We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, beautiful water, large and clean suite; we loved it!”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel unit 410 (a beachfront unit in the Phase II building) for 2 nights in early December as a stop on our honeymoon along the Riviera Maya. We loved the Ixchel, and if we go back to Isla Mujeres we would defintely stay here again. Per the advice from others on tripadvisor, we booked it through vrbo.com, which turned out to be a very good decision. It appeared to me that all the units that were available through vrbo were rented by 2 agents. One of them, Rod Dixon, got back to me very quickly and was responsive and patient as I asked him a thousand questions for only a 2 night stay. After I booked he continued to answer questions and send me helpful tips (pay the $3 to go out onto the rocks at Punta Sur and make sure to have the tixnchix fish at the tixnchix restaurant for lunch on Playa Lancheros were 2 of the best). The main benefit of using vrbo is you can pick which unit you want to stay in an see pics of it - the folks through the main Ixchel reservation email address were not helpful at all. Some more details:

The unit was huge, nicely decorated and clean. Both buildings are situated perpendicular to the ocean, so only the end units are full oceanfront. But the buildings are also at angles, so all the rooms look like they have a very good view. Being an end unit, our balcony was enormous, and wrapped around most of the unit, with sliding doors from the living room and bedroom. The view was amazing and was worth the trip to Isla on its own.

The beach was small in comparison to most along the mainland, but it was probably big compared to most places on the island. They were in the process of reclaiming it while we were there, and there were large sandbags there. No seaweed. The water was a beautiful green, pretty calm, and the water was shallow for long way out making it a great place to swim.

I had never been to Isla (or the Riviera Maya) before so I wasn't sure what to expect. The beach was a little more cramped than I expected, but the water more than made up for it. The town was also pretty cool, and probably smaller than I expected. The merchants were pretty vocal, but I think in a nicer way than in Playa del Carmen. The people were really nice, its hard to put yor finger on it, but they seemed a little more laid-back or genuine than most areas on the mainland (at least in our short trip)...If you go, think about Casa Rolandi (the one out of town at the villa Rolandi hotel) for dinner..

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjsWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights - we had booked the 1 bedroom suite and we were very impressed with the quality of the room. The suite came with all the amenities needed to cook in your own room - microwave, fridge, stove, cookware, etc. One of the best touches was the gallon jug of water available in the kitchen - a BIG plus in Mexico. We had a king size bed overlooking the ocean, and what a view! The suite came with a wrap around balcony which faced both the pool and the ocean. Walking to the ocean was a breeze - be sure to just use the chairs marked with the Ixchel logo - you'll get kicked out of the others if you don't pay up.

Downtown is easy walking distance - only about 2 short blocks away.

The rooms were clean & beautiful. Customer service was a bit lacking. The staff were mostly friendly, but I didn't get the feeling they really wanted us there. But, when you are coming and going, and don't need much from the staff, that's not that big of a deal. It's easy enough to overlook given the fantastic accomodations they offer.

Note: We did see the standard room, and it's very standard. If you can, spend a bit more for the 1 room suite. For just a little more, you'll feel like royalty.


There are several fantastic places to eat within short walking distance in the downtown area. We never had a bad meal. Drinks are 2 for 1 everywhere. We even tried Rolandos for pizza one night and it was fantastic. For oceanview dining, I'd recommend the Sunset Grill on the beach. Prices were a bit high there compared to other restaurants, but the food was fantastic. Oh, and Sunset grill offers FANTASTIC Margaritas - but watch out. They don't play with the Tequila and one of our friends on the trip had one too many and had to call it a very early night, missing the festivities in downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IslandPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Beautiful, very modern, and perfectly located. The rooms were exquisitely decorated. Leather coaches, wonderful artwork, large balconies, two large-screen TVs in a one-bedroom with DVD players. We highly recommend it.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank ricvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

This hotel has great north beach location & good design, which sheltered us from the typical issues of nearby construction, barking dog, bar noise late at night etc. Hotel backs onto the town, so you have restaurants & shops in easy walking distance but you still feel secluded looking out at ocean. Beach is small and would be crowded in busy season, but large shallow area for swimming. Our room was ample, modern marble bathroom, decent kitchen, large deck, high ceilings, tropical ocean view if a bit narrow. Go up to the roof for full view of island. Hotel seemed very new. Our furniture a bit Ikea-style sparse, and we couldn't help but notice the flat-screens in the other building, but we weren't there for the tv. Staff was nice and friendly. In November we felt like we were the only ones there as they geared up for the influx in December holiday season. The street leading to hotel was not the most elegant, and very dark at night--you have to walk between the power plant and the cemetery wall, but touring the historic cemetery with headstones dating to the 1800s was fun. Overall great experience, especially if you are not in the mood for anything too rustic.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Room was simply lovely..4th floor ocean front....excellent maid service, well equipped kitchenette.

Service at front desk excellent, they learned our names and chatted with us daily. Assisted with all needs and questions.

One block from the "downtown" bars and restaurants.

On-site restaurant/bar very good, named COMONO (why not)...breakfast selections from fruit to meusli to eggs. Excellent chef's salads.

Nearby restaurants for dinner, the BEST was Olivia's...Mediteranean in lovely setting, back garden....it's off the main street so ask a local.

Nice beach, altho small, beach replenishment in process.

Only the wait service at the beach was spotty....the rest was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank theflyingcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

what a cracking hotel. We only stayed one night after changing our plans as we really wanted to see Isla Mujeres but we wished we had stayed longer here.

Hotel - we were in room 402 in the west tower -this is a three star hotel but the room was great and there were better rooms there than what we booked. It was big light, airy, great shower and a lovely sea view. We had no balcony but the more expensive rooms do and some have a wraparound balcony and the penthouse suites look fantastic. If you stay there any length of time try and get one of these although the room we had was really good.

There is a canny pool although not very deep and just behind is the most amazing liitle beach, part of playa Norte.The sand is soft and deep and the water warm and clear and shallow.

There were no amenities in the room such as tea and coffe but we did have a water tower and there is a litle bistro by the pool. The hotel is also situated at the end of the main avenue for shopping and food etc. We found the prices here to be the cheapest we came across having spent two weeks in playa del Carmen and Cozumel.

Activities - although very small there is plenty to do if you can drag yourself out of the sea. We wish we had stayed longer as we only saw a tiny bit. The atmosphere there is very laid back , no wild parties here, and was the perfect end to our holiday, even the boat ride there is fun.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank broonaler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed in unit 709, the ocean front penthouse, from Sept 20-27, 2008 and loved every minute of it!!!

This is a one bedroom, bath and a half unit with kitchen, sitting area and very large wrap around balcony with jacuzzi. The bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed with flat screen TV, DVD player, a dresser and a closet with an in-wall safe. The main bathroom has a very large, all tiled shower with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The vanity is outside from the shower area and was roomy enough for my husband to place all his essentials. The half bath was a very good size with sink and a large counter where I placed my essentials.

The kitchen has a stove, microwave that also works as an oven, sink and large refrigerator/freezer. We were very pleased to find coffee mugs, glasses, dishes, bowls, silverware and basic cooking supplies to whip up our morning breakfast. Also, there was a coffee maker as well as a blender. Another great thing is the unit had a 5 gallon hot/cold water dispenser so we used it a lot to fill up our plastic water bottles we bought at a corner market. We saved a lot of money this way.

Off the kitchen is the dining area with a table and four chairs. Also, there is a couch, an ottoman and another chair with another flat screen HD TV, ipod docking station and DVD player.

The AC worked great in this unit and there was also two ceiling fans in the main living area and one ceiling fan in the bedroom.

The views from the very large wrap around balcony were amazing and worth every penny we paid to vacation in Isla!!! To sit out in the morning and have coffee to the incredible views was unforgettable. The jacuzzi was a very nice size and we found the water temperature perfect. Since it was so peaceful and beautiful on the balcony, we chose to have massages up there. Truly a peaceful and relaxing decision! (We used Mary Ann Burns from Therapeutic Massage.) There are lounge chairs, a table with four chairs and really comfy patio furniture on the balcony as well.

Housekeeping was included in our rental and we were replenished daily on coffee. We also received different towel animals each day we came back to the unit. Shampoo, conditioner and lotion was also available gratis.

There is free Wifi in the unit but my Mac would not catch the signal so I just went to the lobby where it worked every time.

The lobby was clean at all times. We never saw things out of place. The elevators, while small by US standards, did the job and were always right there for us. We never had to wait long. The staff at the front desk was very helpful every day.

We did not use the pool much but when we did, it was very clean, sunny and perfectly warm. We only went to the beach once and it was very nice. We could swim very far out and still be able to stand up. (We spent most of our time SCUBA diving, that's why we didn't use the pool or beach much.)

The location is definitely perfect. We were less than a five minute walk to all the markets, restaurants, bars and SCUBA shop.

We rented directly from the owners and that whole entire process went smoothly. The owners were very nice; answering my never ending questions on where to go for this or that. I appreciated that greatly.

If we ever get a chance to go to Isla Mujeres again, there is no doubt in mind that we'd stay in the same unit since everything about it is so perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank scrivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
373 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Miguel Hidalgo Street | North Beach, Center, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $128 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing