We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa La Media Luna Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Posada Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$91
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
$233
$211
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Joya(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
$254
$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$600
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
$584
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,514)
Filter reviews
1,514 results
Traveler rating
969
386
100
36
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
969
386
100
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya norteixchel iithrough vrbothe penthousebedroom suitegolf cartfull kitchenocean frontstandard roombeautiful beachchairs and umbrellashot tubhidalgo streetbeach servicebest beach on the islandan umbrellarestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
793 - 798 of 1,514 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Though we visited Isla Mujeres previouisly, this was our first time to stay on the island. We stayed 8 nights at Ixchel in building #1. We rented through Rod on VBRO. We absolutely loved Ixchel. Our condo was large containing a kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom, bathroom, and balcony. We only used the refrigerator and coffee maker in the kitchen. However, you could cook as much as you wish. There were also 2 flat screen televisions in our place. The place is clean, comfortable, and has air conditioning which is needed on the island. The marble sit-down shower is large and the shower head is about 6 1/2 - 7 feet up from the floor. You don't find a great shower in many accommodations these days. The staff is friendly and helpful. We were especially impressed with Mauricio (property manager), Angelica (front desk), and Gabriel (Kalak Restaurant on the beach). Housekeeping does a great job of keeping your place tidy. We met some people who stayed at PA and came over to our beach to see us and were impressed with Ixchel. We have stayed at many places in Costa Rica, Mexico, Hawaii, and Puerto Rico and Ixchel rates on top of all of them. You are basically right on Playa Norte. I got up at 6:00 am several days for an early swim. Ixchel is near all of the restaurants and shopping in El Centro. Some people have said they didn't like being in building #2 because the sun shines in their windows early in the morning. I read reports about the smallness of the pools. There are 2 pools at Ixhcel. We did not use the pools but went by them several times a day. They were not overly crowded. We prefer to be at the beach when possible. Towels and chairs and umbrellas are easy to acquire. The beach towels are large. You do need to understand that each condo is decorated differently. Rod was great with assisting with our needs. We will definitely stay at Ixchel again when returning to Isla Mujeres. You can send me an email if you have further questions.

Room Tip: 1. Stay in Building #1 if you are not an early riser. 2. Depending on the season, get to the beach fairly early to get your chair and umbrella. 3. It is HOT on the island during the summer.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcikon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

there was humid in the room, and lots of little ants. the beds were hard and the staff was unhelpful. location was good, close to many resturantes and shops.
Would not recomend this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triphege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Triphege:

Thank you for your valuable comments! Receive our sincere apologies for the inconveniences described while your recent stay with us. Our Guests input is a powerful tool to identify immediate actions to adjust where we need to. We accept this challenge to improve and look forward to host you back again soon!

Best regards,

Ixchel Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here in 2009 it had just opened. Still it was beautiful and a wonderful location for town and for the beach. In a small place like this it is wonderful go out for lunch then just a few feet and you can go back and take a nap. The room had everything a full kitchen and access to the beach from the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastravelgal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were floored the minute we walked into our ocean front room on 5th floor. Wrap around balcony, crystal blue water, friendly concierge, fun activities! I loved the island and snorkeled with the whale sharks. I will return to Isla and will definitely stay at Ixchel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbiermanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, our room was beautiful, on-site restaurant was great, beach was great for swimming, the staff was very helpful. Mauricio is the on site property manager, and he greeted us warmly as we stumbled in to reception on our first day, discombobulated (a word that he liked- said it was a good "ten dollar word to have in his pocket") from our travel. He showed us around, gave us the scoop on how to get settled, and treated us with the respect of an old friend. No complaints whatsoever on that score!

I think the issue for us was that you can't pick your neighbors! As with any large(r) property, you will have a higher percentage of loudmouths / yahoos / total [--] staying there, and it only takes one disrespectful group to overshadow the experiences of the other guests. One or two groups of idiots does-not-a-vacation-ruin, but they sure standout among the normal & respectful guests. There is no need for me to go into details- the review is about the property, not the guests.

Our experience of Isla Mujeres was pretty good, but not really what we were looking for as an active, quiet-seeking family with two boys, 10 & 13. So while we had fun driving the golf cart around the island for the day, the beach and the restaurants, I believe that Isla Mujeres is best suited for those who are looking to lay on the beach and not really do anything else but eat. Sure, there are whale shark trips and guided snorkeling trips, but were were not wanting to spend $500 for the former, and we did the latter elsewhere in Mexico for free! (As far as we could find, there was not much self guided snorkeling, but maybe we missed something. There is a resort on the very northern tip of the island, not far from Ixchel, that is accessed by a bridge- a cove there had some cool fish.) We were certainly not looking for a sanitized version of Mexico (we would've stayed in one of the completely cut-off MegaResorts if we did), but the island was pretty trashed by past hurricanes (with a lot of debris strewn about) and a decent amount of trash everywhere. I believe the island's proximity to Cancun keeps the sheer # of visitors high, and their associated impact is immediately apparent.

Enough complaining! Things to not miss if you do go:

*Rent a golf cart & drive to the south end of the island- it's totally fun and you're not tied to getting/paying for a cab.
*Go to the Tortugagranja- (sea turtle conservation farm) the baby sea turtles are indescribably cute, as are the the juveniles. We snorkeled with mature turtles in Akumal, and it was a treat to see them here as well. Do not skip this- it made our stay worthwhile!
*Eat at Rooster, Mango Cafe and Angelo's (if you are sick of Mexican food, Angelo's is great Italian for a change of pace)
*If you have a room with a kitchen & don't mind cooking while on vacation (to save a little cash), take a cab (or your golf cart!) south down the main road to the Chedraui supermarket- better prices & selection than the gringo markets near the main hotels. Get the fresh tortillas, they're delicious!

Have fun!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews