We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel experience in Mexico I have ever had.”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Ixchel Beach Hotel is a hidden diamond. There are no flashy commercials. It's not all inclusive, and it's not giant. It is quiet, has far better accommodations than any all inclusive in the penthouse rooms (beautifully modern style appointed condo with huge king master bedroom, shower for two, a beautiful living room/dining room combo, a kitchen including microwave full cook top, large refrigerator and granite bar with sink, a huge wrap around balcony with a bar, long dining table, two person wooden patio mattress bed and cushioned benches and a hot tub!). And it will cost a quarter or less of a really nice all inclusive. They have a small restaurant on premise, room service, a spa, a pool and the best beach on the island! The concierge Mauricio is happy to help you with anything you might need, and the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. A few things you should keep in mind: 1.) the palapa restaurant is not part of the hotel. It is EXPENSIVE, and you have to pay cash. They don't tell you they are not a part of the hotel. Don't go there. It's not worth it. The very small restaurant closer to the hotel is part of the hotel and you can charge meals to your room. The food is good there, but not as good as restaurants in town. Always look for the Ixchel logo on a server/bartender's shirt to make sure they are part of Ixchel, other wise you will pay a lot more, and you will have to pay cash. 2.) get pesos when you get there, but go to a bank to do get money from an ATM. The ATM fee is 25 pesos, about $2 US. 3.) get a massage at Ixchel. It is only $65 for an hour, which is cheap, and it is awesome! 4.) rent a golf cart and drive around the island. It's great to see everything and not be stuck on a resort. 5.) @ Ixchel the water is backwards - blue is hot, red is cold. That's the European way apparently.

We will always come back here now. It is our favorite!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kareenmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Kareenmc,

Thank you for your valuable comments!

Your review motivates us to keep providing and improving the quality services that we offer.

How great to hear about your experience at Ixchel, we will certainly look forward to your next visit to become your vacations in great memories to share.

All the best,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
There are newer reviews for Ixchel Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ixchel in Sept 2013, and it was a wonderful location. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly and could communicate well. The pool is clean and the staff waits on you very well, my drink was hardly ever empty. This goes do the beach as well, it is clean and there is always someone to get you what you need. My husband and I had massages on the beach and it was a wonderful experience. In addition I had a massage in the in door Spa. Other than it was smaller than my expectation, everything was excellent! My 1 1/2 hour massage lasted a good amount longer and it was amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jrcuse1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ixchel beach resort is a fantastic place to spend your tropical vacation. The staff was unbelievable the rooms are immaculately maintained. My wife and I spent 3 days and are already planning our next trip in just a few months.

Mauricio was so helpful and booked all our activities. Anselmo could mix the

Room Tip: beach view are the best
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very nice hotel for the money. Besides me not knowing much Spanish, "most" hotel employees communicated fairly good. All were eager to help you in any way possible.Absolutely beautiful white sand beach with crystal clear blue water! Only negative was it had no restraunt.

Room Tip: There is a difference between ocean front and ocean view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diceareout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Ixchel 1 units 301 & 302 for 10 nights at the end of August. The rooms are beautifully decorated and up to date, with an excellent view of the beach.

We were a group of 4- parents with a toddler and a lucky grandmother.

The advantage of booking the lockout (302) allowed us to have a fantastic family vacation but some privacy at the same time.

Pictures do not do the hotel, units, view or beach justice.

Pros-

- could not be closer to Playa Norte
-walking distance to Hidalgo (main st on Isla) where the character of the shops and many fantastic restaurants will keep you interested.
-friendly and helpful staff made booking dinners at affiliate restaurants and golf cart rental super easy.
-Highly recommend renting a golf cart. It made our experience on the island so much richer.

Cons
- it was very hot in August, but thankfully the hottet part of the day was also nap time. And the breeze on the golf cart made it bearable. Going in August also allowed us to witness sea turtles coming ashore to lay their eggs.. A once in a lifetime experience we will never forget.
- coming up with cons is obviously difficult. We enjoyed our time at Ixchel immensely and plan on returning to the same unit in the future. Enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elaina12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ixchel 2 years ago and loved it! BUT we have a reservation for Feb 2014 and had to cancel. I have called and talked to Daniel at the hotel 3 times, the first time in July 2013 and each time he said he would credit us our $447 deposit and it has yet to be credited back to our credit card. I am going to call him again tomorrow. So while we love staying at Ixchel, I am not happy about the hassle we are having trying to get our money back from our deposit........

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank King69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful condo with a unique rooftop terrace. Great for relaxing and having a nice come out or to have some friends over for dinner. Right on the beach and the service from the management group was top notch. Recommend 100% :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bpriest2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
420 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
356 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $145 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing