We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal, up close and personal with the coast!”
Review of Luna d'Miel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna d'Miel
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My husband, 14 year old daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights last winter. We were pleased with how clean it was. It's very simple with no frills. But if you want to be a few steps away from the ocean this is a great place to stay!

You do have to take taxis or plan the 10 - 15 minute walk into town as there is nothing immediately around the inn. But as long as you know that when you make your reservations, it's a lovely place to stay. We loved leaving our door open so we could hear the surf...

The "pool" is basically the size of a hot tub and was not filled while we were there. Our daughter was dissapointed with that as were we. And be sure to bring water shoes as the beach is very rocky. But the pool was our only disappointment with Luna d Mile. We felt like we were the only ones there. It was truly a fun little gem and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancySellsGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2009

We really enjoy staying at Luna D'Miel. We find the accommodations to be spacious, the views unbelievable, a nicely equipped little kitchenette, and a real sense of privacy and peace. We enjoy being a little out of town, and we walk in (15 to 25 minutes, depending on destination) every day -- no golf cart needed. The room has a fridge, microwave, kitchen sink, coffeemaker, a few dishes, etc, so breakfasts or cocktails in the room are easy. This allows us more hammock time on the back patio, which is on the Caribe side of the island (my favorite view). You can climb down this rocky slope and look for shells, wade, etc. However, this is not a swimming beach. The property does have a tiny pool -- more like a hot tub with no jets. However, we tend to go to a beach instead -- just a personal preference. Isabel is very kind and sweet, and she will do whatever she can to make you comfortable, including giving you a giant water cooler sized bottle of water with a pump instead of the regular pitcher in the room fridge system she tends to use. However, she does not speak much English, so if you need a lot of attention or direction from hotel staff, this is not the place for you. There is a drawback to this property -- there are no screens on the windows or doors. Most of the time you will be fine, but some nights when the winds are calm, if you sleep with the windows open, the mosquitoes will come sometime between 11 pm and 4 am, and you get eaten alive -- no joke. However, there is a room AC unit with a fan only setting as well, so you can sleep comfortably and mosquito free. Don't let this deter you from staying at one of the best little places on Isla!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisnjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at Luna d’ Miel for one week and found the place to be very inviting, secure and comfortable.

Isabel is the name of the Gerente (manager) of the Luna d’ Miel. She is a very nice lady that is very friendly and extremely helpful. She was willing to help us with any request we had including directions, translations, arrangements and general information we had about the island.

The place is very clean and looks just as it did in pictures we found online. We booked our stay entirely online and had no troubles or surprises when we got there. Isabel provided excellent e-mail communications and explained everything very well before we got to Mexico.

The location is away from downtown and was very quiet and relaxing. The air conditioner was very cold when we wanted to use it. It was very nice to have a small kitchenette with a refrigerator. The patio out back has a great view. We found that we spent an equal amount of time sitting in the front watching the sun set across the bay as we did out back listening to the ocean. We rented a cart for a couple of days and used taxis the rest of the time we were there. We never had to wait long to flag a taxi from outside Luna d’ Miel. Most of our rides cost around 20 Pesos ($2) to get to where we wanted to go from the apartment.

We would defiantly stay there again. We would highly recommend staying at the Luna d’ Miel to any traveler that is looking for a nice, out of the way, worry free place to relax and enjoy their vacation.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank JMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Our room was very basic but pristine. We loved that you could look one direction to see the crashing waves just feet away and the other direction to see the calm bay. We kept both the doors to the ocean open and the window on the street for the most amazing breeze. There is AC as well. Our little kitchen was well stocked but the bottled water was in short supply. When we requested mucho grande aqua, the lovely girl at the front desk hopped on her scooter to buy us the enormous jugs that have pumps on top. When we also shared with her that we hadn’t had anything but frigid water in two days, she had her “maintenance” man come to check it out. He & his amigo came & turned our taps on full and then went up to the roof. About a ½ hour later, he very patiently showed us the difference between the hot and cold tap as if the only problem was our lack of understanding. At any rate, we now know that you must plan for your shower by turning on the tap for a ½ hour before you spontaneously hop in. They waved and chuckled as they drove away, perhaps thinking –stupid Canadians don’t even know how to open a tap!

The King bed is King in width but not in length so my huisband's feet hung over the edge but they do at home as well. The bed is comfortable in firmness but seems to have a plastic layer under the sheet making the feeling a little like a hospital stay. We loved our choice of the three suites as we had the most privacy both on our Caribe and our Bay patios.

We spent mornings on the Caribe side in the lounger and hammock taking the morning sun. We would arrive home in time for showers, cocktails and sunsets on the road side patio. We loved the you could walk into town so easily and yet be in such a remote location. The coral beach in front is perfect for beachcombing but take a sturdy pair of sandals for the trek. We would hop the bus to explore the south end of the island and then pay $2 for a cab ride back at the end of the day.

I've stayed at the south end and in Centro and I think that the airport strip is the perfect location on Isla.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank Manitoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

We just got back from staying at Luna d'Miel for 6 nights on Isla Mujeres. The room was very clean, but there were some issues we encountered. First, we were told by the agency we booked through, Lost Oasis, to let them know our arrival time at Isla, and we could drop our luggage off at Luna before check-in (we had a very early morning flight). We did that, so we went directly to Luna from the ferry dock, but there was no one there. Over an hour later, Isabel showed up. I just would have liked to know--we could have been having a drink at a beach bar. Also, the bed (we had a king-size bed) was EXTREMELY uncomfortable--it was so hard, my hips and pelvis hurt all week. There are no comfortable chairs or couch, and the plastic chaises on the patio were no better. My husband & I had vie for the one hammock to try to be comfortable. About the patio, from the pictures on the website and from previous tripadvisor reviews, I assumed the patio would be private. It isn't--it is one large patio shared by all three units. So, no going out to watch the sunrise in your nightie. Some privacy fences, mattress toppers & comfy chairs would do wonders for this place!

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank ZoePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Our honeymoon begun here and it was perfect. We had a small budget, we were looking for a romantic affordable place to stay with the ocean view, we were very happy at Luna dMiel, it was better than what we expected, everything seems to be new, the A/C was freezing, the beds very comfortable and the veil very romantic.
We used the microwave a lot, no need of stove, it was just great!
We got a special summer rate of $50.-usd per night, all arrangments via email, we will be back for our 1 year aniversary!

3  Thank MLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
1
Reviewed May 30, 2006

We stayed at Luna d'Miel for our 1st trip to Isla Mujeres in July 2005. The room was very nice & clean. Nice size room, plus kitchenette. It was very peaceful & quiet the days we stayed there. The patio view is beautiful - we spent many hours just sitting in our chairs listening to the ocean. It's also just a few steps down to the beach and we walked up & down the area picking up lots of different shells. It's pretty rocky though, so I wouldn't recommend walking around in flip-flops! ha! The location was in a great place - quiet & peaceful, but close enough to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna d'Miel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna d'Miel

Address: Av. Aeropuerto Lote 016 | Q.Roo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: $76 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna d'Miel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luna d'Miel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna d`Miel Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing