We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect week on the beach.”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We loved Ixchel! Rooms were clean and the daily cleaning service was great. The front desk was super helpful. If you want a "front row" beach chair get out to the beach with your towels by 7:30, at least during busy times of the year.

The concierge (who is amazing) helped us rent a golf cart (have him look into it the evening before to make sure there is one available, we had a bit of a problem reserving one the same morning but it worked out in the end) and recommended spots for us to check out that day. Lunch at Zama beach club is a must after the golf cart tour, hop in the pool to cool off and enjoy a yummy lunch!

It would have been nice to have the beach raked daily, they did it every other day and it was much nicer when it was raked and maintained.

We loved the Sunset Grill right next door to the hotel, an easy walk for dinner on the beach. We loved Ixchel and Isla Mujeres in general!

Room Tip: If you only need one room, spring for the sleeping room plus kitchen/living area (vs just the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

The room and beach were great. Very close to a lot of good restaurants. Only complaint is the hotel had no tea available for breakfast - only coffee. Bring your own bag and they will give you hot water! It was a family place with lots of kids but it wasn't noisy. I was disappointed in the beach massage.....loud music playing next door.

Room Tip: I would book a suite so you get the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Pam C

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Your information is high valued to us as it helps shape/adjust our procedures to satisfy all of your needs.

We always be here for you and we invite you to come back to let us make your next stay unforgettable.

All the best,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

great beach, good restaurant on property. great restaurant nearby, Roosters, which accepts hotel charges. fantastic manager, Maritzio, always there smiling and helpful. comfortable Sealy beds.
good shower head and pressure. friendly. safe in room. a great alternative to Cancun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spent 7 days and 6 nights at Ixshel Beach Hotel. I had referred to Tripadvisor and had waited months for this vacation.

Night 1
We arrived after a day of travel. It was peaceful, relaxing and I was happy with my 2 bedroom condo style suite on the top 2 floors.

We had selected Isla Mujeres because we were told, unlike Cancun, it was quiet and did not have all the ruckus or a party town feel. That you could relax and unwind. At about dawn the construction began about 5' from the hotel building. Loud saws, banging and construction noised continued until an hour after sunset every day that I was there. You cannot nap during the day, or lay at the pool without the constant noise.

Night 2
Between 8 to 10 college types moved into the 2 bedroom suite next door. There was constant knocking on their door, the door slamming, more knocking, people talking loudly in the hallway from 11 to 2 am. No hotel staff interceded in spite of the cacophony of noise.

The hallways and walkways are open so that you can hear noises from other floor. There was no hotel staff monitoring the peace during my stay.

Night 3
There are several small bars within a few feet of the hotel property. Each played their own music loudly during the night. There were people using fireworks in the street. I asked the front desk about this I was told politely "we have no control over others, it is not part of our property".

Night 4
Some tent like awnings were setup in the street during the day on the street beside the hotel. Blaring music was played from 8pm to past 2 am. When I asked the front desk about this I was told politely "we have no control over others, it is not part of our property".

Night 5
There is a large hut (pavilion) that is so close to the hotel that I thought it was part of the hotel, it can be seen in the pictures of the hotel. Starting at 11pm and going until well past 3 am a party was held with loud music from a video that was shown on a big screen with the audio sent through amplifiers. The noise from this was so loud that it vibrated the liquid in my glass inspite of all doors and widows being shut. I literally could see the ripples in the liquid as the sound waves penetrated everything till 3 in the morning. When I asked the front desk about this I was told politely "we have no control over others, it is not part of our property" that the pavilion was not part of the property.

Night 6
Noise from hotel guest coming back from the bars with no hotel staff monitoring the peace.

Visually this is a beautiful place. The condo was great I have no complaints in the accommodation. They do not have control over others not part of their property and they do not monitor the noise generated in their property. If you are a party animal and don't mind loud noise this is the place, party on.

It was disappointing to call the area tranquil is misleading I would not go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler_Mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights.
Not sure how their breakfast is because we didn't have it with the room.
A block away, the Rooster and Lola's were both great and conveniently located.
We didn't utilize housekeeping because our room was a bit of organized chaos.
They were quick to bring us fresh towels.
Our first room smelled like mold and they quickly changed it without any problem.
The beach is right next to the buildings. We didn't have food/drink on the beach, but the sun bathers who did seemed happy with the quality and service.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in back and still had a great view of the pool area. We didn't have a balcony, but spent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knotguilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Another excellent vacation at Ixchel! Staff friendly, helpful & professional. Our oceanfront unit in Phase 2 was comfortable, squeaky clean and had everything that we needed or wanted in terms of amenities, kitchen supplies, linens and staff service. Great location on Playe Norte with easy walk to restaurants & shopping. Our favorite place to stay when on Isla!

Room Tip: Ocean front units have wrap around balcony so there is always one shady/sunny side with awesome view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The palapa out front was rented to the locals for a party. Drunken kareoke went in for several hours. The front desk did nothing. I guess I am just expected to pay their rates for a room and suffer through it. I will make sure all my friends know to rent a house on punta sur.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
13  Thank crimepays1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear crimepays1229,

Thank you for your valuable comments!

Receive our sincere apologies for the inconveniences described during this “social event” realized in the palapa in front of our facilities.

This place is not related with Ixchel Beach Hotel, nevertheless we take your input in this case as a serious matter to reinforce our Front Desk assistance to deal with this type of private events in the best way possible. Your useful review helped us as a testimony to keep our Municipal Authorities aware of this kind of irregularities.

Our mission is to serve with quality and commitment in order to deliver the best possible experience to our guests, if you may return to Isla Mujeres please consider to stay with us again and be witness of how your comments helped us to boost and enhance our service.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
373 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Miguel Hidalgo Street | North Beach, Center, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $128 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing