We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you value sleep”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Let me start by saying that we really do like it here. We stayed here last year and came back due to how things were last year. However, things have changed.... for the worse. The club next door, Chimbo's, plays music with deep base beginning at 11pm and they play till roughly 3:30am Friday through Sunday. I don't know about you, but I work too hard to pay for a vacation that I can't sleep during. Do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay. Also, don't support Chimbo's in any way, shape, or form. They rent chairs during the day, have an open bar, and rent crappy beach toys. Don't pay them for anything. I wouldn't be so bothered I guess if people actually went to the club, but no one is there - I've checked. Chimbo's pumps the music just to annoy Ixchel. Supposedly, they do it to try and get Ixchel to pay them NOT to play. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fa11man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed in Penthouse 504, tower 1 from January 13 - January 26, 2010. The owner Cecilia is wonderful, kind and helpful, not just about her condo, but with information for all of Isla Mujeres. (you can contact her at: http://www.vrbo.com/119775). The rooms are very clean (the housekeepers are lovely, friendly ladies), the kitchen is stocked with all appliances, including a fresh water dispenser. We did not cook very much, however, as the many, many choices of delicious, affordable dining are only steps away from the complex door or beach. We wanted to try everything! The roof top terrace with jacuzzi and wetbar, grill, cushioned seating, etc. is an amazing spot for privacy (loved the ipod connection), and we equally used the large lower level second balcony to eat a room service breakfast or read. Although all of the staff were friendly and accomodating, our favorite staff member was Giovanni at the front desk, who is a life-long resident of Isla Mujeres and we very much enjoyed spending time speaking with him.

The beach, Playa Norte is without a doubt the most beautiful beach and clearest sea we have ever seen in our travels to Mexico, Jamaica, the Carribean, and all of the Hawaiian islands. When we returned to Cancun for a few days before departure, the water looked dark and cloudy in comparison to the beautiful Playa Norte and all we wanted to do was go back there.

We rented a golf cart for a day and drove to the other side of the island to visit Garrafon, the lighthouse, and the Mayan Temple. It was fun, but our favorite thing to do was walk the streets of the downtown area, stopping to shop, eat, drink, or speak to the wonderfully kind Isla residents. The children especially were so happy and sweet we started to carry candy in our pockets just to see them smile when we gave them one. We also got a couples massage on the beach - please ask the concierge to arrange it, the pricing is very reasonable compared to anywhere we have ever been.

Aside from the Ixchel complex (Comonos that can be charged to your room) our favorite places to eat we the Sunset Grill on the beach a few feet away, Olivias downtown for Medditeranean (make sure to reserve!) and Angelos on Hildago for excellent Italian food.

Overall, we have found our paradise and it will be hard to go anywhere else from now on. Feel free to contact me with any questions!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evilstepmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This is a very nice hotel - great accomodations, good location - but there is a disco right next door that BLASTS music from 11 pm - 3:15 am every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. We arrived on a Friday, exhausted after a long day of traveling, but we did not get any sleep until Monday night. We spent the rest of our vacation trying to catch up on sleep and we left the island just as tired as when we arrived.

The staff at the hotel was complacent. Apparently, there is nothing they can do about the music as the disco has all the necessary permits. They offered us ear plugs, but overall everyone at the hotel didn't seem to care that we weren't getting any sleep. In my opinion, it should be their obligation to tell travelers about this prior to booking. Had I known about the noise level, I would have stayed somewhere else.

If the disco wasn't there, I would happily give this place 4-5 stars, but because our sleep was so greatly affected I can't justify anything more than 2.

The spirit of Isla Mujeres is laid-back and the opposite of Cancun, but this disco really ignores that. Its too bad.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeauND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed in 2707 penthouse Jacuzzi suite for the last 3 days of our 2 week Isla vacation. We wanted to splurge on an ocean view with a jacuzzi in the terrace.. well we got the view, but the jacuzzi was not working. It was half full of water when we arrived. The controls were missing and the water was cold. Maintance was at our door with 5 minutes of our call and played with some wires, told us that only 2 jets work, show us how to turn it on from some breaker button inside, and that it would be warm in a few hours. Well the next day we went use it I dipped my fingers in to feel the water and got quite an jolt of electricity!!... needless to say we gave up on the Jacuzzi, but at $275 per night were disappointed but decided not to fight it, but make the best of the last 3 days of our trip. The room was really nice. But the disco noise was pretty hard to take. We had heard about this before, and different opinions about how bad it was, so decided to take our chances... big mistake. It wasn't so much the music, although it was bad enough, but someone was yelling and screaming into a microphone all night which almost drowned out the music... it was awful!
We didn't let it ruin our vacation, but would never stay at this hotel again unless the noise problem is solved, and only in a much less expensive suite.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShugNorthOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

To get to the point. We had a cheaper room, hardly any furniture, two small chairs one was falling apart Could not sit comfortably. Smoke alarm beeped all night and staff would not look at it, just wanted us to change rooms at 11:00 pm. I finally removed battery at 5:00 am to cure it. Pools useless,constantly in shade. Food in so-called restaurant awful, was short changed by waiter. (40.00 us for 4 tacos and one fish dish and two drinks). Appears hotel rents beach chairs to outsiders making shore line very crowded. Dollar charge for using bathroom on beach? Four separate bars but no happy hour. Try getting a cup of coffee at 7:00 am. Maid service spotty. Had no problem w/ disco but if we did would have walked. The town is wonderful, luckily it made our trip. Room upgrade was double the price. I understand you get what you pay for but after 6 trips to Mexico I expected more value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tooty57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

My boyfriend and I arrived at the Ixchel Beach last Monday and stayed through today, Saturday. We loved the hotel and were very pleased with the service, rooms (the shower was wonderful!) the especially the location, which I think is the best stretch of beach on Playa Norte. We stayed in a standard room and weren't picky about the fact that they only had two double beds. Although the room doesn't have a built in balcony, the view on the hallway/balcony right outside our front door was breathtaking and we spent a lot of time out there. A couple small problems were the dodgy wifi, problems with hot water, and the room service wasn't so great but the location more than made up for all those things. All of our nights it was incredibly and wonderfully quiet with only the sound of the ocean, until the last night. I couldn't believe how loud Chimbo's was. It was absolutely awful. I've never heard anything so loud in my life-we got absolutely no sleep. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avalonguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Ixchel for 3 days in May and had such a fantastic time we had to come back for a full week in December! Ixchel is the perfect place to stay in Isla Mujeres. You are right on the beach over looking fantastic water and even more amazing sunsets. Prime restaurants are 2 blocks away and everything else you need is no more than 3 blocks away. We booked the penthouse suite - room 709 - and enjoyed hot tubbing every night. The suites only have 1 bedroom and somewhat small bathrooms but this is only a small drawback to spending the entire day by the beach, and being so close to all the amenities.
Isla Mujeres reminds us of Playa Del Carmen 10 years ago. The Island is very small but has so much to offer. It is simply a must see Island and Ixchel is a must place to stay when you`re there.

Nicki & Troy Dennison

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cozumelenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
363 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $129 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing