We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitos were terrible”
Review of Hotel Villa Kiin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kiin
Ranked #9 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have stayed at Villa Kiin many times and love its perfect location on North Beach. Unfortunately, MOST of the women at the front desk seem unhappy and miserable. For example, it seemed to be too much to get my sandy beach towels exchanged for new ones (you can exchange on every third day). The woman was not too happy to have me "bother" her. Such sour faces worked that front desk! What a shame. There's an older woman who works the desk who is very kind and nice. The mosquitos in the room were dreadful. My child was bitten to pieces by the mosquitos. We used a mosquito coil in the room and put bug repellent on her. I would like to come back again, but with the mosquito problem that has happened a few times, I just can't do this to my daughter again. I also could not sleep because I was being bitten by mosquitos but my bites at least did not swell.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeobrahX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Isla is a paradise corner of the earth. The rooms at the basement are completely surrounded by nature and in Maya style. There are hammocks in the garden and free showers. The beach is just outside the rooms and it is very well located close to the center. The breakfast is another great experience: 5 minutes walking on the white beach, under palms and admiring the caribbean sea, to a very close bar on the beach where you can have bread, coffe, marmalade and chocolate for free, but you can order incredible yogurt for few. Highly recommended. Ask for a room at the basement in Maya style.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_fox85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I just stayed at Hotel Villa Kiin and really liked it. There are various types of rooms and the first two I saw were way too dark for me. I stayed in room 18, with lots of light, a spacious bathroom and a comfortable bed. I loved the hamac garden where I could lounge in peace watching the sunset at the end of the day. The internet connection worked very well in the well stocked reading room and near the reception area. I looooved having a mini convenience store in the hotel as it was hot.hot.hot on isla last week. They had big and small cold water bottles and sodas as well as some chips.
The location is great. I did not swim on the beach right in front of the hotel as it got crowded but went a few feet down to Nabalam, paid $10 more and relaxed. It's a short walk to Hidalgo, where you can find most of the restaurants frequented by tourists. Fenix, the bar/restaurant right across the street has great salsa parties on sundays.
The staff was helpful, courteous and approachable. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AubadeWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after our trip to Cuba and it was very nice hotel surrounding sea themes including creative uses of sea shells, hammocks and huts which made us feel that we were actually on an island which was so cool!!
You can walk steps to the beach and the hotel provide free snorkel kit and although the water is waist deep at most parts there is so many fishes and perfect for those who is not experienced with snorkeling.
On our first night the A/C worked but on 2nd night it didn't and we were too lazy to complain so we used the ceiling fan instead.
This hotel is at good location in terms of beach and down town which is only 5 mins walk away, comes with decent sized room and decent sized bathroom and comes has mini fridge.
We will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been going to Villa Kiin for approx the past 6 years and have seen the place grow and change.
The place is safe, clean and the staff ( the ladies at the front desk and our pal Nicholas) do all they can, and what ever we needed....
The cove is simply divine, the water crystal clear, and a dream for people lie me who are good swimmers, but a bit timid...snorkle out to "the rock" and you will see so many fish! We would go to the supermarket downtown...really a village sort of downtown ,purchase crackers and feed the fish.....we eat locally, and can recommend Loncheria 2 blocks away for authentic mexican lunch and early dinner....also minions...on the bay side f the island...
we love villa kiin , and recommend it highly.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriYogagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We love Mexico and Isla, we loved this location (next to the beach and everything) and the garden courtyard. Basically for the price it was disappointing especially due to the fact that they give you the price of the room in USD and then you have to pay in pesos at there inflated 'bank rate'. This was not something I could foresee and would have brought travellers cheques to avoid this increase of about 17%. That would have been the only way to pay in USD and avoid this mini scam. I do feel that around every corner there was some kind of scam being played on us, it can be a problem in many 3rd world countries. Anyways when you are paying $100 a night for an OK room you really wish they weren't pulling something like that, I mean that is a fair price. For all the positives I have said I would go again but with the cheques for the room. I just wish the breakfast place let you self serve, it would be way less frustrating.

Room Tip: Mayan rooms had mosquitoes the family room had cockroaches choose Pakal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

POSITIVE: The only reason I gave this a 3 is because the lagoon is wonderful and the coconut grove gave the feeling of being in a jungle. We are NOT all inclusive people and rather enjoy rustic accommodations. We were on our honeymoon and looking for quiet, clean and a beach. NEGATIVE: First thing that happened was we did not see the 'rules' at the front desk informing people the beach chairs are not included. We had a nasty altercation with one of their workers who demanded we put the chairs back or pay $10. Explained we were staying there and should be included. Front desk informed us they aren't. The waves were coming up so high that we couldn't put our towels down on the sand or they would get wet and they still refused to accommodate. We did NOT stay on the beach again. Further down the North beach you can pay the $10 AND get soft drinks included. POSITIVE:The room (#4) was clean albeit really dark all the time but we really were only there to sleep and since it had a TV we were ok with this. NEGATIVE: The plumbing was an issue. The shower had NO water pressure and the toilet had issues with waste. We understand there is no real sewer/septic systems in place here and we placed our paper wipes in the trash can provided. The toilet STILL had issues. Imagine being sick to your stomach and not being able to flush your stomach contents down the drain. UGH. POSITIVE: WIFI was iffy at the best of times but there if you sat in the lobby.NEGATIVE: **DO NOT STAY OUT PAST 11PM** They lock all the gates and there is no one at the front desk to let you in. We found out the hard way at midnight. We had to squeeze through other areas to get to our unit. We were told to knock on the door when we inquired the day after however that didn't help us the night before when NO ONE ANSWERED THE DOOR! I wouldn't stay here again. It wasn't worth the price and since we refuse to pay for beach chairs at a place where WE ARE STAYING we will not return. SUCH POTENTIAL but very disappointing.

Room Tip: don't stay here. It has an amazing location but that is it! Very dark, poor plumbing, unfriendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kiin

Address: Calle Zazil Ha Num 129, Mz. 30 Lote 23 | Col Centro, Isla Mujeres 97000, Mexico (Formerly Casa Maya Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $68 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Kiin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casa Maya hotel in Isla Mujeres was developed by owner señor Jose Lima as a Mayan town with its palm thatched bungalows around a coconut palm garden and 100 yards of beachfront. It has 22 rooms and offers a very Mexican, very Mayan atmosphere. It has a wide collection of reproductions of the best Mexican painters like Diego Rivera and his wife Frida Kahlo, a large collection of books about Mexican art, architecture, Mayan culture and history and señor Lima has now converted his hotel into a bed and breakfast hotel on the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Kiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing