We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st family vacation, rooms disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“1st family vacation, rooms disappointed”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I worked hard planning our first family vacation. I did my reservation directly thru Ixchel. I requested a bottom room and a two bedroom condo so that the 13 of us would have a common area to hang out and my parents to have a place to rest during the day while the younger ones enjoyed the pool and beach. When I arrived the door was locked between the living area and it was like having to small hotel rooms. I was very disappointed. My parents had to lay in a bed for hours instead of having a nice living area to relax in and a balcony were they could have sit and watched. When a condo is rented as a two bedroom it should be all open and not locked off as 2 seperate rooms. We might as well have been with two rooms that were just the hotel style with no living area. It would have been a lot cheaper. Very disappointed. I will only rent VRBO next time so I know exactly which condo I'm getting.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherylbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Cherylbrewer,

Thank you very much for your valuable review.

Our mission is to serve with quality and commitment in order to deliver the best possible experience to our guests. We have Front Desk staff always at your service and ready to assist you looking forward to attend all of your needs immediately with a simple call.

If you may return to Isla Mujeres, please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home, we always be looking forward to welcoming you open arms!

All the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    349
    89
    31
    21
See reviews for
405
572
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had no expectations prior to our 7 day stay at this hotel and within hours of arriving we already decided that we would definitely be coming back to Ixchel Beach Hotel on our next visit to Isla Mujeres. You can't beat its location and accessibility to everything from the beach to amazing restaurants. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. We had arrived almost 4 hours before check-in and were pleasantly surprised to learn that our room was ready. Mauricio (responsible in setting up tours) was extremely helpful in answering all of our questions from where's the best place to snorkel to where can we rent bicycles. The cleaning staff were excellent and our room was cleaned daily (the floors were wash everyday especially since we tracked in so much salt and sand). We had booked a basic standard room on the west tower on the 5th floor. We did not expect the room to also include a mini fridge, microwave, dishes with cutlery, and a 10 gallon water dispenser (this was a big bonus for us!). Although we did not have a balcony (which we will opt for next time), the view from the open air hallway in front of our hotel room was spectacular. This was like our giant balcony and the sunset views over the ocean were one of the highlights each evening before we went for dinner. We specifically wanted a quiet and restful stay and this hotel did not disappoint. Despite being located on Hidalgo Avenue (the main tourist drag) the hotel is at the very north end of the street down a very quiet corridor. There were many other hotels on Hildalgo Avenue right in the heart of the action and located upstairs from noisy bars. Ixchel was definitely not like these hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grrlsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear grrlsquirrel,

How great to hear about your memorable experience at Ixchel Beach Hotel.

Thank you for your kindest comments, they are highly appreciate. Positive reviews reinforce our mission to provide the best experience for our Guest and help us to keep up the good work.

We always be here for you and it would be an honor to host you back to let us make your next stay unforgettable.

Very best regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was wonderful! Clean and quiet. The hotel staff is friendly and speaks enough English, however i recommend learning a few key Spanish phrases to accommodate the native language. It will be much appreciated by the staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MEORTIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We switched from a neighboring hotel to Ixchel halfway through our week-long stay in Isla Mujeres in early January 2014. Christina at the front desk is amazing - she accommodated us with a beautiful room with pool views within less than an hour of dropping in to ask about availability. The hotel is clean and safe, the staff is friendly and accommodating, and the location can't be beat on Playa Norte. If we return to Isla Mujeres in the future we will definitely be staying at Ixchel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent location on Playa Norte with a clean beautiful beach and easy ocean swimming right there. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with kitchen and balcony and it was great for 2 adults, 1 child. Definitely spring for a balcony if you can, because it's nice to have coffee or drinks out there and look out over the water.

Service was top-notch and friendly and our check-in/check-out was very smooth. They have beach toys available for castle building, so no need to bring them. The pool was very warm and shady in the afternoon, which was a great for getting my kid out of the sun, but keeping her happy until the end of day.

We were very happy with the location at the north end of Hildalgo. So easy to walk Hildalgo and have lots of food options, plus grocery stores, juice bars and shops. The location is very ideal and really seals the deal on Ixchel.

There is some snorkeling nearby at Avalon Reef club. It's not great, but there are schools of fish and it's shallow, so easy for kids. We also went to Garrafon, and honestly it was about the same as near Avalon, which was surprising.

We didn't have any problem with late-night noise or construction. All our neighbors were very respectful of the 11pm noise curfew. From what I saw, it's mostly families and couples staying there. Not a lot of loud partying going on.

Definitely would recommend to my friends and go back ourselves. I miss it all already.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterwings13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear waterwings13

Thank you for your valuable review!

All direct comments of our Customers are highly appreciate. Like yours, positive reviews reinforce our mission to provide the best experience for our Guest and help us to keep up the good work.

How great to hear about your experience at Ixchel, we will certainly look forward to your next visit to become your vacations in great memories to share!

Kindest regards,
Customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for three days in the peak season with kids. Our room was small (no balcony) but with a separate corridor to the bathroom very functional. This feels less like a hotel, and more like an apartment hotel. Nice interior decoration. Microwave was great to warm up baby food. Staff was friendly except for the somewhat odd check-in (they asked for the Expedia email that confirmed the room, just the confirmation number was not sufficient - good we had our laptop). Beach is nice, and umbrella/chairs are free for guests. Location is fantastic at the north end of Hidalgo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Fabulous location, great service. I have made this property my accommodation choice for the past 7 years. Service and friendliness of staff, amenities and nicely appointed condos make it for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mary L

Thank you for visiting Ixchel Beach Hotel.

We are pleased that your previous and recent stay was wonderful experiences.

Your review motivates us to keep providing and improving the quality services that we offer.

We will certainly look forward to hosting you for your next travel, should you consider us when visiting Isla Mujeres, it will be a pleasure.

Kindest regards.

Sincerely,

Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
2,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
680 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing