We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, surprising amenities”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2009

The location can't be beat if you want to be on a lovely beach and near the town center all at once. (the beach is much improved since 6 months ago due to some sandbagging and beach reclamation activities). This is not a "resort" where you'd stay the entire time nor is the beach "private" by any means. These are condos - we had a two bedroom unit in the west building - ocean view - the only thing you miss in the ocean view in the west building is the sunset (but you can go out into the open air hallway on the west side of the buliding and watch - or better yet hang out down on the beach to watch). There were two full baths, as well. The rooms were clean and relatively plain (some units are more decorated than others - depending upon the owner). Bbut I wasn't expecting an opulent room. The bed wasn't too bad but it is just a mattress on blocks - some will not like. Housekeeping daily. I would like to have an ocean front next time (either buliding) as there is an even nicer view and larger wraparound balcony. The weekend was quite busy on the beach - it was a three day Mexican national holiday - but the remainder of the week (at high season US Spring break - for the midwest anyway) was not particularly busy or crowded in my estimation. Given that these were condos, I was not really expecting any bathroom amenities other than towels but we were provided nice shampoo, conditioner, bar soap. The snack bar also featured room service (with no added on fees - just add a tip as you would if you were eating at the snack bar). (I know, why room service with a lovely pool and beach - well, in the AM the kids like it). There were lots of breakfast and lunch choices. I wish the snack bar would stay open a little later. But you can also charge back to the room at the nearby Sunset Grill if you don't want to walk into town (a matter of 5 minutes) to look for one of many restuarant and bar choices). The snack bar staff was very good at finding us on the beach for drinks and food (which we could charge back to our room so didn't have to bring cash to the beach) (and no cash is an easy way to ward of vendors if you so choose). There is WiFI but I could not get my laptop to work - others could - so I think my laptop was to blame. The west building has the fitness center. Not sure if east building guests were supposed to use it or not. Each building has its own pool - another benefit to the east building is that its pool gets more sun (again, guests in each building are supposed to use the pool associated with that building - not sure it was too rigorously enforced - in our group we had people in both buildings and our kids would hang at both pools and charge back to rooms in either building). I thought the service was overall quite good given that I don't speak Spanish and as such can't communicate with staff the way I would like (the desk folks all spoke English but communication always a little difficult) - when we return I will do a better job at learning a bit more spanish other than "cerveza", "por favor" and "gracias". Two nights (on the weekend) there was a very loud disco next door - the hotel coudl not do anything about (other than offer us earplugs) - they did contact the police but I doubt there was any sort of noise oridinance to enforce. I was able to sleep - it may have kept me up 15 minutes. Others who are more sensitive to noise would've had more trouble getting to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2009

Contrary to other reviews, this place did have "soul". The staff went above and beyond and was always cordial and welcoming. The rooms are clean, bright and very modern in taste. True, there is not much of Mexico in the decor, but one would know that by the photos. Just walk out the door and go up a block or down to the beach and you are surely in Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariadom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My husband and I had a great time on our five-night stay at Ixchel Beach Hotel on Isla Mujeres. We have been to Mexico several times but always stayed at all inclusives. The appeal of Isla Mujeres was the quaint fishing village and good local food. As previously mentioned Ixchel is really two towers of condos. We were placed in the newer west building. The concierge staff was good but not overly friendly. The suites are ultra modern and have a minimal style, with lots of space and everything you need. We had a king size bedroom, large 2 room bath, fully equipped kitchen, dining and living area with a large deck with ocean view floor to ceiling sliding glass doors connecting from the bedroom and the living areas. I would suggest going through the VRBO site so you could see the unit you are getting. We didn't, and let the Ixchel place us. The first suite we were placed in had no dehumidifier, the thermostat did not work and the locks on the full sliding doors were broken. We reported this to the desk immediately and maintenance came up and stated that they needed a part to make the repair. When they could not locate or fix the problem they moved us - on my suggestion. This all occured within a few hours of our arrival and I was pleased with the promptness to my request. We were placed in a much nicer condo #208 that was nicely decorated. We didn't spend too much time in our room or at the pool as the fabulous beach was the place we wanted to be all day long. Vendors and waiters are on the beach but they were polite and moved on with a polite "No, Gracias". The hotel provides beach chairs, beach towels and umbrellas.
We spent the mornings and evenings in town, eating and site seeing. The construction on Hidalgo is a pain but we enjoyed watching the progress everyday. The last day we were at Ixchel most of the pavers had been placed from the beach to Lopez Maeos. We enjoy walking and at this location all the restaurants and clubs are close at hand. The Sea Wall Walk looks to be under repair as well but allows for great views of the crystal clear waters surrounding the island. Streets are narrow and sidewalks limited. The taxis, golf carts and scooters move briskly.

Thanks to Trip Advisor and HollyEat.com we never had a bad meal and didn't need to use our kitchen except for coffee, microwave, and beer in the refrigerator. We even had a cooler to put beer and Coke Lite in to take to the beach. We had lots of ice trays and a huge Crystal water dispenser. The Super Market at the Plaza is a must see. The plaza had an open market on Thursday and Friday night. It's a great place to pick up some beer, soda and souvenirs

Don't miss the following restaurants frequented by tourists and locals alike:
Breakfast: Bistro Francais, Cazuela M&J, and Elements of the Island ( the toast from homemade bread and the jam is great). Aluxes (Coffee with Banana or Zucchini Bread).
Lunch: Picus (Seafood), Los Almendros (Pork Sandwiches- In the ferry parking lot - Red Coke Stand- Go after breakfast and pick up some with hot sauce and reheat for lunch, - worth crawling through the fence for.) CoMoNo - fish tacos service on the beach - you can charge to your room.
Happy Hour: Bally-Hoo-for drinks, fish and chips and sunset. Sancochos-beer, conversation, and food.
Dinner: Olivias (Mediterranean) -make a reservation or come early at 5:30 to sit in the garden, the best service in town. Cockteleria Justicia Social (fresh seafood), Fredy's - family run and good food. Valasquez - (Seafood), Angelos's - Pasta, Brick Oven Pizza and Drinks.
Nightly Treat: Cool Ice Cream - the Kaluha is the best - don't miss it.

We can't wait to go back for a full week.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

What more could anyone want when going to Isla. We had a fabulous stay at Ixchel, we were a group of 6 co-workers who had a 2 bedroom suite. One room had a king size bed, the other room had 2 double beds, no one had to sleep on a futon or pull out couch. The rooms were very spacious, with plenty of room even for 4 women in one bedroom! The rooms were spotlessly clean everyday. From the king size bedroom on our 5th floor suite, we could see the beach when we opened our eyes in the morning, quite a spectacular site. Very nice large balcony which we sat 8 people easily some evenings. We never heard ANY noise from other rooms or above us. The beds were very comfortable, and I have to say I slept better then at home while I was there. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Yes, they were making a brick road down the street, but it didn't detract in any way from our holiday. And I am sorry we were too busy out on the beach or seeing the island to be concerned about the "starkness" of the decor! The beach was beautiful, with fine white sand, and umbrellas if you were not a sun lover. We were never unindated by the waiters from the restaurant. And we got a very good price for our stay. We will go back, no question.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

This hotel is right on the beach, great location. Room smelled really bad, even after they came sprayed some perfume scent in the room. Bed was a mattress on concrete blocks. Very uncomfortable. Walls paper thin, very noisy. Pool was poor, had to walk past piled up garbage to get to beach. On site restaurant, poor. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silkyterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ixchel Beach Hotel in late February/early March. The hotel is actually a new condominium which also offers hotel services. The suites are spacious and clean, with large balconies overlooking Playa Norte (regular rooms do not have balconies). The staff is very friendly and accommodating, room service and beach drink service are very efficient. The beach, pool and common areas of the hotel are all well-maintained. The location is probably the best on the island; right at the foot of Hidalgo Avenue, where many of the island's best restaurants are located. I honestly can not think of a bad thing to say about the Hotel, except I found it to be a bit sterile and lacking in the warmth and character that I travel to the island looking for. While the Ixchel Beach Hotel may fine be for some, I found it a bit bland and charmless.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The people were nice, but we thought this suite in the newest Ixchel bldg was over-priced ($275/night for a "penthouse suite") and completely soul-less. Nonetheless, it was a modern and a clean place to stay ,yet it contained not a hint of the land you're visiting. Facility-wise, the hot tub didn't work and wasn't addressed after a polite call to the desk, and the room safe had a glitch but that was addressed promptly by the staff. Speaking of the staff . . . they were uniformly nice and friendly, but didn't offer any truly helpful suggestions (e.g. "Which dive shop should we use?" brought a shrug and an "I don't know," from the front desk, and a request for a good place for seafood was met with an "any of the places a block over and down"--which wasn't exactly correct). If we went back and wanted to spend that much money again, we'd probably aim for a place with a bit more connection with the island, perhaps Na Balam or something along those lines.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D80205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
363 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $138 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing