of good food --(special contributions from Bruce!) and all the extras that make Sirena my favorite place to get away.
It's the perfect vacation ---all the pampering, sunshine, great food, good conversation, private reading, walk on the beach and happy hour time you'll ever need!!! And we LOVED the Mojito Madness competition and hope to have a repeat in February!
Thanks again, Steven for a wonderful week ------ have a Happy Birthday, and we'll see you in February for Valentine's Day!!! Lady Lancome

  • Liked — Attention to details - cleanliness - breakfast - location - Steven insures his guests enjoy their stay
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSirena
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2008

I stayed at Casa Sirena with 5 of my best friends for our 40th Birthday. I've traveled through out the Carribean and have never had such a wonderful trip. As mentioned in the other reviews the happy hours (they lasted for hours each night) and the wonderful breakfasts were great. The hospitality and personal attention made the trip extra special with Daniel even bringing a Mexican Birthday cake to our last happy hour. We met fabulously fun people while visiting and every one of us had an absolutely great time. Steve and Daniel were absolutely the best hosts - thanks again!

  • Liked — Absolutely Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BisGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing