We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time on Isla” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time on Isla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our first trip to Mexico and it was great. Our room was fantastic with a real nice view of the pools and the beach. Mauricio and his staff were excellant. The staff at the beach looked after us very well. They set up umbrellas, delivered food and drinks non stop all day every day we were there. Everyone was always smiling and very friendly. Overall the prices were quite reasonable for the room, food and drinks.

Room Tip: We were with two other couples and it didnt matter where the rooms were they were all good. The corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DARRYL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    346
    87
    31
    21
See reviews for
397
566
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Location was great! Just a short walk to everything. The staff was awesome and very help full . The beach was great .... lots of chairs. You can enjoy a awesome lunch on the beach, the taco were great! Isla Mujeres is a awesome place to visit. The people on the island were great the food was awesome.

Room Tip: Any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHillhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Greetings dear SueHillhouse,

Thank you for your visit and for your positive review.

Undoubtedly we are here for you and we feel honored to hear that our Guests can return home with great memories to share and remember.

Your smile is our purpose, if we achieve this target then we know you enjoyed your stay and you may return to Isla Mujeres in the future; if so, please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home and we will look for another opportunity to have you back.

All the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Indeed the third time's the charm since this was my third time to Isla and it has gotten even BETTER than my previous excellent trips! A big part of that was staying at the Ixchel Beach Hotel. Reserved complimentary beach lounges, check. Beach side wait service, check. Walk to most downtown restaurants, check. No schlepping of beach stuff any further than our front "yard", check. Great views, check. Location, triple check.

In addition, every single one of the staff people were wonderful. That is extraordinary at any property, let alone a mid-priced property off the coast of Mexico. Our room was beautifully decorated by the owners. We asked for photos of each of the rooms that were available when we reserved and chose the one we liked the best. We were not disappointed in our 1 bedroom/1 bath with balcony condominium accommodations.

I am telling you this because I want them to be successful so I can keep coming back, but please shhhhh don't tell too many other people because I want there to be room there for my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask to see pictures of the room before booking. Phase 2 units do not get the late day sun in the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mairzydoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

It's hard to review this resort. If I could give it 3.5 stars I would. The staff and views are amazing but the rooms are just ok. The beach is beautiful, but crowded and quite a few of the chairs there are for the nearby beach clubs. People were out saving chairs at 6 a.m. Although near town, Ixchel is far enough away that it isn't too noisy there.

A lot of people told us Mujeres was a quiet, sleepy little island with beautiful beaches. Well, it's quiet compared to Cancun or 5th Avenue in Playa, not compared to anywhere else. There was a lot of partying on the main drag, which did spill over a bit. We weren't really expecting the drunken crowd scene but were looking for a place to unwind and relax.

The rooms at Ixchel vary greatly depending on who you rent from. We rented directly from the hotel and got a one bedroom penthouse. The room itself was adequate, but too small for us and our two kids. The rooftop deck was enormous and absolutely fabulous. However, the stairs leading up there were really trecherous for our four year old. She could have fallen through the gaps between the bars, directly down five floors. So, we couldn't head up there while she was asleep, being afraid she'd follow us. So we didn't get as much use out of it as we would have liked. In retrospect we should have just rented a two bedroom.

Staff were great, going above and beyond when one of us had a medical issue in the middle of the night. A staff member actually walked with us to the pharmacy so we could get past the communication gap and get medication. The concierge there was one of the best I've met, such a genuinely nice person.

Room Tip: If your kids are under 6 I would not do the penthouses with the rooftop decks, stairs are scary for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineseeker425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dearest sunshineseeker425,

Thank you for sharing your experience while your recent stay at Isla Mujeres and for your valuable review of Ixchel Beach Hotel.

It’s always our pleasure to serve with quality and commitment in order to deliver the most enjoyable moments to our Guests. Our Staff always be looking forward to attend any of your needs while you are away from home.

If you may return to the Caribbean, please remember that we’ll be glad to welcoming you with open arms!!!

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just returned from spending a wonderful week in Isla Mujeres. This hotel is just at the end of the pedestrian mall, but far enough away (and facing the beach) to have quiet evenings with almost no noise. We had a one bedroom suite, with well stocked kitchen including bottled water station, AC, fireplace, and large HD TV. Our balcony overlooked the pool and the ocean, and we spent each night enjoying the view with a glass of wine. The staff were uniformly helpful, friendly and efficient, and gave good advice on places to go and where to eat. Make sure to venture away from the pedestrian mall: the two best places for excellent seafood are along the harbor-side road, near the ferry station: 1 is Brisas Grill Restaurant & Bar; the other is just down the street from it, near the gas station (forget name).

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool, top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anyuser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This was our third trip to Isla Mujeres and our first time at Ixchel. The beach here is by far the best sand and scenery I've experienced on the island. Check in here is a breeze compared to our other experiences on the island. We wee in building II, and the view from our room was fantastic. It may be a strange thing to rave about, but the rooms come with a water cooler. Not having to make a run to the store first thing when you arrive to stock up on bottled water is so convenient, we truly appreciated that perk. The bed was firm but comfortable. The decor is beautiful, Mexican artwork and the colors were vibrant and harmonious. The location to downtown is fantastic; walk half a block, cross the street and there you are. Ixchel has a program that lets you charge to your room thru 5-6 restaurants, which we took advantage of occasionally. The exercise room is small but well equipped. This is hotel I will definitely return to.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Melissa F

Thank you for visiting Ixchel Beach Hotel, and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased that to know that your enjoyed your recent stay. Your review motivates us to keep providing and improving the quality services that we offer.

We will certainly look forward to hosting you for your next travel to Isla Mujeres, It will be our pleasure to have you back.

All the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinque Terre, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Great location, great price, huge room, well maintained and clean...surprise sea view...also easy to rent a golf cart at the place next door. It was also no problem getting sun beds in the morning as there were plenty, even with the horrible people "reserving" 10 of them at 8 am with their towels, then not showing up til noon...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing