We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful condo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful condo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was my third trip to Isla and third times a charm. This beautiful condo is close to everything. Directly on the beach, one block from town. Shopping, restaurants, bars. Mauricio helped us so much from internet issues, to restaurant reservations. He directed us to Hotel Rolandi for my birthday dinner. Outstanding restaurant, dinner, and service. Mauricio, Thank you again for making our trip perfect. Clay & I will be back in the fall.

Room Tip: were were on the 6th. floor. great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    332
    86
    29
    17
See reviews for
374
540
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I almost don't want to review this sweet hotel in fear that there will be no availability the next time I try to make reservations there. Stayed in Building 2--awesome as long as your room is above the second floor. Second floor rooms can be at palm tree height and therefore block your view of the sea. Very spacious and clean room. Master BR is separate from living/dining/kitchen area. Very nice pull-out sofa that easily accommodated a hefty 18 year old boy. The beds are too firm and the pillows were a little lumpy but they give you lots of them! Clean room and excellent service, clean white sand beach. Beach service was perfect--service did not improve with tipping which proves that they train their staff well and with pride. I tipped every day for them to set up my chairs and for food/drink service but it was not necessary. One day when I was on the beach and had forgotten to bring cash, I still received top-notch service! The proximity of restaurants to this hotel could not be more perfect. Lots of delightful options to please anyone's palate! Love the casual lifestyle of this island. It is a complete opposite of Cancun and an easy, short ferry ride over. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Views of the sea are blocked by the tops of palm trees in many 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubaprop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dearest scubaprop4,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience!

We are more than pleased to know that you spent such a wonderful time with us and also appreciate the way that you highlight our accommodations, beach services and location. Positive reviews like yours, boost our energy and cheer up our service commitment.

We certainly be looking forward to a new opportunity to host you back and welcoming you with open arms.

All the best!
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Third stay at Ixchel, second in building 1, room 201/202, which is a 2BR/2BA. Ixchel is the most upscale property on Isla's best beach, North Beach, and one of the most luxurious on the entire island. This condo is spacious, comfy, and modern. You pay a little less because the view isn't the panorama other units offer, but it's still a lovely ocean view. Interior has: strong A/C, nice leather living room furniture, flat-screen TV, DVD player, some movies, big beds with cushy memory-foam toppers, spacious walk-in showers, pretty art, and ceiling fans. I sleep so well here. The location is superb - only one block to the heart of town. Beach chairs/umbrellas and towels are provided. The customer service is top-notch. Wifi kicks you off a lot and you can hear a lot of bangs and thumps echoing through the building from your room, but those are minor compared to the luxuries here. Also, the beach in front of Ixchel is more crowded with chairs from new beach clubs that now share this area, but on the plus side, the day boats don't encroach into the swimming area anymore.

Also, the food is fantastic, and delivered to the room or to your beach chair. Residents have signing privileges.

Walk west to Chi Chi and Charlies and find Juan Campos, a professional sailor who offers sailing, sunset, snorkeling and fishing trips on his 36' boat. You can just flag him down in the water, too - I've done this twice! He'll be paddleboarding or windsurfing. Just yell "Juan!" Great prices, great guy. Lots of fun and a real pro.

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the better the view, but 201, 301, 401 and 501 still have good views for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The location can't be beat. The beach is beautiful (chairs and umbrellas provided) and shops and restaurants are just steps away. The service is OUTSTANDING. The best customer service I've received in ages, from all levels of staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IxchelGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear IxchelGuest,

Thank you for such kind comments!

Your smile is our purpose. If we achieved this target then we know you enjoyed your stay and you may return to Isla Mujeres in the future. If so, please consider the Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home in the Mexican Caribbean and we will gladly be looking forward to your next visit.

Very best regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the best location on the island. We checked them all out! The other hotel beaches cannot compare. Ixchel is on the nicest stretch of beach. The service was excellent and was very clean. The room we had was not plush but certainly met our needs. I think other rooms were all a bit different as they are time shares so some may be nicer than others. We loved our stay. It is very close to all restaurants etc. EXCELLENT LOCATION

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandtraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few days before heading to Cancun.Very pleasant experience.Since we arrived to Isla we knew that we were in for something special.The isla itself,the beach etc amazing.A paradise.The Ixchel greet us with those amazing views and its friendly staff.I would never hesitate to both stay and recommend this hotel.Go and discover yourself the best of Isla Mujeres.Paradise

Julio Figueroa
Ft Lauderdale

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel, room was large with massive shower, free 5l of water and nice toiletries. The bed was massive and really comfortable.

The nicest thing though was you got up in the morning walked out by the pool and you are in north beach with white sand and crystal clear water. You collect a towel and find a chair and there are waiters there to give you breakfast on the beach or a cocktail or whatever. Staff were really nice and very helpful. Also you are very close to the Main Street with all the lovely restaurants and cafes and shops.

I would love to stay here again and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garglegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing