We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were here 2 nites January 2012. The desk staff was very helpful and friendly, but the room was on the expensive side for what we got. The room is very basic and the place could use some upkeep, but basically clean. The location is ideal, right on the main pedestrian street where most of the restaurants and shops are.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weasel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 249 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

Just got home from a week in Isla. We've been going once or twice a year for 9 years. Last minute decisions caused us to look for new accomidations! Only tip I would add is that if you have children ask for the ground level. Without children the 2nd floor is perfect. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: See above. Children with parents :) will enjoy the pool!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

A hawker guided us to this place. Told it,was $700 pesos. Not quite correct, but the place was as good as they come for the money. Good rooms with good cable TV. Decent pool and sleeping was quiet. The night time street was ablaze with light and action, but the sound did not come into the rooms. Street traffic kept off the front road. A couple doors north (?) was Valentina's place. Good chow! Decent place to stay. We were not tempted to move. Anything less money is a dive. Anything more is WAY more money.

Room Tip: T o find a better room, get out your wallet. Any room in this place is good. Decent standard America...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed for four nights and had a great time. Especially the kitchenette in the room was a huge hit after travelling in three weeks with small kids and many restaurants visits. We lovede to be able to buy some basic things in the supermarked and have some quite mornings and lunch breaks alone. The pool is small, clean and nice. Warmly recommed this place

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rejseklaraltid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Everything worked. Helpful. Best value not on the beach. We liked central location.

Room Tip: Request poolside room, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ambd3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We have stayed on Isla Mujeres on two seperate occasions both being at Plaza Almendros.
What a great place. If you were walking down the street you would not have any idea you walked passed it. This hotel is a hidden gem located in the back of local resturants and busnisses.
The entrance is a hallway between two busnisses. Once through the hallway you enter into a lobby and a courtyard which has a great outdoor pool surrounded by palm trees. Around the pool area are ground level rooms with your own outside sitting area. The rooms are nothing spectacular but have everything you need micro,fridge etc. and full baths with queen beds ( a little firmer than I liked ) and airconditioning.
Economical? You bet. My wife and I stayed there for two weeks. We ate out every night at some very good resturants and in the end found it was cheaper than staying one week at an all enclusive.
The last I saw, room rates were $85.00 per night and well worth the value.
I would highly recommend this place as you are right in the town's excitment, close to the beautifll north beach and great food. DO IT.
We will be back on the island this Janurary but have desided to rent a house with two other couples so I will keep you posted as to what our experience was like later on.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool area where not reno'ed when we were there but comfortable. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Only possible complaint some may have(not me) is that mattress is too hard. Convenient Hidalgo location puts one in Centro's center.Just a short distance to the beach. I understand there are king beds up stairs. Our choice is 2 beds on the first level. Upstairs rooms maybe noisy in high season. We opt for a room away from Hidalgo.
Rooms are clean and are kept in good condition. Pool is cleaned daily. Staff is helpful.
Currently I am 76 years old, and if I and my wife remain healthy, I'll make a reservation and be here next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kinich
Hotel Kinich
#23 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Almendros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Almendros

Address: Av. Hidalgo Lote 14, Sm 1, Mz. 18, Isla Mujeres 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $55 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plaza Almendros 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Plaza Almendros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Almendros Hotel
Plaza Almendros Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing